PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

PetSmart Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4497 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
256 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals & learning about safety(in 377 reviews)

  • "If you're interested in animal care, you get to learn a lot(in 163 reviews)

Cons
  • "I do wish we didn't sell enclosures that weren't good for the animals (i(in 397 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 234 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good part time, not much for full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bather 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Good group to work with, rare to find a group I'd like to hang out with outside of work, but I am still friends with several of my old coworkers! Great clients, loved seeing my regular pups and their owners!

    Cons

    No chance of full time as a bather Was promised the grooming academy, but after a year I had to move on due to lack of hours and money every month Over scheduling was rough, with all the quick services Bathers were required to do no matter how idle the groomers were.

    PetSmart2019-10-13

    PetSmart Response

    October 14, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We couldn't agree more - it's our colleagues, pets and pet parents who make PetSmart such a special place. We always appreciate hearing feedback from our associates and appreciate you taking the time. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. We appreciate you sharing your experience!

    Show Less
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CEL in Hilton Head Island, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with pet parents and associates. Steady work, fun. Pay was good too.

    Cons

    Some management need more involvement and less office time.

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved with employees and less time in office

    PetSmart2019-10-14

    PetSmart Response

    October 14, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! We think our culture is incredibly unique at PetSmart, and I'm so happy that was your experience, as well. Your feedback is both appreciated and noted. Thank you for all the work you did to help make pets happy and healthy!

  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Good team and lots of opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Can be very fast paced and busy

    PetSmart2019-10-10

    PetSmart Response

    October 11, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience! It's wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your time at PetSmart, we hope that's always the case. Thanks again for taking the time!

  4. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pet Care Specialist 

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    PetSmart has great pay and training.

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed and hours can vary.

    PetSmart2019-10-10

    PetSmart Response

    October 11, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoy working at PetSmart. Thanks for all that you do for the love of pets and for taking the time to share your experience!

  5. "Love Pets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Leader in Beaufort, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People who own pets are great

    Cons

    Hours are Long for Store Leader

    Advice to Management

    Pets make it worth it

    PetSmart2019-10-06

    PetSmart Response

    October 7, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review and for your commitment to providing great care to pets and their pet parents over the years! We think working with animals every day makes PetSmart pretty great, as well. Please know, you can always share feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you, again!

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "PetSmart is a great place to work and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership starting at the top. People care about you as a person. You are allowed to be yourself. The work is challenging and rewarding. If you want to have a career, you can do so at PetSmart. Lots of fun activities for celebrations, product launches, etc. Pets and more pets!

    Cons

    There are still a few senior leaders who need to leave in order to get new ideas into the stores. Pay for some positions still needs to be increased.

    Advice to Management

    I love the direction the company has been going since we got our new CEO. Get rid of leaders who can't be innovative! Keep working to make PetSmart a great place to work. Equalize the experience for associates across the business. Better in the DC's and Home Office than in the Stores.

    PetSmart2019-09-28

    PetSmart Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    It's great to hear you've been enjoying your time at PetSmart for a number of years! Thank you for all that you do for pets and pet parents. We appreciate and note your feedback. Definitely feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to speak further. Thanks for taking the time!

    Show Less
  7. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and our team was close knit. Friendly and upbeat working environment. The company gives back to the community through charities and facilitating adoptions. Offers seasonal positions, great for students in between semesters.

    Cons

    Not many cons. Working with cute animals makes the day go faster.

    PetSmart2019-09-30

    PetSmart Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! We think our culture is incredibly unique at PetSmart and are proud of the work we do for the community, pets, and pet parents. I'm so happy that it's been your experience, as well. Thank you for all you do to help make pets happy and healthy!

  8. "Fun but not long-term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Associate 

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Obviously the animals, it definitely can be fun when you get to pet dogs and handle snakes and stuff and help people set up their home aquariums

    Cons

    Low wages, ridiculous corporate rules, very low discount comparatively to other competition companies, basically no room for advancement beyond "lead", zero full time options

    Advice to Management

    Offer full time associate positions. Pay people better. Have upward mobility. Don't treat your employees like garbage.

    PetSmart2019-10-14

    PetSmart Response

    October 14, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review and share your experience! We think working with animals every day makes PetSmart pretty great too. We note and appreciate your feedback. Please know, you can always share your feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 as well. Thanks again for taking the time.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Run. Run fast."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Actually grooming dogs and interacting with them and my clients and coworkers are great! I love what I do! benefits are decent. Paid time off.

    Cons

    Poor management. Treated like dirt. No appreciation from managers or corporate. Discounts taken from commissions. No significant pay increase in 14 years. If you try to get corporate involved in an issue, nothing is done, and you become a target of management. Budget doesnt allow for supplies needed to perform job. Hours cut to part time when it's slow. It's become so stressful to work for this company its just... not worth it anymore. I used to love my job. Now I HATE IT.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you take care of your employees, they will take care of your customers. Show you care. Hold managers accountable to do their jobs. Take safety concerns seriously. Quit micromanaging and making new policies when you dont enforce the ones already in place. Be PROACTIVE not reactive.

    PetSmart2019-10-12

    PetSmart Response

    October 14, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    We're very sorry to hear that you are not enjoying your time at PetSmart and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We'd love to understand more, as the safety of our pets is our #1 priority and we are fully committed to our associates across the organization. If you wouldn't mind, please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so that we can discuss it further. Thank you, again.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Love everything about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My managers, coworkers, and even customers are great and make the job well worth it! I also get paid well and get to learn A LOT of things about products and animals that I didn’t know before. Everyone is very nice and cares about you and helping you succeed if you put in the effort. You also get basic vacation time even as a part time employee and the company offers a lot of other benefits even at the part time... level.

    Show More

    Cons

    Usually part time workers only get around 20 hours but sometimes more. I would say the main con is how much the hours fluctuate.

    PetSmart2019-08-22

    PetSmart Response

    August 26, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for the review! That's great to hear how much you enjoy some of the PetSmart perks and benefits. We agree with you - our fellow associates and customers are wonderful. That shared love and passion for pets is a powerful bond that connects us all. Thank you, again, for sharing your experience.

    Show Less
Found 4497 reviews