Localsearch Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Localsearch Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
93%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Localsearch CEO Catherine McGarry (no image)
Catherine McGarry
26 Ratings
  1. "Keeps getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Localsearch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In the time that I've been with Localsearch, I've watched this business go from good to even better. I would never work for a company that doesn't treat its clients with the utmost care, attention, honesty and fairness, and it's for that reason that I've stayed with Localsearch for 5 years and have no plans to leave anytime soon. My personal values and ethics align with Localsearch's business philosophies and that... allows me to feel good about going to work every morning.

    Show More

    Cons

    The transformation from a traditional media offering to multiple digital offerings has been very challenging at times, but I feel like Localsearch is doing a fine job of managing this massive change.

    Localsearch2019-11-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Progressive company with ambitious growth plans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Strategy Officer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Localsearch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Localsearch is a company with a strong and supportive culture full of talented and motivated people. We are a fast moving, evolving business, with ambitious plans to be the No.1 digital marketing service in Australia. We are proud of the 28,000 plus small businesses we have supported across Australia over the past 25 years and excited about our future.

    Cons

    You need to enjoy change and be adaptive.

    Localsearch2019-10-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love the Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Robina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Localsearch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love a company that wants to grow and evolve for the right reasons. Who trust in their good stuff to get the job done but can also have fun too. I am someone who loves change and learning new things - so this fast paced environment is exciting - as soon as I walked in the door I felt home. I have learnt more in my role in 12 months then I did in 10 years in my last role.

    Cons

    I don’t sleep well as I am always thinking about what we can do next.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what we’re doing and stop and celebrate the wins when we can.

    Localsearch2019-09-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Do your research before working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Localsearch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy access to the Robina Town Center shops.

    Cons

    Local Search, Formally Local Directories, Formally PDC (do a google search for Project Wickenby) Is a company to avoid if you can at all help it. Though it is a legitimate directory publisher similar to the Telstra owned Sensis and it was once a cash cow for its owners, it now struggling to be relevant in the digital age. Sales staff are basically commission only sales reps, that if they were not selling... advertising would be selling spoons, toasters, cars, air conditioning, anything really. None of them have any real knowledge of online marketing. Most of the managers are self-serving long-term staff who got their role though their ability to say yes to literally anything and I mean anything. They also have zero leadership training and skills. The business has very little integrity, pays below industry standard wages and has zero regard for Australia Employment law. If they want to get rid of someone they just do and worry about the consequences later. Non-genuine redundancies and unlawful sackings are common. The company has a historical litany of scandals including ATO tax fraud. Serious driving offences by one of the owners as well as stealing the intellectual property of Sensis (blatantly copying the listing of their competitor) Their offices were raided by the Federal Police in 2003 and two of the directors have served prison sentences. Once this review goes up they will in short notice write a number of fake positive reviews to counter any negative ones. They really are that shameless. Due to their inability to react to market and technology change I suspect the company is dying a death by 1000 cuts and I would imagine it will eventually be dissolved or divested. No one uses phone books any more, their books are getting smaller and smaller. No one needs overpriced underperforming online advertising with an online directory service. Any small business should have its own website and Facebook pages are free and one of the best means of driving business to your enterprise. There are some good people that work at local search, also and it may be ok to work there for a short-term income situation until you find something decent. Otherwise I would avoid.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing; you know what goes on in this business and you chose to still work there.

    Localsearch2019-10-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "There's nothing fake about Localsearch!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Team Member in Robina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Localsearch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Localsearch less than a year ago - and let me tell you - all of these positive reviews are true! It's a great place to work. I came from an unrelated industry with no digital marketing experience (apart from the usual - Facebook, Instagram accounts etc) I was hired, because I love people, I love helping people and LS want people who want to help our customers navigate the complex world of digital. I am so... grateful that LS didn't see my lack of digital knowledge as a disadvantage. Why? Because they have a room full of experts who teach me every day! I brought my personality, my thirst for learning and my customer focus. And as they say, the rest is history :) Culture? Well, culture is everyone's responsibility. I don't hold Localsearch responsible for babysitting me through my career. I'm an adult and it's up to me, to decide whether I want to encourage a positive workplace or a toxic one. I choose positive. It's working out great, so far :)

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the downsides of working at Localsearch? Every company who is developing and growing will experience pain. Sometimes we run too fast, sometimes not fast enough. Sometimes, we expect more than we should. I'd say it's pretty normal and while you can sometimes feel like a deer in the headlights, it's refreshing and reassuring to know that the main attitude is "Let's work together to get on the same page" I've... heard first-hand when executives have put their hands up and said "We made an error there, let's fix it and learn from it" I've never felt like my contribution doesn't matter in some way. I've never felt like I didn't matter. The mistakes are part of the journey and everyone works together to do better next time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Negative feedback means we are succeeding because it's so rare, that toxic people have no other outlet than online forums to hide behind instead of growing a pair and having a conversation, which I know each and every Lead, Manager and Executive would be happy to have an explore improvements. The 80/20 rule is more like 95/5 at Localsearch, that's something to celebrate!

    Localsearch2019-09-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Place To Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Specialist in Robina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Localsearch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Besides from the gorgeous rooftop with built-in kitchen, tables, benchtops, Fresh fruit and bread every Tuesday, drinks cart every Friday afternoon and beautifully calming and focus-driven atmosphere, Localsearch is an amazing place to work. Everyone is always welcomed into the family with open arms and support each other. Many people have made life-long friendships, learnt their true passions and gained tonnes... of experience. As someone who came into Localsearch as a 19yr old girl that was rarely given the chance, Localsearch welcomed me in and gave me the chance to prove myself and show that I knew my stuff. After being here for a year, I know this is where I want to be! Localsearch is an amazing place to work. With fundraisers for charity, pyjama days, constant ability to improve on our knowledge and their staff and clients' best interests' at heart, Localsearch is THE place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Cons? Umm besides the fact that the vending machine on the ground floor and I have become quite close (Sorry wallet), I'd have to say that there is nothing worth mentioning

    Advice to Management

    Give yourselves a pat on the back- anyone who speaks negatively of working at Localsearch doesn't seem to know how well we have it here

    Localsearch2019-07-31
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great opportunity for your career growth!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Robina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Localsearch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working culture is absolutely amazing, great scope in building your career, like-minded teammates, encouraging managers and really provides you the space to grow towards your career goals. I am really satisfied with the facilities, the motivation and recognition which I enjoyed while working at LS. You feel like you are in a family with fun-loving people.

    Cons

    Nothing worth mentioning at this point

    Advice to Management

    Really cool people I have ever worked with, keep up the good vibes.

    Localsearch2019-07-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator in Robina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Localsearch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New challenges and bosses that listen to the workers and their ideas, Australian owned and ready to make the hard decisions for the future of the company and their employees

    Cons

    Keeping up with all the changes... but keeps you on your toes

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do well

    Localsearch2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Company With A Solid Future And Awesome People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Development Manager in Robina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Localsearch full-time

    Pros

    Having been at Localsearch for over 5 years, I have witnessed this company go from strength to strength. It has done so on the back of the people that work here, from the most junior role to the most senior. The first “pro” I can think of has to be the people. It is the friendships and being part of the team that makes it so easy to get up and come to work every day. With great people comes great culture. It is a... positive, happy, diverse place to work. But like most things in life, you get out of it what you put in!!! From the bake offs to the fundraising for charity, to the Friday afternoon get-togethers you will feel at home here. Good people and culture will only go so far, you also need purpose, something to achieve and contribute to… being part of LS will give you that. With clear direction from the top down, you will not be left to wonder where we are headed as a company. The plan and direction are clearly communicated especially as we solidify our foothold on the digital space. Having good direction and clear communication starts with having a competent, confident and qualified management team. Praising management is often seen as a suck up on these reviews and forums, but sometimes you have to call it as it is! What has impressed me most about the management team is their constant willingness to improve, taking on feedback from staff, clients and the market as a whole.

    Show More

    Cons

    To succeed at Localsearch it requires you to be proactive, hardworking and have a willingness to keep learning as you grow in your career. History has shown, those who have a nine-to-five mentality and are not willing to do any more than they absolutely have to, tend not to flourish in this environment.

    Advice to Management

    I think you have found a formula that is really paying dividends; keep doing what you are doing. Continue your growth and development into the digital sphere and keep hiring the staff that will lift the company up to the levels of greatness I know we are capable of achieving.

    Localsearch2019-06-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture. Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Robina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Localsearch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun with a family feel. Everyone works together to do their best. This company is willing to adapt to move with changing and emerging markets. Over the last few years they have taken on the digital marketing services space and are determined to be the best. The staff are talented and there is a wealth of knowledge surrounding you ready to be absorbed by those who ask for it. If you are looking for a company that is... passionate about digital products and marketing combined with giving customers great customer service then you should come and join us. I have been impressed not only by the skilks around me but also by management and their support.

    Show More

    Cons

    Too close to Robina Town Shopping Centre. Its too tempting

    Localsearch2019-06-15
Found 36 reviews