LyondellBasell Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

LyondellBasell Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 465 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
LyondellBasell CEO Bhavesh V. “Bob” Patel
Bhavesh V. “Bob” Patel
129 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and focus on developing a strong culture(in 26 reviews)

  • "No crazy focus on culture - they just hire good people(in 24 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "No longer a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LyondellBasell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people for the most part, average to slightly above average compensation

    Cons

    no work life balance anymore..., when people are cut, sacked or leave they are not replaced. Senior managers believe that everyone should be working themselves to death regardless of pay grade or job, values displayed are lip service. Nothing will change until all the good people are gone.

    Advice to Management

    Total culture change, empower middle management, treat people like adults and not children. If you keep cutting positions, there will be no career opportunities and you won't retain or attract good people

    LyondellBasell2018-05-24
  2. "Great experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LyondellBasell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits.

    Cons

    Management and employee morale is not the best depending on which group you're in.

    LyondellBasell2019-08-19
  3. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Lead 

    I worked at LyondellBasell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher salaries and very good cash bonus

    Cons

    If you like challenges, it is a right place.

    LyondellBasell2019-08-15
  4. "unit operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations 

    I worked at LyondellBasell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    12hr shift, more consecutive off days

    Cons

    12hr shift, basically work and sleep on your 'on shift' days

    LyondellBasell2019-08-15
  5. "Better jobs in the area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Press Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LyondellBasell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Advancement opportunities. Excellent workers still left that make the company bearable.

    Cons

    Poor pay for job. Mandatory fire retardant uniforms, hard hats, long sleeves, hot..dusty...

    Advice to Management

    People will work in these conditions.. But you need to pay them more to do so.

    LyondellBasell2019-08-15
  6. "Securing engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LyondellBasell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits and the people are great

    Cons

    None so far in the time ive been here.

    LyondellBasell2019-07-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Talent Acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Fairlawn, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LyondellBasell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing manager, ability to work in a remote atmosphere with a team of 7 in Talent Acquisition.

    Cons

    Previous/Current Human Resource Business Partners had no idea what they were doing when it came to the hiring process and interviews.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your remote staff.

    LyondellBasell2019-07-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Be prepared to waste a lot of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Joliet, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LyondellBasell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits and pay is competitive in the industry.

    Cons

    Too much emphasis placed on quarterly reviews of your personal development. You are expected to spend incredible amounts of time creating phony safety data, Your concerns fall on deaf ears or get buried p the ladder. Supervisors and managers are pencil pushers who know little about their underlings and their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Let your workers who produce the money focus on their jobs. If you want phony data and limited growth, keep doing what you are doing.

    LyondellBasell2019-07-27
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Process operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Operator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LyondellBasell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, great pay, and a good schedule (for shift work).

    Cons

    Management is more worried about their end of year bonus than handling problems. Recent loss of bonus percentage, incompetency at upper levels of management.

    Advice to Management

    Based off of experience I won’t even try to waste my time writing constructive criticism.

    LyondellBasell2019-07-11
  10. "YOU WILL BE FIRED WITHOUT EXPLANATION"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LyondellBasell for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros in this company

    Cons

    No training, No work life balance, Bad morale in the workplace

    Advice to Management

    On my first day of work my manager actually mentioned to me that he has fired several employees in the last months. He said "I don't mean to scare you but I have fired people in the same week they were hired." Coincidentally he also fired me. He did not have the guts to fire me face to face. The reason being is because he knew I did nothing wrong. Instead he called the agency that referred me and I was told by them after...

    Show More
    LyondellBasell2019-08-23
Found 465 reviews