Paychex Reviews

Updated 28 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Paychex President and CEO Martin Mucci
Martin Mucci
1,326 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paychex offers great benefits including a very generous tuition assistance program that you can start using on the second month of employment(in 238 reviews)

  • "Work Life Balance is amazing, flexible(in 180 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Great Place to Work in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great leadership, great training great with work life balance.

    Cons

    Some times we are blacked out from time off, but that comes with this position.

    Paychex Response

    June 29, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We're happy you're happy here. :)

  2. "Human Capital Management Sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Metairie, LA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great training, can make a lot of money, formula for success is provided by management

    Cons

    might be micromanaged, super competitive market, the grind of hunting for new clients can become exhausting

    Continue reading

    Paychex Response

    June 29, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. While sales is competitive and can be challenging, we're happy to see you're seeing so much success here!

  3. "Nice Company to raise Professional growth curve"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automation Test Engineer II in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee friendly policies Excellent practice in Work-Life management

    Cons

    no Cons to mention here

  4. "Can be a great learning opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Folsom, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paychex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working Remote, laid back most of the time, if you hustle you can make good money... It will also teach you alot when it comes to sales. It is definitely a sink or swim type of job.

    Cons

    Politics, support is horrible so it can be difficult to keep relationships, but all the others are common Cons for working at a large Corp like Paychex.

    Continue reading

    Paychex Response

    June 16, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. While we're glad to hear that overall your experience was positive, we'd love to know specifics on the areas where you feel we have opportunities to improve. If you're open to sharing, please drop us a line at glassdoor@paychex.com. Thanks and we hope to hear from you!

  5. "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time

    Pros

    Ethical well-known company that dominates the SMB market

    Cons

    Strategy seems to always be changing.

    Paychex Response

    June 16, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback.

  6. "Excellent company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PEOC in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, training, management/leadership are all excellent.

    Cons

    I have no complaints about this company.

    Paychex Response

    June 16, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you're happy here. :)

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operational Risk Manager in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great culture. A great deal of opportunity. Excellent work life balance.

    Cons

    Amazing growth years are in the past.

    Paychex Response

    June 8, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Henrietta, NY

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, great environment, good benefits

    Cons

    No big cons in my experience

    Paychex Response

    June 8, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! We're happy you're happy here. :o)

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Your manager and supervisor makes or breaks it."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Specialist in High Point, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paychex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay for entry level, good benefits (low oop max for healthcare)

    Cons

    Poor training, inconsistent information from management, management does not behave in a way consistent with company's core values, large workload, management will stall your career development if you allow them to

    Continue reading

    Paychex Response

    June 16, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    The Paychex company values, training, and strong leadership are important to us - and we are disappointed to hear that you didn't have a positive experience in your time here. We'd like an opportunity to learn where we can do better. Please reach out to us at glassdoor@paychex.com. Thank you.

  10. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paychex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and people are great

    Cons

    Reorganization/closing offices. Hard to get promoted

    Paychex Response

    June 16, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. Our employees' career growth is important to us - and we'd like an opportunity to understand your experience more. Please reach out to us at glassdoor@paychex.com. Thank you!

Found 2378 reviews