Lorna Jane Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lorna Jane Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 209 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Bill Clarkson
124 Ratings
Pros
  • "IN conclusion I would recommend a career with Lorna Jane as i Thoroughly enjoyed my time as a LEADER and it Grew me as a PERSON and a LEADER(in 26 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of smart and energetic girls in Lorna Jane(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "They want there employees decked out in Lorna Jane attire but doesn't always cater to the internal customer(in 27 reviews)

  • "Last minute changes in strategy from Head Office has challenging effect on field team members(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team I got to work with was great. The training was thorough and the product was amazing.

    Cons

    Wasn’t a big fan that the working week for a manager was Tuesday to Saturday. Would have much preferred it to be Monday to Friday.

    Lorna Jane2019-08-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "DO NOT work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Eagle Farm
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Global brand with lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Poor management, bullying tactics and staff made to cry regularly.

    Advice to Management

    Improve your leadership and treat people better

    Lorna Jane2019-07-28
  3. "Great if you love selling and having no life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The girls I worked with were wonderful

    Cons

    The selling techniques they use here to force products on customers are awful, super pushy and head office and management call constantly to push you to sell more, and find ways to blame you for low daily sales even if customers are not coming through the doors. Also the hours required are awful if you like having any sort of life, for a brand that preaches "move, nourish, believe", they really don't care if their staff...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put the well being of your employees first, and take a look at your sales techniques. Ive had multiple people tell me they won't shop at Lorna Jane as staff will not stop hounding them from the moment they walk in.

    Lorna Jane2019-07-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Turbulent and toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with a great group of women and making life long friends.

    Cons

    Too reactive, unsupported, understaffed and underpaid. Even if you are doing well there, you are constantly having to prove yourself. If you are stressed or unhappy, don't bother telling HR or management because they frankly don't care and will ostracise you. It is Stockholm Syndrome.

    Advice to Management

    Value your staff more and stop treating them like they are disposable. Make change!

    Lorna Jane2019-07-02
  5. "Not for the faint hearted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learnt and grew so much both as a person and career wise. The support was incredible and found that if there was something I wanted to learn, I would! Made some amazing friends for life here.

    Cons

    Definitely not for the faint hearted, pressure sometimes got to me. Extremely fast paced so need great time management.

    Lorna Jane2019-05-06
  6. "Wouldn't work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly none besides getting paid

    Cons

    Management is far to profit oriented and lose sight of employee satisfaction. They do not care about their employees other than them hitting unreasonable targets. Benefits of working there are terrible - 20% off full price - this is the same benefit that customers regularly receive. When compared to competitor Lululemon at 70%, 20% of is shocking.

    Advice to Management

    Place more importance of caring for employees.

    Lorna Jane2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience Felt REWARDED !!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -High Management always open to Suggestions on how to Improve the Business and always allow you to try if it Benefits the Business and helps your Team. -Strong on encouraging Diversity and change and if you are successful and consistent within your role the REWARDS do pay off and the in the in store INCENTIVES for you and your team were ENDLESS and GENEROUS which i am grateful for, -The culture with in W.A and within...

    Show More

    Cons

    -The only Con being an Outlet was the Balance of STOCK due to Increased sales sometimes missing that sale with the tourists etc.....I know that this was getting better toward the end of my employment!! -The Promo s and sales we had as an OUTLET sometimes went too long which did nt create the impact sometimes that it should!!! every 4 weeks i think it should be changed to keep momentum up and sales ALIVE!!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the GREAT work and continue adding VALUE to W.A and to the LORNA JANE brand as you have and THANK YOU both for such a great EXPERIENCE it was truly FUN, EXCITING and REWARDING to run a LORNA JANE OUTLET!!!!

    Lorna Jane2019-04-21
  8. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good product training knowledge that’s it. It honestly all depends on your team and state manager

    Cons

    They put the emphasis on managers to get customers in the store even when you’ve exhausted options they expect you to run events ect. Too much pressure on managers for the stores to reach kpi’s

    Lorna Jane2019-05-05
  9. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time

    Pros

    Incredible exposure to strategy is unparalleled, I have never been so well equipped to face my career journey than having the exposure, growth and training I have had here!!

    Cons

    Not a lot of red-tape or processes, which allows for you to make your own rules....not for the faint of heart!

    Lorna Jane2019-03-22
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and Team development

    Cons

    Low staff discount, could be looked at.

    Lorna Jane2019-03-19
Found 209 reviews