Lorna Jane Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lorna Jane Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 200 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Bill Clarkson
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "IN conclusion I would recommend a career with Lorna Jane as i Thoroughly enjoyed my time as a LEADER and it Grew me as a PERSON and a LEADER(in 26 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of smart and energetic girls in Lorna Jane(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "I strongly recommend to anyone wanting to start a career, join a retail chain, further their career prospects not to choose Lorna Jane(in 30 reviews)

  • "Last minute changes in strategy from Head Office has challenging effect on field team members(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not for the faint hearted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I learnt and grew so much both as a person and career wise. The support was incredible and found that if there was something I wanted to learn, I would! Made some amazing friends for life here.

    Cons

    Definitely not for the faint hearted, pressure sometimes got to me. Extremely fast paced so need great time management.

    Lorna Jane2019-05-06
  2. "Wouldn't work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Honestly none besides getting paid

    Cons

    Management is far to profit oriented and lose sight of employee satisfaction. They do not care about their employees other than them hitting unreasonable targets. Benefits of working there are terrible - 20% off full price - this is the same benefit that customers regularly receive. When compared to competitor Lululemon at 70%, 20% of is shocking.

    Advice to Management

    Place more importance of caring for employees.

    Lorna Jane2019-05-21
  3. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good product training knowledge that’s it. It honestly all depends on your team and state manager

    Cons

    They put the emphasis on managers to get customers in the store even when you’ve exhausted options they expect you to run events ect. Too much pressure on managers for the stores to reach kpi’s

    Lorna Jane2019-05-05
  4. "Great Experience Felt REWARDED !!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -High Management always open to Suggestions on how to Improve the Business and always allow you to try if it Benefits the Business and helps your Team. -Strong on encouraging Diversity and change and if you are successful and consistent within your role the REWARDS do pay off and the in the in store INCENTIVES for you and your team were ENDLESS and GENEROUS which i am grateful for, -The culture with in W.A and within...

    Show More

    Cons

    -The only Con being an Outlet was the Balance of STOCK due to Increased sales sometimes missing that sale with the tourists etc.....I know that this was getting better toward the end of my employment!! -The Promo s and sales we had as an OUTLET sometimes went too long which did nt create the impact sometimes that it should!!! every 4 weeks i think it should be changed to keep momentum up and sales ALIVE!!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the GREAT work and continue adding VALUE to W.A and to the LORNA JANE brand as you have and THANK YOU both for such a great EXPERIENCE it was truly FUN, EXCITING and REWARDING to run a LORNA JANE OUTLET!!!!

    Lorna Jane2019-04-21
  5. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time

    Pros

    Incredible exposure to strategy is unparalleled, I have never been so well equipped to face my career journey than having the exposure, growth and training I have had here!!

    Cons

    Not a lot of red-tape or processes, which allows for you to make your own rules....not for the faint of heart!

    Lorna Jane2019-03-22
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and Team development

    Cons

    Low staff discount, could be looked at.

    Lorna Jane2019-03-19
  7. "Negative Environment and Unsupportive Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane part-time

    Pros

    40% Off Shop Wearing activewear to work (comfy)

    Cons

    Applied to a different store, got sent to another 20 minutes away Sent in my availability twice, was only placed to work on the days I said I couldn't, and would get shifts dropped if I asked to swap them for another day didn't receive paperwork (therefore contract and pay) for 8 weeks after starting and harassing HR Was hired as they needed another team member, then was told I was only going to get one or two shifts...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Use more communication and feedback particularly to new members of staff instead of docking shifts. Keeping an open relationship and giving constructive criticism will encourage employees to try harder instead of having no communication, telling them about the issue and not giving any advice on how to solve it, and then suddenly being dismissed as in my case.

    Lorna Jane2019-04-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Appalling Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time

    Pros

    Being able to wear Activewear to work

    Cons

    Extremely disappointing representation of an Australian owned brand. From the owners and operators, executive management and middle management this organisation is filled with failings in its people, culture, operations, and fails to put it's 'healthy living and mental health values' where it's mouth is. The company fails to create an environment where people feel safe, protected, empowered to fulfill their daily duties...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Refresh the executive team with new staff and send owners and operators of the brand through educational training on basic behavior management.

    Lorna Jane2019-04-15
  9. "Appalling Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lorna Jane full-time

    Pros

    Wearing activewear to work.

    Cons

    Disorganised, dysfunctional, corrupt, untrustworthy, moral-less organisation that run a head office and suite of stores with no care and consideration to their internal customer (their staff), and external purchasing customer. The disconnection and righteousness of their executive management with no interest in improving the experience for their staff and their customer and the unfair work conditions staff are placed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change all of your upper management and take your owners and operators through educational training

    Lorna Jane2019-04-15
  10. "Love working with a dream team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Eagle Farm
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lorna Jane full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    - Incredible opportunity to grow within the company - no matter where you start, you can literally go anywhere! - Good work environment and love working with a team of like-minded women to support and encourage - Senior team have a wealth of knowledge to share with the team and newer employees - Big 5 values to guide your team and your role

    Cons

    - Need more social sports to finish off the week -Fast paced and can be reactive but always keep you striving for more

    Advice to Management

    Need to talk more about what we do behind the scenes at HQ

    Lorna Jane2019-03-06
Found 200 reviews