Mango Languages Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Mango Languages Reviews

Updated 23 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Mango Languages CEO Jason Teshuba (no image)
Jason Teshuba
26 Ratings
  1. "Entrepreneurial Tech Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Facing 

    I have been working at Mango Languages full-time

    Pros

    Love the entrepreneurial spirt. Work flexibility is a pro.

    Cons

    Interdepartmental communication is a work in progress, but improving a great deal.

    Mango Languages2019-10-23
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Rewarding work despite casual environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Department in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mango Languages full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have grown so much at Mango. I quickly learned that there are a lot of things to do, and I was encouraged to take on more and more responsibility when opportunities were present. There is emphasis on ‘taking ownership’ and ‘finding a way’ This emphasis leads to more growth opportunities than would exist in larger organizations. I have had 3 different managers at Mango, each very different. Despite differences,... each has been very supportive when I have been stuck, and each has taught me A LOT. There is a conscience desire to put employees in their unique ability. I have moved between departments a few times. As have many others. Employees that explore ways to create value tend to thrive. Failure is not toxified. I have made more than my share of mistakes, however I was told that mistakes are like the tuition that you pay to learn. There is a strong culture. There are some great and very talented people here. The environment is very collaborative. There are probably a lot more ‘small company’ aspects than big company bureaucracy. Much of the day to day work is done through teams. Though most individuals tend to work closest with those in their departments, almost anyone will help individuals outside their department if it helps the company. Despite small company feel, there is very structured operating system that involves weekly team meetings and weekly one on ones with your manager. Then Owners truly care about the well being their employees. There is a strong desire to enrich peoples lives through language and culture. I am so glad I listened years ago when one of the owners 'found' me and convinced me to take a chance on this young language learning startup.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unlimited PTO and Flexible hours can make it unclear on how much vacation to take. Flexible work schedule makes the place seam only half full at any given point Aggressive growth goals. Liberal use of ‘work from home’ makes it hard to find people. Dealing with changing priorities when we have to commit to our priorities each quarter.

    Mango Languages2019-09-23
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mango Languages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Peer-to-peer people are great. Great sense of collaboration and teamwork Unlimited PTO and flexible WFH policy (if you can use it) Working on a loved product and actually making an impact Quarterly off-sites Free food every Friday and free alcohol all week long Casual dress code

    Cons

    The company is small, yet remarkably hierarchical. There is a lack of leadership from the CEO down. The decision-makers refuse to see or don't care enough to see all the toxicity around them. The word “transparency” is a joke: decisions are made behind closed doors and never communicated to the rest of the company, sudden priority and direction shifts are constant, micromanaging across hierarchy levels is the norm.... A lot happens out of the blue, like firing people with no warning, even dedicated employees of over 4 years. Management and leadership are completely clueless — they have no idea what they want and then blame those underneath them for having no direction. They don’t care about career development. In fact, there isn’t any. Expectations are way out of whack with reality. There is no work-life balance. Everyone works at least 50-60 hours per week which is expected, which causes unbearable stress levels and burn out. “Unlimited PTO” and “work from home” don’t help since you’re pressured to not use it. Lack of training, lack of vision, and no or useless feedback, casual racism and sexism, a dearth of diversity, emotional abuse, vast pay disparities, generally low pay, no bonuses.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Open your eyes 2. Listen to your employees

    Mango Languages2019-07-22
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Poor Leadership & Limited Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mango Languages full-time

    Pros

    • Fun environment • Flexibile time off and work from home policy • Some really good people (unfortunately a few terrible ones)

    Cons

    • Highly inappropriate work environment - including off-putting and inappropriate comments about religion and religious practice, including comments from senior leadership members. • Inept senior leadership - growth is held back by senior leadership who are not qualified for their positions and can’t take the company to the next level. This negatively impacts production, innovation, and growth. Employees don’t... have trust or confidence in leadership. They lack dynamic qualities and the ability to grow the company. • Communication issues - stems from senior leadership and splinters throughout the organization. • Hypocritical environment - there is no accountability at the top. They say that core values are taken seriously, but senior members of the company are not held accountable. • Untrustworthy financially. • If you’re a prospective employee, weigh your options well and read through Glassdoor reviews thoroughly. This is a company that is continuously trying to rediscover its success from the past, instead of looking forward. There are far better companies you can work for. Be wary of behind the scenes politics. In a few years, approximately half the company turned over.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix your problems, which starts with the highest levels of the organization.

    Mango Languages2017-09-26
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Fun Environment; Inept Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Farmington, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mango Languages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Great colleagues who are smart, talented, hard working, and fun; • A laid back and flexible work environment; • Free access to language learning; • Great product; • Good benefits (for singles) that are covered in full; • Flexible and ample paid time off.

    Cons

    • Inept and arrogant leadership, particularly 3 of 4 owners; • Consistently high turnover; • A culture that looks fun, but is handicapped by an undercurrent of fear; • Very limited growth opportunities for the majority of employees; • Few leaders or mentors at the company who can serve as role models; • Owners sitting in too many key positions: Visionary, Integrator, head of Product Development, head of HR,... head of Marketing, etc. • Cult-like indoctrination of the core values (which is disturbing because the owners are the worst example of living the core values, especially when looking at integrity, positive attitude, and quality) • Lack of professionalism throughout the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Stop writing positive Glassdoor reviews to counter the ones that are more critical. A mature approach would be to respond to the reviews in a balanced, professional way, rather than writing your own 5-star positive reviews. 2. Sell Mango Languages. Get out of the business. You have outgrown your “unique ability” as early-stage entrepreneurs. What you prove day-in and day-out is that you are unable or unwilling... to grow as your company does. Get out and allow others to make your company successful. You will be happier, and your employees will be much more productive.

    Show More
    Mango Languages2017-05-01
  6. Helpful (5)

    "constant growing-pains, never any real improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Farmington Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mango Languages full-time

    Pros

    laid-back office (no dress code, flexible hours for most employees)

    Cons

    - chronic disorganization and mismanagement, particularly on the senior / ownership level - little or no opportunities for advancement, particularly for minorities - constant politics, staff infighting, and petty squabbling - bad compensation and benefits

    Mango Languages2016-12-02
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to accelerate your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mango Languages

    Pros

    The opportunities are abundant to gain work experience outside of your job classification. You will be able to accelerate your career if you embrace these opportunities, as your skill-set will broaden very quickly. If you want to gain a ton of experience in a short time period, Mango offers that and more.

    Cons

    When I worked there the company was growing quickly. Very exciting, but there were of course issues with the entrepreneurially structure not being able to support such rapid growth. This is typical as companies go from a Stage 1 to a Stage 2 start-up, but it still caused some frustration.

    Advice to Management

    I enjoyed my time at Mango and the opportunities afforded to me by the owners. I look back on my tenure with an appreciation of how it helped me catapult to better opportunities in my next career move. Good job keeping the business running and good luck moving forward.

    Mango Languages2016-10-12
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Worst. Company. Ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mango Languages

    Pros

    Zip. Zero. Zilch. Nada. Nothing.

    Cons

    Having to represent such an awful place with a smile on your face. Female? Over the age of 25?Yeah, not for you. Don't drink the Core Value Kool-Aid and keep looking.

    Advice to Management

    You don't take advice, who are you kidding?

    Mango Languages2016-10-21
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Come interview with us and judge for yourself."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mango Languages full-time

    Pros

    I have been an employee here at Mango for sometime now and after the last barrage of reviews really I felt the need to put my 2 cents in. Hopefully these will be seen as unbiased comments. I really cannot separate my thoughts as pros and cons so keep reading and I’ll do my best. Step back and think for a moment at other types of review sites out there for hotels and food. When you have a negative experience... most run to post a negative review. In reading reviews for other companies you will find the same type of over the top negative reviews along with positive ones. I would be more suspicious of companies with over the top positive reviews. People at Mango become very close, we become family very quickly and that can be a con as well. When things aren’t working out and a “Mango” (what we call ourselves around here) leaves on their own accord or let go it’s like losing a family member and yes emotions run high around here sometimes because of that. Management is very open when they can be, more than anywhere I have ever worked, and when they cannot be open as to why someone was let go or why we are taking the company in this direction over that etc. People take it personally and hence you get these over the top negative reviews. There are people that are no longer with the company for over a year now that still talk trash about Mango any opportunity they get. Strange right? Separation from this company is like losing your family, it hurts. The review about female leaders need not apply? Now people are just grasping at straws I feel. As long as you prove you know what you are doing, produce, and do not take malicious advantage of Mango’s super felxable policies you are free to almost come and go as you please. Prove yourself, earn managements trust and you need to step out for an hour to get some grocery shopping in, go for it. Go to Europe for 3 weeks? Bring back lots of photos and be expected to give a little presentation on your trip when you get back. All of us here at Mango are super passionate about what we do, we make cool stuff and it shows. We are well known, well respected, and I hope feared in the e-learning industry. Why do I hope we are feared? 99.9% of us seem like super type A personalities, we’re loud, we want to get sh*t done, we want to be the best, and internally we all want everyone to realize our opinions and ideas make the most sense. Because of this sometimes we butt heads. Come here with thick skin, be able to take constructive criticism, realize that as close as we all are here we still need to make $$$ and sometimes business is just business and you’ll do just fine. Do you still think you want to work here? Good. Come interview with us and judge for yourself.

    Show More

    Cons

    Cons, I guess I need to think of some of my thoughts into cons. We are not a large company, there are not clear paths for advancement here and that’s ok for now. We are a little over 50 people, not everyone can be a manager and a VP or be on a path to one here. Not today, not even next year, but maybe in a few years when we grow to 150 people or maybe even more. You gotta be cool with that. We are stuck in that... limbo of a great startup right on the cusp of becoming something much greater. Older, more experienced people that come on board need not be confused by the openness and freedoms we have here while “millennials” gotta stop feeling the need to rebel when rules or ideas go against their opinions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Keep being extremely selective on who joins our team and keep doing your best to find everyone’s right seat in the company.

    Mango Languages2016-03-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place To Start Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rep 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mango Languages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the brightest minds I have had the pleasure meeting work here and offer their insight to those who seek it. Owners keep employees in the loop about major changes coming up (except when a Mango is departing, which is expected). This company has great Core Values in my opinion. Workplace is fun. The company has a melting pot of great employees. It's no secret, roles are changing here and there a lot of... talk about why people are leaving. Not sure if this is a pro or con to some but my opinion is that "change is good" and if I left tomorrow, Mango has been a great stepping stone. Company has a lot of fresh ideas about new software and direction. At Mango, I really feel like part of a team. Great hours, I'm happy with my pay, and full benefits. It took me months to get into Mango and I'm happy to be here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Because it feels like family, when people leave, it raises a lot of questions. On-boarding process could use a little work. Because of some of the changes, our owners had to step in and fill quite a few roles with themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Delegate projects to people you trust and trust them to do it with Mangos best interests in mind.

    Mango Languages2016-03-18
Found 44 reviews