Newcrest Mining Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Newcrest Mining Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Newcrest Mining CEO Sandeep Biswas
Sandeep Biswas
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people to work with and nice working culture(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Horrible culture that is simply a boys club(in 6 reviews)

  • "Board does not hold exec committee accountable for poor decision making(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newcrest Mining for less than a year

    Pros

    People at Newcrest makes you feel like home! Awesome place to work at and lots of opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    The mine site is old.

    Newcrest Mining2019-07-31
  2. "Enjoyable and challenging workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Specialist in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newcrest Mining full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salaries, freedom to work independently, plenty of opportunities to use your skills.

    Cons

    Slow to react, bureaucratic, silos, some people have been there too long....

    Advice to Management

    Less bureaucracy, encourage quicker action to take advantage of opportunities.

    Newcrest Mining2019-07-24
  3. "Culture varies across the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Newcrest Mining full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits Career opportunities

    Cons

    The culture varies across different business areas, some are very positive but HR was a challenging environment resulting in many people joining the team and choosing to leave shortly after.

    Newcrest Mining2019-07-28
  4. "Vacation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vacation Student in Orange
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newcrest Mining for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture and given a great amount of responsibility as a vacation student.

    Cons

    Their HR and payroll seem to find their jobs difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Have a legitimate mentor assigned for vacation students. I could have learned much more and been of more use if I had some structured way of learning.

    Newcrest Mining2019-03-26
  5. "Clowns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Rigger in Cadia

    I worked at Newcrest Mining for less than a year

    Pros

    First day: 5 hours of sitting and standing around to be passed through to undertake site walkaround of about 40 minutes that went overtime as well. This results in getting back to accomodation at 10pm for a turnaround of catching the bus in at 5:10am the following morning. Not like they cared.

    Cons

    Day 2: Day 1 i had obtained clearance for my enclosed steelcap footwear from the responsible Newcrest employee. Day 2 this suddenly became an issue. Huge enough that was denied work and sent home not to resolve the particular issue (which might have been practicalband, y'know, decent, but for good. Having committed for the week and made the 3.5 hour drive in. So that's the kind of people they are

    Advice to Management

    What you get from having Forefront as one of your contractors. Why do you advertise that you have a 24/7 'Speakout' line where concerns like mine can be raised and I am quite willing to go in my own name on the record .. but the number in Australia can't be found and you don't even publish it on you website or any of your documents claiming PR and credit for this, in a most cynically windowdressing sense?

    Newcrest Mining2019-03-19

    Newcrest Mining Response

    April 1, 2019Communications Officer

    Thank you for your feedback on our onboarding processes. We’ll take your comments to heart, review and look to improve. We have now put our Speak Out service contact numbers in a more accessible area on our website. In the meantime if you have any additional comments please ...

    Show More
  6. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Newcrest Mining full-time

    Pros

    Exciting industry with on site opportunities

    Cons

    Mining systems are outdated and environmentally destructive.

    Newcrest Mining2019-02-22
  7. "Alternate Quarry Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newcrest Mining full-time

    Pros

    Very good to work for.

    Cons

    Fluctuations in gold price gave uncertain future.

    Advice to Management

    No advice

    Newcrest Mining2018-11-21
  8. "Top heavy bureaucratic company lacking direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Newcrest Mining full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and conditions Has many capable employees

    Cons

    Leadership lacking at senior levels Self interest dominating executive decision making Little genuine care for employees A top heavy bureaucratic corporate office

    Advice to Management

    Live the values

    Newcrest Mining2018-10-15
  9. "Short sighted vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Newcrest Mining full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    providing new skills , good pay

    Cons

    short sighted goals. no development of people.

    Advice to Management

    develop people to grow a company

    Newcrest Mining2018-09-26
  10. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newcrest Mining full-time

    Pros

    good company, good benefits, good lifestyle

    Cons

    red tape, long time to make decisions

    Newcrest Mining2018-08-02
Found 62 reviews