Nordstrom Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom Co-President Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
496 Ratings
Pros
  • "Commission based allows for higher earning potential than most customer service jobs(in 696 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, room for growth(in 467 reviews)

Cons
  • "Returns deducted from commission(in 740 reviews)

  • "There were very long hours during sales(in 623 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Educational Work Experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time

    Pros

    Through Nordstrom's extensive training, I learned valuable customer service skills that have helped me excel in multiple positions in my career. The dedication they give each employee is outstanding.

    Cons

    I encountered some pushy sales associates who would take credit for some of my sales. Other than a select few, the team is incredible and supportive.

    Nordstrom2018-10-18
  2. "Too good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time

    Pros

    Workplace development advice on future practices to assist staff to achieve excellence, including management of change, performance, leadership and management development, staff development and training, job classification and remuneration

    Cons

    Policy development advice to the executive and senior managers on long term related human resource policy and innovative human resources strategy. Staff employment and salary services including appointments, promotions, payment of salaries, leave, superannuation

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom2019-04-24
  3. "great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interesting place to work well organised and clear schedule of teamwork. duties were clear and s0lit not as intensive as other resthomes

    Cons

    old ageing upper people ofyem complained alot while they did little. have a culture of backchatting and degradation of younger staff by those wanting to leep their job

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom2018-04-15
  4. "Great experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Selling Manager in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience moving forward in how to communicate effectively, how to de-escalate upset customers.

    Cons

    Retail takes away a normal social life, miss lots of events and gatherings with a schedule that is constantly changing.

    Nordstrom2020-06-04
  5. "Quality for Retail, but average when compared to other fields"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Bloomington, MN

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time

    Pros

    Nordstrom has an excellent reputation for service to its customers. Your employee discount is a huge plus, and with great service comes excellent staff.

    Cons

    Nordstrom should care as much for their employees as they do their customers.

    Nordstrom2020-06-05
  6. "good company but hard to grow further more"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    benefits, discounts, diversity, 401k, inclusion

    Cons

    difficult to grow with the company

    Nordstrom2020-06-03
  7. "Great atmosphere"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time

    Pros

    Supportive management, friendly atmosphere, commission based

    Cons

    Odd hours sometimes, not a steady schedule

    Nordstrom2020-06-03
  8. "Commission Based Retail Is the Way to Go"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - can competitive salary because of commission - great 401k, dental, and health insurance - easy to grow into leadership positions

    Cons

    - work can be monotonous

    Nordstrom2020-06-04
  9. "Great company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Hurst, TX

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers, overall good company, good discount

    Cons

    High turnover rate in management

    Nordstrom2020-06-04
  10. "Amazing Company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Processor 

    I have been working at Nordstrom part-time

    Pros

    Great Environment, Nice and Mature People

    Cons

    As of right now, nothing.

    Nordstrom2020-06-02
Found 11759 reviews