PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

PetSmart Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4349 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
220 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stalker or cleaning pets living spaces(in 757 reviews)

  • "Working with animals & learning about safety(in 362 reviews)

Cons
  • "I do wish we didn't sell enclosures that weren't good for the animals (i(in 385 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 223 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and great pay

    Cons

    High turnover and going above and beyond doesnt always get recognized.

    Advice to Management

    none

    PetSmart2019-07-14

    PetSmart Response

    July 15, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate the feedback and are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the flexible scheduling and compensation. I'm sorry to hear you didn't feel the work effort wasn't always recognized, but I can assure you we value the contributions ...

    Show More
  2. "I am an associate leader manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a friendly and enjoyable place to work.

    Cons

    It is very fast pace.

    PetSmart2019-07-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    offer different options for healthcare

    Cons

    Plans do not pay well for dental and vision

    PetSmart2019-07-11

    PetSmart Response

    July 15, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you for the feedback! We are always looking at ways to keep our benefits competitive and in line with our associates' needs. We will share your feedback with the appropriate team members. Thank you, again!

  4. "Fantastic Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EARLY MORNING STOCKER in Flint, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management was very easy to get along with, easy to learn work, and generally positive working environment

    Cons

    Some months out of the year had a sharp shortage in hours/week.

    PetSmart2019-07-12

    PetSmart Response

    July 15, 2019Employer Branding

    We think PetSmart is pretty fantastic, as well! I'm thrilled you agree! That's great to hear that your experience with management has been positive and that you've learned a lot through your five years with PetSmart. Thank you for sharing your experience and for all you do to make ...

    Show More
  5. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Pet Care Associate 

      I worked at PetSmart full-time

      Pros

      Easy, working with animals, scheduling

      Cons

      Pay, poor management, and understaffed

      PetSmart2019-07-12

      PetSmart Response

      July 15, 2019Employer Branding

      Thank you for the feedback. Please know you can always share more about your experience via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. We are always looking at ways to improve. Thank you, again!

    • "Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier 

      I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I get to work with animals and better their lives

      Cons

      Long shifts, always on feet

      PetSmart2019-07-11

      PetSmart Response

      July 11, 2019Employer Branding

      Thanks for the review! I'm happy that life at PetSmart has been 5 stars for you! Thank you for your commitment and dedication to helping keep pets happy and healthy!

    • "Fun Place To Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier in Aiken, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Absolutely loved working here! Always rewarding to work one on one with the customers and their pets.

      Cons

      Part time work is so variable.

      PetSmart2019-07-10

      PetSmart Response

      July 11, 2019Employer Branding

      Thanks for the review! I'm so glad your experience was positive, fun and rewarding! Helping pets and pet parents is so special, and we appreciate the energy and hard work all of our associates bring each day. Thank you!

    • "Typical Retail Employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Stock Lead in Bridgewater, NJ

      I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Decent management team at the time.

      Cons

      Unreliable night stocking team at the time

      PetSmart2019-07-07

      PetSmart Response

      July 9, 2019Employer Branding

      Thank you for the review. Please know you can share more about your experience via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. We're always looking at ways we can improve and appreciate the input! Thanks, again!

    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at PetSmart full-time

      Pros

      Company takes care of employees and likes to promote from within.

      Cons

      No come at the moment

      PetSmart2019-07-06

      PetSmart Response

      July 8, 2019Employer Branding

      Thank you for the review! I'm thrilled to read that you've enjoyed your time so far with PetSmart. You're absolutely right - we aim to provide development opportunities to our associates so our team can grow with us. Thank you, again, for taking the time!

    • "Okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Petcare Specialist 

      I worked at PetSmart part-time

      Pros

      Decent place to work at.

      Cons

      It was mundane after awhile

      PetSmart2019-07-05
    Found 4349 reviews