Merck Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Merck Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3537 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Merck CEO Kenneth C. Frazier
Kenneth C. Frazier
1224 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Travel Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck for more than a year

    Pros

    To Learn Information & Technology. Stretegy to Achive Goals. How to Move Fast. Good Life Style. Peaceful Enviroment to Work Better.

    Cons

    Proper Concentrate on work in Better Situation. Deal with People Nicely. Good Advisory. Helping Hand. Best Selection for Company in any situation.

    Advice to Management

    Good Employee is a Treasure, So Please " Care "

    Merck2017-12-31
  2. "Great culture, good work and support."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Merck

    Pros

    Supportive teams and managers. Presented with many opportunities.

    Cons

    Difficult industry for marketers due to legal context. But not specifically a con for MSD.

    Merck2019-03-11
  3. "Regulatory Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it is really good place

    Cons

    nothing con about the place

    Merck2017-06-19
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Merck

    Pros

    - Good work life balance & flexibility - Nice people - Good pay & benefits

    Cons

    - Extremely regulated - Big company; challenges to do with that

    Merck2017-05-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ok experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, nice offices, caring leadership and reasonable enough pay/benefits. bascially, good working conditions.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, impatience for results, micromanagement, aversion to innovation, conservative - all the things you consider of big pharma - risk aversion but reasonably secure role and wage. Needed to play along to get ahead - fit the Merck mold and you will be fine - dont rock the boat

    Advice to Management

    truly foster innovation on your team and reward people who think differently than you

    Merck2015-09-22
  6. "Great culture and bright colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Sydney

    I worked at Merck for less than a year

    Pros

    Office has been recently refurbished, with 'activity-based working' office style garnering benefits for cross-functional teams, as well as fostering a greater opportunity for inter-function networking. Extremely bright workers all round who are a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    Poor pipeline and at many times, slow to make things happen.

    Advice to Management

    A greater focus on removing barriers between silos will greatly improve company performance and culture.

    Merck2014-11-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dynamic company focussed on future pipelines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family orientated, can work from home or office. Good opportunities to work in cross-functional Interactive teams and develop experience in other areas outside of own expertise. Optional Health Insurance subsidy.

    Cons

    Being a US based company, all conduits lead back to New Jersey. There are times when the experience of teams, outside of the U.S., are not considered for regional roles

    Advice to Management

    Local knowledge in regions outside of U.S. should be taken more seriously. Not all standard processes work in areas such as Asia or Latin America where Health Authorities have "out of the norm" expectations and are difficult to deal with.

    Merck2014-09-15
  8. "Of all the companies I've worked at, this was one of them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merck

    Pros

    You can get by with minimal work

    Cons

    The amount of politics and red tape

    Advice to Management

    You can ask for ideas from the more junior staff but you can't expect them to lead changes.

    Merck2014-09-16
  9. "Company values are good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merck full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company values are good and the products produced benefit people's lives greatly. People are friendly and there is a strongly defined mission statement. Employees actively pull together as a team when there is an urgent objective to be achieved (eg. delivery of life saving medicines for patients).

    Cons

    Aggressive targets to cut costs, the removal of some company benefits and the need to cut the workforce by a significant number recently has affected employee morale. Work-life balance can be an issue - especially if working with teams from different time zones (or reporting to supervisors based in a different time zone).

    Advice to Management

    Company morale was once great but has taken a beating from recent heavy cost cuttings and retrenchments. The challenge for management is to re-assure employees that the company is on the improve and morale is on the way up again.

    Merck2014-05-30
  10. "Defined my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merck full-time

    Pros

    I had a lot of mentors that cared about my career

    Cons

    I was underpaid at the time.

    Advice to Management

    Implement leadership programs and find talented individuals

    Merck2013-04-05
Found 3537 reviews