Modular Mining Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Modular Mining Systems Reviews

Updated 3 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jorge Mascena
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance, supportive environment, professional but fun company culture, amazing D&I(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, there are many really good challenges(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of cooperation between product development and support teams(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "First company I work for after graduation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Modular Mining Systems full-time

    Pros

    Experience with different mine sites. Eligibility for half of Long Service Leaves after 5 years. Travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Opportunities to skill development for female employees are less.

    Modular Mining Systems2017-09-07
  2. "Not a bad place, just very disappointed at certain levels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modular Mining Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * You can pretend you work, and you still gonna get paid. * The new CEO is awesome! * Cool open space to work * Work remote options is quite nice * Nice benefits

    Cons

    * You guys gotta be careful with HR people. They openly gossip about people's issues, which does not generate a good perception of upper management. How would you feel about seeing and upper level HR talking bad stuff about his former CEO? Not good at all right? * There are no real career path for employees, and again, more than local management is an HR issue that hopefully someone can handle or replace the people...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Careful with your words and to who you open up, because people that I mentioned on the Cons section can use it agains you. No matter if you are an engineer, manager or the ceo, 'cause they will gossip about you anyway.

    Modular Mining Systems2019-06-27
  3. "Technology Leader in Global Mining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Global Human Resources in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modular Mining Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, good work culture/environment, freedom to act, flexible work schedules (including 9x80), many positions get to work on international work or travel to other countries, competitive pay and good benefits, and small workout area. The new CEO has a clear and passionate vision for the future.

    Cons

    Some work areas need renovation (planned), at times try to tackle too many things - need to focus on few most critical, and the plagued like most companies with emails and meetings.

    Modular Mining Systems2019-06-10
  4. "Positive changes!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modular Mining Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Modular has always been a great company, but I'm very excited to see the direction the company is headed with the newly appointed CEO. There seems to now be a strong focus on company cultural and leadership development.

    Cons

    Depending on your role, you may have a lot of growth opportunity, but others have very little. There is still an immaturity in management that badly needs to be addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing so much on technical skills, and hire for attitude, potential and ability to lead a team.

    Modular Mining Systems2019-05-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modular Mining Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance 9/80 work schedule Fair and knowledgeable supervisors and managers Friendly helpful coworkers always willing to assist and educate

    Cons

    Lack of training. You have to learn from you coworkers or on your own, as no good formal training is available. Moving departments or jobs is more difficult than advertised. Lack of cooperation between product development and support teams. Promotion is rare unless the person directly above you leaves the company. It is also usually given based purely on seniority or politics.

    Advice to Management

    Award skill and achievement rather than years in the company.

    Modular Mining Systems2019-04-26

    Modular Mining Systems Response

    May 30, 2019Lead Recruiter

    Thanks so much for your positive review. We love hearing your feedback! If there are comments or concerns you'd like to discuss further, please remember that the HR group is here to be a resource for you. We'd love to help in any way we can!

  6. "Market leader company with many challenging projects."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modular Mining Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No layoffs. 9/80 schedule. International travels. Multicultural environment.

    Cons

    Can't really think on anything.

    Modular Mining Systems2019-03-23
  7. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Modular Mining Systems full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, interesting product

    Cons

    Not the best benefits, could be better.

    Modular Mining Systems2019-03-28

    Modular Mining Systems Response

    May 30, 2019Lead Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear the work environment is comfortable for you and you find the work interesting. If you'd like to provide HR with specifics about what we can improve, please don't hesitate to come chat with us.

  8. "No word after interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Modular Mining Systems

    Pros

    I don't know because was never given a chance.

    Cons

    HR does not reply to emails.

    Advice to Management

    So after promising to get back to me in 2 weeks time I am still waiting for feedback, positive or negative. Just leaving me hanging leaves a bitter taste in the mouth which puts me off ever wanting to work here.

    Modular Mining Systems2019-04-16
  9. "Paving my career path!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modular Mining Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance, supportive environment, professional but fun company culture, amazing D&I

    Cons

    I can't think of any...

    Advice to Management

    Continue embracing Kaizen. Innovation is our backbone and our management reflects that through inclusivity, sharing ideas, cross department functionality, and the CIA triad.

    Modular Mining Systems2019-02-28

    Modular Mining Systems Response

    March 13, 2019Lead Recruiter

    Thank you for the valuable feedback! We're so happy to hear things are going well for you here at MMSI.

  10. "Applications Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Modular Mining Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Compensation. Travel Bonuses. Free lunch on Fridays. Flexi hours

    Cons

    Extensive travel due to high work load Travel to undesirable places

    Modular Mining Systems2018-11-14
Found 64 reviews