Officeworks Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Officeworks Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Officeworks CEO Mark Ward
Mark Ward
92 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team environment can be a lot of fun(in 17 reviews)

  • "Several excellent training programs available to team members(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Overworking good team members is common as a cost saving measure with no financial compensation or recognition for hard work(in 22 reviews)

  • "Head Office disconnect from stores(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment Work-life balance So many benefits (movie tickets, corporate partnerships with car companies, discounts with all westfarmers shops)

    Cons

    Budget for team member wages had meant many have lost shifts

    Officeworks2019-08-28
  2. "Best workplace to start career in retail industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Mentone
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Appreciation for employees, Able to work across the country, Flexibility with work hours. Management is really supportable if you face any problem. Different in store events during year for fund-raising. Officeworks really helps you to explore your retail skills.

    Cons

    Unable to learn everything about each department at Officeworks which can some times result in poor customer review for store and team members.

    Officeworks2019-10-07
  3. "not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Canberra

    I have been working at Officeworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work keeps you busy here

    Cons

    did not like management at all

    Officeworks2019-10-15
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly such a good job and made so many friends.

    Cons

    They don’t train too well and sort of just push you in the deep end

    Advice to Management

    Do optional training sessions for people who would want to

    Officeworks2019-09-26
  5. "Working as a Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member/Cashier in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Convenient Hours - Basic roles and responsibilities - Shift hours are acceptable - Good development of transferable skills

    Cons

    - Shifts are very busy, can be strenuous - Organisation of tasks are not good - Management may be pressuring

    Officeworks2019-09-27
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Chatswood
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll always be busy with relatively easy work, they pay on time, friendly people to work with, generous discounts, good opportunities for career advancements.

    Cons

    Customers can be a pain, long hours standing

    Officeworks2019-09-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Slow improvements but a long way to go - terrible mat leave treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Bentleigh East
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Change of management has gone a long way to improving the culture. Improved maternity policies and new leadership under Sarah was a breath of fresh air (unfortunately too late for me) -Some decent training opportunities - I managed to get a Diploma of Management through their Future Leaders Program (but this has now discontinued with no official accreditation) -I learnt a lot on the job and my managers when I... first started were inspirational and really excited me about working for Officeworks long term.

    Show More

    Cons

    -A really old school 'boys club' mentality existed when I was there - at one point there was only one woman in the leadership team which was all white. Not very diverse. And a lot of sexism/boys club mentality still existed where women would get passed over for their boorish less skilled male co-workers. -Missed pay raise cycles because I'd already had a increase 11 months earlier then missed pay rises when I was... on mat leave, which resulted in my pay remaining the same for two and a half years despite being a senior member of the team which put me on par with new hires. - Was treated terribly when returning from maternity leave. Was made to feel really guilty about requesting flexible working and ended up working more days than I originally wanted to which put a huge strain on my family. Wasn't allowed to flex my hours to avoid traffic. My role was changed to hide me in a less prominent role when I returned from leave. - A real emphasis on 'butts in seats', even when quiet or doing work that could have been done elsewhere. -At the time, only received 3 weeks paid maternity, then 3 when I returned back from work, which made me feel like I was being held hostage to my money if I didn't come back (that has changed now) -Lots of older workers stuck in the dark ages. There was only one room for parenting and it was frequently occupied by an older lady who wanted to nap, which meant I had to pump in a cupboard - and I was made to feel I was in the wrong! Once they eventually retire I'm sure things will improve. - Never walked the talk. Management always talked about customer first but then would push marketing to do what they wanted. Talked about looking after their team then treated them badly. Sold the 'dream' of beautiful offices to customers, then had their workers using outdated computers and desks from the 80s. Or spending millions promoting a charity to customers instead of, just, giving the millions to the charity!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on the EBIT and start focusing on your team. I was prepared to stay for the long haul but the poor treatment I received when I came back from mat leave killed it for me. Five years, no promotion opportunities, then I came back from mat leave and it was like I was invisible. A real shame. So much effort focused on the bottom line and not on the team - I really hope this improves for future workers.

    Officeworks2019-09-13
  8. "Lots of good people, lots of politics and culture of fear."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Discount Card, People, Free Car park

    Cons

    Pay, Work hours, Culture, Policies, Hierarchy

    Officeworks2019-09-06
  9. "Excellent Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stationary in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Officeworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent advice and fantastic products

    Cons

    early morning starts can get hard

    Officeworks2019-08-08
  10. "Not a great Management Structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing managers - Great coworkers

    Cons

    Higher up management (i.e. head office) ties hands for managers in stores and they get a bad rap. I have made lifelong friends here but they also have left due to how toxic it can get.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the feedback given in the yearly surveys.

    Officeworks2019-08-07
Found 214 reviews