Nordstrom Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Nordstrom Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10673 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with the best customer service team(in 664 reviews)

  • "Great company morale employees work as a team to help each other(in 436 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low base pay/ commission is tough because of high returns(in 698 reviews)

  • "Long hours standing and no flexibility in schedule(in 572 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Educational Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Nordstrom part-time

      Pros

      Through Nordstrom's extensive training, I learned valuable customer service skills that have helped me excel in multiple positions in my career. The dedication they give each employee is outstanding.

      Cons

      I encountered some pushy sales associates who would take credit for some of my sales. Other than a select few, the team is incredible and supportive.

      Nordstrom2018-10-18
    • "Too good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Nordstrom full-time

        Pros

        Workplace development advice on future practices to assist staff to achieve excellence, including management of change, performance, leadership and management development, staff development and training, job classification and remuneration

        Cons

        Policy development advice to the executive and senior managers on long term related human resource policy and innovative human resources strategy. Staff employment and salary services including appointments, promotions, payment of salaries, leave, superannuation

        Advice to Management

        hy would you use this? Maybe you want to sign up for a site which requires that you provide an e-mail address to send a validation e-mail to. And maybe you don't want to give up your real e-mail address and end up on a bunch of spam lists. This is nice and disposable. And it's free. Enjoy!

        Nordstrom2019-04-24
      • "great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Nordstrom part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        interesting place to work well organised and clear schedule of teamwork. duties were clear and s0lit not as intensive as other resthomes

        Cons

        old ageing upper people ofyem complained alot while they did little. have a culture of backchatting and degradation of younger staff by those wanting to leep their job

        Advice to Management

        management is g4eat but there are many whp are close to management who need to be let go. they did very little other than backchat and tall badly of younger staff to look good.

        Nordstrom2018-04-15
      • "Decent company to work for in the retail environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Department Sales Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Employee discount is probably the only good thing but it can hurt your wallet

        Cons

        Comission environment, hours, retail in a changing environment

        Nordstrom2019-05-25
      • "LOVE IT"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Web Fulfill/Logistics in Novi, MI
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Love my coworkers Love my manager

        Cons

        PAY DECREASE, they decided to cut the pay

        Advice to Management

        Don’t increase the pay & double the work

        Nordstrom2019-05-23
      • "Awesome work experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Salesman in Troy, MI

        I worked at Nordstrom full-time

        Pros

        The best work culture I've experienced. Management is patient and very helpful.

        Cons

        Very competitive work atmosphere. On your feet a lot.

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing what you guys do.

        Nordstrom2019-05-23
      • "Great company!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Barista in Anchorage, AK
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Nordstrom part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Good hours, good discount, flexible schedule

        Cons

        They hire young people sometimes, lots of gossip, can sometimes be a hostile place since most employees are on commission. The E-Bar was great though!

        Nordstrom2019-05-22
      • "A good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Bellevue, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Nordstrom part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Good management, you know your work schedule weeks in advance, long breaks

        Cons

        Commission can be stressful but also rewarding. Shifts are very typical of retail and can be late and on weekends

        Nordstrom2019-05-22
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate in Bethesda, MD
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Creative freedom with styling and merchandising

        Cons

        Take on more than the average sales associate

        Nordstrom2019-05-22
      • "Good Company to Work For"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in New Britain, CT
        Recommends

        I worked at Nordstrom part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fun work atmosphere if you have a good manager and coworkers

        Cons

        Management moves around a lot between departments

        Nordstrom2019-05-21
      Found 10673 reviews