Kroger Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Kroger Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9308 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Kroger CEO Rodney McMullen
Rodney McMullen
2534 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule is good for students(in 388 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours for those seeking part-time employment if they have school or a second job(in 341 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage ain't much to live off of(in 327 reviews)

  • "Only hires part time and hard to get full time(in 322 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kroger for more than a year

    Pros

    good place to work for love it

    Cons

    not enough team meetings and social events

    Kroger2018-04-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good job for high school students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Kroger part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Got to work there through high school and college.

    Cons

    Pay was low and my management wasn't good

    Kroger2019-08-21
  3. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASP in Portland, OR

    I worked at Kroger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, management makes you feel appreciated!

    Cons

    To get into the buying/planner positions and program, they don't promote within (of if they do, it's not as often), but tend to hire college grads with less experience within the company of how other processes work.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within!

    Kroger2019-08-23
  4. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kroger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Big Company, Great Health Benefits, Stable, Good Job Security

    Cons

    Lot's of room for advancement if you're in the merchandising or retail operations department. Harder to move around if you're in accounting/finance/benefits as the departments are smaller. Healthcare and 401k are solid but base salary is average at best compared similar roles in other companies. Still working on improving its conservative culture. Nepotism is not atypical, especially as you move up the corporate ladder.

    Kroger2019-08-24
  5. "Great pay and job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Coordinator in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kroger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and great pay rate

    Cons

    Weekend work day sometimes not always

    Advice to Management

    Great job

    Kroger2019-08-23
  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kroger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very friendly and helpful work environment

    Cons

    i didn't see much issues , As a part time employee i don't get many working hours

    Kroger2019-08-22
  7. "Night Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Stocker 

    I worked at Kroger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hard keeps you busy for 8 hours. In my case I had to stock and face 4 aisles.

    Cons

    Alright job expect to do most of the work compared to anyone else in the building at least for me that was the case

    Kroger2019-08-22
  8. "Good Pay but Long Days! Must be flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - File Maintenance Lead in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kroger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company pays well, materials provided are meant to enhance displays and promote sales

    Cons

    different sales every week is challenging to stay on top of. literally thousands of tags and signs to sort and utilize 100% causes pressure and stress. Changes to displays and corporate visits keep it a challenge to stay caught up.

    Advice to Management

    Good job in trying to upgrade technology. Sometimes too much marketing is sent to stores without detailed instructions to implement, and we are over loaded by signs. We could use better training for file clerks and marketing communication in advance directly to us.

    Kroger2019-08-23
  9. "One of the best companies to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Blue Ash, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kroger full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I spent nearly 30 years working for Kroger. I had a variety of jobs with different levels of responsibility. My input was ALWAYS appreciated and valued. Their IT is second to none. Plenty of opportunities. Family friendly

    Cons

    IT area recently went to open floor concept - I do not like it

    Kroger2019-08-21
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Labor Manager in Mason, OH

    I have been working at Kroger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life bonus benefits perks

    Cons

    Travel old rigid not flexible

    Kroger2019-08-22
Found 9308 reviews