Lam Research Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,029 of over 1,204 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Lam Research CEO Tim Archer
Tim Archer
300 Ratings
Pros
  • "Technology, work environment and benefits(in 65 reviews)

  • "Best work life balance possible(in 58 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance for some employees is fairly steep(in 99 reviews)

  • "Long hours due to customer base location(in 45 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Dream job, especially for early career

      Feb 12, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer in Tualatin, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The mentorship you receive is world class. My knowledge as an engineer has sky rocketed since I joined a year ago right out of college. You are given a broad range of projects, never a dull moment. You will be challenged with hard engineering problems but again, you have excellent mentors and many fantastic resources to help you succeed. If you are interested in, Lam also covers further education costs (e.g. part time masters). Lam core values are a big deal. I've always felt respected even as a minority, new college grad.

      Cons

      Literally none. It's my first job out of college. I saw myself working in the semiconductor industry but after working at Lam for a year, I can see myself working here for many years to come.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Lam Research Response

      Lam Research

      Thank you for your review. Our culture and core values are what differentiate Lam Research and we are happy to hear you are finding Lam a good place to work. When you achieve your potential, so do we. We appreciate your feedback.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A Company where Overachievers and Workaholics want to work

      Aug 4, 2021 - Senior Process Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Despite the strong headline, this is 3 stars because of the following: -The company is not perfect (no company is), but the benefits you will not find anywhere else (or it would be hard to). -Management is generous, and it's a generous company overall. -You'll get to work with very smart and academic people (disregard the ones with big heads). -A lot of the technical problems are interesting and require a lot of brainstorming in solving. You'll get to appreciate how much precision and careful planning is required for chip fabrication. -You'll get some decent exposure to technology.

      Cons

      The strenuous environment and poor work/life balance can and will outweigh any of the positives listed above. When you make a good paycheck, what does it matter if there's little to no time to actually enjoy the fruits of your labor? What does this mean? Sure, you can enjoy a lazy Sunday, but you will break the unwritten rules of having to respond to and read e-mails, or even go into work. As a result, you will stick out like a sore thumb if you neglect being glued to your computer/phone almost 24/7. This makes it hard to enjoy things outside of work. It is worth mentioning that some, but not all, old timers and ex-military people like to engender fear, thinking they are above everyone or that they are still in the military. This diminishes one's enjoyment of work and defeats the majority of the positive aspects mentioned above. Join at your own risk--there are positives, but consider how these negatives may outweigh them. There are parts of Lam that are UNBELIEVABLY stressful.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Myself review

      Aug 2, 2021 - Engineering Technician II in Fremont, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company and the people because inside in it there is a lot of potential that you didn't know that you gonna learned it. it just these people help you for everything you need to know and Managers are very helpful to their employees.

      Cons

      I have nothing to say on this but I will recommend this company to the other people.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Your manager will make or break you

      Aug 2, 2021 - Field Service Engineer III in Hillsboro, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is high. Benefits meet industry standard. Networking up can be possible if you're a people person. 10% annual bonus (usually).

      Cons

      12 hour shifts 120 hours of time off per year. This includes sick time, vacation time, etc. So 10 days total. Carrot on a stick philosophy. (always promising more pay, more time off, etc, but not delivering on it). Like the title says, your management team will make or break this job for you. Urgently requested (required) overtime. If you say no, it affects your annual bonus.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Na

      Aug 2, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Over all it is good experience to our at lam research

      Cons

      As I am doing wfh from starting I may not good person say about this

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Product

      Aug 3, 2021 - Engineer V in Fremont, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to work and you can learn a lot

      Cons

      No cons. Managers are reasonable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Place to Work

      Aug 4, 2021 - Program Manager in Tualatin, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like the Core Values, benefits, growth opportunities and culture. Adding word's to get a different size or something else but not

      Cons

      Culture, pay, nepetism, unorganized for a billion dollar tech company. AND good morning my friend about the discovery of the shower

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company that truly cares -- sometimes too much

      Mar 26, 2021 - Manager in Fremont, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - very generous. great bonuses (including surprise bonuses) - high quality standards - commitment to becoming diverse and inclusive. not quite there but making strides. - ESPP is like finding a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow - people stay for the long haul. lowest attrition rate of any silicon valley company I've worked at.

      Cons

      - fear of decision making at lower mgmt levels sometimes means slow process changes - very high stock price means very few RSUs awarded to "regular" employees in recent years - employees below director don't get unlimited PTO and 7-10 of 15 normal PTO days are used by "forced shut downs" so very limited vacation time in first several years of service - I haven't seen a strong push to encourage internal transfers/promotion. new reqs seem to be a surprise when someone is hired. employees aren't encouraged to inquire about transferring within the company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job

      Jul 23, 2021 - Pilot Engineering Tech III in Tualatin, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you actually work, this job has no drama. Friendly staff and half of the management is good. If you try, you get rewarded and recognition.

      Cons

      What you see if what you get, unless you network and or have a degree. No real career pathway is set for you, unless you want to climb from tech 2-3-4 and a decade for a 5.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Bad Business Structure

      Apr 14, 2021 - Technical Instructor in Tualatin, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The direct management is good Small group culture is good Work load is good

      Cons

      Contractor practices are bad Too politically correct No raise

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,029 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Lam Research Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Lam Research? Share Your Experiences

    Lam Research logo
    or