Merck Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Merck Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3174 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Merck CEO Kenneth C. Frazier
Kenneth C. Frazier
1092 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Regulatory Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Merck full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      it is really good place

      Cons

      nothing con about the place

      Merck2017-06-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Ok experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Brand Manager in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Merck full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule, nice offices, caring leadership and reasonable enough pay/benefits. bascially, good working conditions.

      Cons

      Bureaucracy, impatience for results, micromanagement, aversion to innovation, conservative - all the things you consider of big pharma - risk aversion but reasonably secure role and wage. Needed to play along to get ahead - fit the Merck mold and you will be fine - dont rock the boat

      Advice to Management

      truly foster innovation on your team and reward people who think differently than you

      Merck2015-09-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Dynamic company focussed on future pipelines"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Director in Sydney
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Merck full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Family orientated, can work from home or office. Good opportunities to work in cross-functional Interactive teams and develop experience in other areas outside of own expertise. Optional Health Insurance subsidy.

      Cons

      Being a US based company, all conduits lead back to New Jersey. There are times when the experience of teams, outside of the U.S., are not considered for regional roles

      Advice to Management

      Local knowledge in regions outside of U.S. should be taken more seriously. Not all standard processes work in areas such as Asia or Latin America where Health Authorities have "out of the norm" expectations and are difficult to deal with.

      Merck2014-09-15
    • "Company values are good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Analyst in Sydney
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Merck full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Company values are good and the products produced benefit people's lives greatly. People are friendly and there is a strongly defined mission statement. Employees actively pull together as a team when there is an urgent objective to be achieved (eg. delivery of life saving medicines for patients).

      Cons

      Aggressive targets to cut costs, the removal of some company benefits and the need to cut the workforce by a significant number recently has affected employee morale. Work-life balance can be an issue - especially if working with teams from different time zones (or reporting to supervisors based in a different time zone).

      Advice to Management

      Company morale was once great but has taken a beating from recent heavy cost cuttings and retrenchments. The challenge for management is to re-assure employees that the company is on the improve and morale is on the way up again.

      Merck2014-05-30
    • "Defined my career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Merck full-time

      Pros

      I had a lot of mentors that cared about my career

      Cons

      I was underpaid at the time.

      Advice to Management

      Implement leadership programs and find talented individuals

      Merck2013-04-05
    • "More bureaucratic than a government department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

      I worked at Merck full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Flexible hours, free parking, nice offices

      Cons

      Focus was on looking busy and "proving the department's value" via conducting brown bag lunches to explain what it was we were supposed to be doing. Generally unfriendly, back-biting culture.

      Merck2012-11-28
    • "Supportive learning environment but too much bureaucracy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Manager in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Merck full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Strong pipe line; many departmental development opportunities

      Cons

      Too many duplicated processes Slow decision-making leading to unnecessary stress

      Advice to Management

      Please consider removing redundant processes and harmonizing with legacy SP processes

      Merck2012-10-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Used to be great - now just OK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in Sydney
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Merck

      Pros

      Contribution to society - great mission to improve Global Health. You get to work with the smartest people on the planet.

      Cons

      Constant down-sizing - you feel like you are always working under the threat of job-loss. Not the most motivational situation at the moment.

      Advice to Management

      Settle the organization down. We all understand things are changing and evolving - however, there must be a point at which we can look forward, instead of over our shoulders.

      Merck2011-08-11
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Director 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Merck full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Flexibility and competitive salary. Very considerate of life situations.

      Cons

      Benefits may cost less other places?

      Merck2019-06-15
    • "Want in!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Oelwein, IA
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Merck part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        New ideas dreams innovations futuristic resilience in marketing import and export

        Cons

        Bureaucracy politics discrimination hearsay from past

        Advice to Management

        Take a chance on me!

        Merck2019-06-12
      Found 3174 reviews