Merck Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Merck President & CEO Kenneth C. Frazier
Kenneth C. Frazier
1,219 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management seemed disconnected from local plant issues(in 90 reviews)

  • "Not sure why senior management thinks that the solution to every problem is to create a new system with a complex approval process(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Manager in Sydney

    I have been working at Merck full-time

    Pros

    Higher purpose of making life better through invention Interesting development opportunities Strong people focus

    Cons

    Can be bureaucratic, slow and highly regulated

    Merck2020-06-01
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Big let down and disappointment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merck full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Won't know as all the team leader/supervisor did was complain how much work there was.

    Cons

    Once a month you'll get a plate of cheese with crackers and a couple of beers. That's all, literally that's all you'll get whereas majority other companies have Friday drinks or at least put in 50% effort when it comes to celebrating their employees. Depressing and unrewarding working environment. Systems are old and out dated. Things that can be done in 15 minutes take an hour because of how outdated the systems are. Employee's seem to be disposable. Management and supervisors complain from 9-5. Unfriendly environment, not welcoming at all. Hardly saw anyone have lunch together. No one really speaks to anyone unless they're complaining or talking badly about another employee. Too much work and little salary. Supervisor was very dramatic about their day to day activities and unorganised. No official trainers or training material. No company induction, no task specific induction, and no at work support.

    Continue reading
    Merck2019-11-05
  3. "Regulatory Affairs"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it is really good place

    Cons

    nothing con about the place

    Merck2017-06-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Ok experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, nice offices, caring leadership and reasonable enough pay/benefits. bascially, good working conditions.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, impatience for results, micromanagement, aversion to innovation, conservative - all the things you consider of big pharma - risk aversion but reasonably secure role and wage. Needed to play along to get ahead - fit the Merck mold and you will be fine - dont rock the boat

    Continue reading
    Merck2015-09-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Dynamic company focussed on future pipelines"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family orientated, can work from home or office. Good opportunities to work in cross-functional Interactive teams and develop experience in other areas outside of own expertise. Optional Health Insurance subsidy.

    Cons

    Being a US based company, all conduits lead back to New Jersey. There are times when the experience of teams, outside of the U.S., are not considered for regional roles

    Continue reading
    Merck2014-09-15
  6. "Company values are good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merck full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company values are good and the products produced benefit people's lives greatly. People are friendly and there is a strongly defined mission statement. Employees actively pull together as a team when there is an urgent objective to be achieved (eg. delivery of life saving medicines for patients).

    Cons

    Aggressive targets to cut costs, the removal of some company benefits and the need to cut the workforce by a significant number recently has affected employee morale. Work-life balance can be an issue - especially if working with teams from different time zones (or reporting to supervisors based in a different time zone).

    Continue reading
    Merck2014-05-30
  7. "Defined my career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merck full-time

    Pros

    I had a lot of mentors that cared about my career

    Cons

    I was underpaid at the time.

    Continue reading
    Merck2013-04-05
  8. "More bureaucratic than a government department"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I worked at Merck full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, free parking, nice offices

    Cons

    Focus was on looking busy and "proving the department's value" via conducting brown bag lunches to explain what it was we were supposed to be doing. Generally unfriendly, back-biting culture.

    Merck2012-11-28
  9. "Supportive learning environment but too much bureaucracy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong pipe line; many departmental development opportunities

    Cons

    Too many duplicated processes Slow decision-making leading to unnecessary stress

    Continue reading
    Merck2012-10-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be great - now just OK"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Sydney
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merck

    Pros

    Contribution to society - great mission to improve Global Health. You get to work with the smartest people on the planet.

    Cons

    Constant down-sizing - you feel like you are always working under the threat of job-loss. Not the most motivational situation at the moment.

    Continue reading
    Merck2011-08-11
Found 3109 reviews