Officeworks Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Officeworks Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 220 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Officeworks CEO Mark Ward
Mark Ward
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Several excellent training programs available to team members(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great team chemistry, everybody has each other's backs(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Overworking good team members is common as a cost saving measure with no financial compensation or recognition for hard work(in 19 reviews)

  • "Don't feel like the training for print and copy team members is adequate(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stationary in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Officeworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent advice and fantastic products

    Cons

    early morning starts can get hard

    Officeworks2019-08-08
  2. "A great place to work at. Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bentleigh East
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Officeworks for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance, very awesome environment.

    Cons

    No cons found at officeworks.

    Officeworks2019-08-06
  3. "Was Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Highett
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, nice friendly people

    Cons

    Boring job, it is extremely repetitive

    Officeworks2019-07-23
  4. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant 

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team - friendly team

    Cons

    Going above and beyond for customers isn't good business

    Advice to Management

    Offer consistent hours to staff

    Officeworks2019-08-07
  5. "Not a great Management Structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing managers - Great coworkers

    Cons

    Higher up management (i.e. head office) ties hands for managers in stores and they get a bad rap. I have made lifelong friends here but they also have left due to how toxic it can get.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the feedback given in the yearly surveys.

    Officeworks2019-08-07
  6. "Store management is shocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Mandurah

    I worked at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Easy work okay money

    Cons

    Bad management , angry and unapproachable. Treats you badly for no reason

    Advice to Management

    Learn to treat your team better

    Officeworks2019-08-17
  7. "Print and copy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Print and Copy Team Member in Subiaco
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Officeworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The customers, having regulars come in and caring how you are having a conversation, the team and how we become one little family.

    Cons

    There is always one team member who thinks they are better than the others and thinks they can control others, calling for a service 2 and no one coming

    Advice to Management

    I feel everyone should get training in every department so that when help is needed who ever is free can go over.

    Officeworks2019-07-09
  8. "Great culture but no innovation or career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff discounts Great culture (at least in my team) Big focus on sustainability and recycling (keep cup given to new employees) Everyone is friendly and will socialise outside of work

    Cons

    No room for career growth (never advertise roles internally) High turnover due to lack of pay increases or promotions No innovation (very behind in digital space and slow to adopt new ideas and ways of thinking)

    Advice to Management

    Start investing in your employees and you might not get such a high turnover of staff!

    Officeworks2019-07-07
  9. "A very friendly team enviroment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Officeworks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very friendly team enviroment to work in

    Cons

    Can become very busy during lunch time

    Officeworks2019-07-03
  10. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Member 

    I worked at Officeworks part-time

    Pros

    Great Leadership and creative thinking

    Cons

    store management can be overwhelming at times

    Officeworks2019-07-10
Found 220 reviews