Pinterest Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Pinterest Reviews

Updated 5 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Pinterest CEO Ben Silbermann
Ben Silbermann
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is very respected--my team management pushes us to take at least four weeks a year off(in 37 reviews)

  • "Nice office, great location, free food(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's grown quickly in the past few years, and growing pains are inevitable(in 17 reviews)

  • "The company is growing now and isn't as small as it was during my internship(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing product, kind and professional people. Strong leadership. Open communication and culture. Knit con and other employee focused growth events. Really care about creating a diverse workforce.

    Cons

    Still a lot of work ahead!

    Pinterest2020-02-06
  2. "Overall good engineer opportunities and great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time

    Pros

    People are nice while not afraid to give constructive suggestions

    Cons

    Low 401k match so far

    Pinterest2020-02-04

    Pinterest Response

    February 5, 2020People Team

    Thanks for leaving your review! This is great feedback on the engineering department and culture, and I'm pleased you're enjoying your challenging work and finding your team supportive (and "caring with candor")! As this is the first year we've implemented the 401K match, we're starting conservatively but we're pleased to start at all and excited for the future. Jom, CHRO

    Continue reading
  3. "*Best job I've ever had*"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Account Manager in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time

    Pros

    Salary, Worklife balance, Feeling of accomplishment

    Cons

    The SMB team is often neglected in terms of maintaining the "Pinterest" culture.

    Pinterest2020-01-28

    Pinterest Response

    February 5, 2020People Team

    Thank you for your words, I'm glad to hear you're enjoying life at Pinterest so much! I hope you continue to feel accomplished in your work, especially as we tackle our ambitious 202 0 roadmap. I hear you on the feeling of neglect as well, and will look into this further. Jo, CHRO

    Continue reading
  4. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Sales Consultant in Oroville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pinterest part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Accommodating scheduling Cares about employees Perfect for college students

    Cons

    Might not be enough hours

    Pinterest2020-01-14
  5. "pro/con"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, great culture, stepping stone to better options

    Cons

    Low base pase, third party sourced

    Pinterest2020-01-09
  6. "Great company with a great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Leadership truly cares about their employees and is approachable - Employees are helpful, supportive and kind - Everyone lives and breathes the mission - High ethical standards and great company culture - Awesome benefits

    Cons

    - Sometimes too many people are involved in a decision making process which can slow things down. - Pay can be at the lower end compared to other tech companies

    Pinterest2019-12-31

    Pinterest Response

    January 7, 2020People Team

    Happy new year and thank you for this feedback! Pinterest is unique in the value we place on our mission and work we do to move it forward. Your thoughts on ownership are heard as well and we're working to simplify decision-making in 2020. Thanks for your hard work at Pinterest! Jo, CHRO

    Continue reading
  7. "Valuing Impact & Creativity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Sourcer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my time at Pinterest, I've grown tremendously through the support of my team. I've been given the chance to work on high impact, challenging problems, and can see the direct throughline of my output to the company's mission. My time at Pinterest has flown by, mainly because of the great and challenging work, the great coworkers, and a product I personally use and can stand behind.

    Cons

    Decisions are sometimes made without transparency, or take a long time, which sometimes means IC's have to scramble to hit goals. But we're focusing on making decisions quicker and I think we're on the right track.

    Pinterest2019-12-05

    Pinterest Response

    January 7, 2020People Team

    Thank you for this thoughtful feedback! I'm glad to hear about the growth you've experienced and opportunities you've had at Pinterest. I hear your feedback about decisions as well, thanks for bringing this to our attention - we'll work on it. Jo, CHRO

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place but lots of cracks with managers and the People team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment, decent perks, good work/life balance

    Cons

    It's challenging to manage at Pinterest. There is constant change on the people team where new processes, definitions, roles, projects are constantly being pushed down the manager's throats without much explanation to why the change is better. The perf cycle changes this time around is yet another change we have to deliver as managers and manage unnecessary turnover The People team have not developed effective manager trainings to really build this capability at the company and as a result, there are poorly trained, underqualified leaders running many critical teams.

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2019-12-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Function in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good Culture: one of the 'friendliest' companies I've ever worked for. People also truly almost always try to do the right thing and put our users aka 'Pinners' first - Manager: I'm lucky enough to work with a solid manager who's shown to have my best interests at heart. Has lobbied for me during promo time and built a good trust and working dynamic - Work Life Balance: you won't get totally crushed, all the time. People step up when needed, but otherwise working weekends is minimal, people respect vacations and minimal email responses required at night - Comp: very satisfied with my compensation. Have turned down other strong offers given they can't match what Pinterest is currently offering me

    Cons

    - Pace/Execution: 'Niceness' has a flip side and means often people don't take large risks or execute fast enough. Our product roadmap hasn't dramatically changed in many years. This means we won't likely bend our growth curve anytime soon, but also means we probably won't run into Facebook-esque scandals

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2019-11-11

    Pinterest Response

    December 10, 2019People Team

    It's lovely to hear that you're having a great experience at Pinterest! Thanks for this honest and constructive review, I appreciate your candor. We have big plans for the next year to make the positives even better and address some cons, and I think everyone will be pleased with the work. Have a great holiday! Jo, CHRO

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compelling culture and product. Great colleagues made it worth coming to work.

    Cons

    Hyper-growth creates the problems hyper-growth creates.

    Pinterest2019-11-11

    Pinterest Response

    November 15, 2019People Team

    I'm glad to hear that you had such a positive experience at Pinterest! Personally, I agree that our colleagues, culture, and product make Pinterest a unique place to work. I've noted your feedback about hyper-growth issues, our teams are aware and are striving to smooth out any bumps. Best of luck in your future! Jo, CHRO

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 258 reviews