Metagenics Reviews

Updated 11 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Metagenics President & CEO  Brent Eck (no image)
Brent Eck
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Beautiful location and good people to work with(in 6 reviews)

  • "Good benefits fair salaries and an overall good place to work(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Not really very employee oriented"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Lenexa, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The time off is decent.

    Cons

    The training is very poor, especially on the new software they just switched us to. Not a lot of support when you have problem orders. Generally, when you have problems your supervisor will say that they’ll help and then forget that they told you that.

    Continue reading
    Metagenics2020-04-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Too bad"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metagenics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good quality behind their products.

    Cons

    Terrible management. Every manager I ever had was fired.

    Metagenics2020-02-19
  3. Helpful (4)

    "This Company is a Joke!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metagenics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employees, free products and nice location.

    Cons

    Management is the worst I’ve ever seen! No morale, advancement, blame employees for everything then get rid of them like they don’t have a family to support. Take responsibility for nothing and do absolutely nothing. Companies going down and they still don’t get it. Pathetic!

    Continue reading
    Metagenics2020-02-17
  4. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Junior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time

    Pros

    Nice people. Good location. Fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Pay is a little bit on the low-side

    Metagenics2020-01-03
  5. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Metagenics is a great company to work for.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Metagenics2019-12-28
  6. "Great Company with excellent management and CEO"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The CEO is dynamic and is very proactive - Upper Management is easily approachable - help employees grow and improve - Good benefits - Very good work culture

    Cons

    - Time off is limited, especially in initial years

    Metagenics2019-11-13
  7. Helpful (5)

    "If you want people to dress professionally then start paying a professional wage!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Gig Harbor, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metagenics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They offer a great benefits package

    Cons

    It use to feel like a family now you're just a number. The CEO is a joke! I'm pretty sure he does what's best for his wallet and not the company.

    Continue reading
    Metagenics2019-10-23
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Terrible C-Suite, Great People"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metagenics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only reason I am giving this two stars is because of the fantastic people who work there, and the quality of products they make. I could not have enjoyed working with my co-workers more than I did. Especially the Gig Harbor employees.

    Cons

    The CEO is categorically terrible. He frequently drops down to micro manage employees at all levels and is condescending and belittling when he does. He has zero interpersonal skills and is completely unable to relate his employees. He overworks his staff, yells, and fires people who offer any kind of feed back or critique. He has laid off practically all of his inherited leadership, some who had been with the company since it was founded and were beloved employees. These layoffs typically come in waves and are wide ranging. If you are one of his inner circle your fine; that is until you do something he disapproves of. He throws tantrums, vacillates on major projects , and has completely unrealistic of what a normal work schedule looks like. My experiences with him were objectively awful. His personality and work style have a negative effect on the entire company.

    Metagenics2019-09-10
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Associate in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people, good culture and balance, forward-thinking CEO.

    Cons

    No cons and no complaints.

    Continue reading
    Metagenics2019-08-16
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Management Needs Help...."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Metagenics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people Good benefits Good products Good environment

    Cons

    Senior Management is Terrible! Long hours and you get reprimanded if things aren't going their way

    Continue reading
    Metagenics2019-05-20

    Metagenics Response

    May 24, 2019Metagenics, Inc.

    Thank you for your candid feedback about your time here with Metagenics. It disappoints us to read that a colleague didn’t have a good experience with us, and we take every critique—good or bad—as an opportunity to learn from. Metagenics has been undergoing exciting changes as a global organization over the past few years. From implementing new technologies to designing and delivering best-in-class employee development programs, to expanding our business globally, understandably, the pace is fast moving and workloads are full. We appreciate the dedication our employees put in daily, and are most proud that many of our employees have risen to the occasion and take full advantage of the tools and opportunities we provide. We regret that you didn’t have a positive experience with us, and we wish you well. Our best regards.

Found 75 reviews