Proact Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Proact Reviews

Updated 12 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Proact CEO  Jonas Hasselberg (no image)
Jonas Hasselberg
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work, fantastic colleagues that always back you up(in 7 reviews)

  • "Management appreciate hard work(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sales team has halved over past 3 years and several long term high achievers have left(in 4 reviews)

  • "The company definitely work on a hire and fIre basis so beware(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Consultant 

    I worked at Proact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time working at Proact, it provided incredible opportunities for career progression through both formal training and hands on technical projects.

    Cons

    There was a fair amount of travel associated with my particular position however I was fully aware of this going into the role.

    Proact2019-08-12

    Proact Response

    August 16, 2019HR Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased to hear that you value our formal training initiatives and the opportunities for career progression. We appreciate all feedback, and use this to ensure we are continually reviewing and improving the business. To this end, if you would like to provide us with any further feedback, please email hr@proact.co.uk

    Show Less
  2. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Proact full-time

    Pros

    Good technology based company to learn

    Cons

    Bad management, they don't listen

    Proact2019-07-24

    Proact Response

    July 26, 2019HR Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback, and use this to ensure we are continually reviewing and improving the business. To this end, if you would like to provide us with more specific feedback about where you think we can improve further, please either email hr@proact.co.uk, or speak to your line manager or one of the members of the management team.

    Show Less
  3. "A forward thinking employer with people at the heart of their business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bid and Framework Manager in Chesterfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proact full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Within my first few months I have noticed that there is a distinct priority in ensuring people are placed at the heart of the business. From the outset there is a clear onboarding process which ensures you are in good fettle for the future. Everyone is extremely helpful and has been supportive of new processes as this is a brand new role. The values are embedded within the business which is something I find... important and is intrinsic to our customer service.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are still important changes happening which can be difficult to adapt to if you're a long-standing employee. However, as someone relatively new I am excited to see those changes occur.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to look forward and drive the new changes.

    Proact2019-06-25

    Proact Response

    July 2, 2019HR Officer

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and we’re so pleased that your time within the business thus far has been a positive, welcoming and supportive experience. We’re particularly glad that you feel Proact puts its people at the heart of the business, and that our values are embedded within our staff culture, as this is something that we have been striving towards and promoting during the last few years of significant change. We are certainly continuing to drive through considerable change within the business over the next few months and years, in-line with our vision and strategy for the future, and we will continue to involve all our staff in this process and take feedback and suggestions at every juncture. Any further feedback or suggestions you have are really welcomed, and can be sent to hr@proact.co.uk or provided via our numerous internal communication and feedback mechanisms. Welcome to the Proact Team!

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not a place I'd recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in Chesterfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Proact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has lots of experience and is good at selling NetApp

    Cons

    The UK business is falling behind our competitors really quickly, we have no clear strategy and are now struggling to add value to our customers. This is why people are leaving fast. It's a really hard place to recommend just because the senior leadership do not listen and just focus on cutting costs and issuing KPI's that are impossible to meet. The UK MD is probably not the right person to lead the business as... he will not meet customers It used to be fun as we were really seen as thought leaders, nowadays it's just about making as much money as we can from reselling hardware. There is little point escalating issues as they are not listened to (despite HR promises) and the people in the company have lost faith in the leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace the middle and senior management and focus on delivering value in new areas. You cannot cut costs to the bone and deliver growth. Recent publicly issued results show that our strategy is failing fast and that we are losing market share

    Proact2019-07-29

    Proact Response

    August 7, 2019HR Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback, and use this to ensure we are continually reviewing and improving the business. To this end, if you would like to provide us with more specific feedback about where you think we can improve further, please either email hr@proact.co.uk

    Show Less
  5. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Culture, the people, supportive HR and management team, my hours, benefits and opportunities to further my skill set

    Cons

    None to be honest, my experience has been very positive

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Proact2019-06-19

    Proact Response

    July 2, 2019HR Officer

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Your positive comments about our culture, benefits and opportunity for staff development motivate us to continue with our work in nurturing these areas for our staff. Any further feedback or suggestions you have are really welcomed, and can be sent to hr@proact.co.uk or provided via our numerous internal communication and feedback mechanisms.

    Show Less
  6. "I Have only been with Proact for 3 weeks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Booking Clerk in Chesterfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proact full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good People, Good Pension Scheme, The use of company mobile and laptop, Good Holiday, Proact Point System.

    Cons

    I can't think of any!

    Advice to Management

    The Management Team have made me feel so welcome in my first three weeks at Proact, They have been so welcoming and helpful with everything.

    Proact2019-06-20

    Proact Response

    July 2, 2019HR Officer

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re so glad that your first few weeks at Proact have been enjoyable and informative, and that our team have made you feel so welcome. Any further feedback or suggestions you have are really welcomed, and can be sent to hr@proact.co.uk or provided via our numerous internal communication and feedback mechanisms. Welcome to the Proact Team!

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Going backwards, no leadership, no strategy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Proact

    Pros

    Flexible locations to work Established salesforce process

    Cons

    Commission structure - confusing and consistently there to penalise sales earnings Marketing - none existent Processes - too lengthy and complicated Management - travel first class, meet in swanky locations. No knowledge of customers. No strategy. Useless Leadership - non existent Training - no chance Culture - disappeared

    Advice to Management

    Change it.

    Proact2019-07-11

    Proact Response

    July 17, 2019HR Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments, and we’re pleased that you value our flexible working opportunities and established sales processes. We appreciate all feedback, and use this to ensure we are continually reviewing and improving the business. To this end, if you would like to provide us with more specific feedback about where you think we can improve further, please email hr@proact.co.uk

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be fun but not any longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement in Chesterfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Proact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits but that's about it

    Cons

    The atmosphere is terrible in the Chesterfield office where I work and nearly everyone is thinking of leaving. We get nearly no training or support and just get blamed for every mistake made by the sales people. Bonuses disappeared a long time ago and it's not a happy place any more. The pressure on the support teams is huge and there is a general fear culture coming right from the top. Don't join if you... want to have a fun working environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please change the senior management, you are dragging us down and ruining what used to be a great company to work for. I know HR and senior management should work together closely but you've taken it too far for most staff

    Proact2019-06-28

    Proact Response

    July 2, 2019HR Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments, and we’re pleased that you value our improved healthcare benefit, which is provided to all our staff. As a current employee in our Chesterfield office, you will be aware of the exciting new office refurbishment that will be starting within the next few weeks, which is the final phase of our extensive programme of facilities upgrade across all our 5 UK office locations. As you know, we have consulted all our Chesterfield-based staff about this refurbishment, and taken your feedback on board in view of the positive changes we would like to facilitate within that location. We would also encourage you to utilise your 1:2:1 and review time with your line manager to raise any training and development requirements, as we are committed to continued staff development across the organisation. We appreciate all feedback, and use this to ensure we are continually reviewing and improving the business, hence our efforts over the last few years to increase the methods of 2-way communication whereby you as valued staff members can provide us with your feedback and suggestions for continued improvement. To this end, if you would like to provide us with more specific feedback about where you think we can improve further, please either email hr@proact.co.uk, or speak to your line manager or one of the members of the management team.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (1)

    "High turnover, Poor mid management, changing culture without engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Occasional social events but those are dwindling. Decent healthcare benefits scheme and slowly deploying HR system for managing everything from holidays to expenses. Offices have had a make over and the London office is impressive but rarely full as some many staff have left. Starting to focus on services that can be delivered rather than launching new ones.

    Cons

    Bringing in staff from outside the industry (as experienced people won’t accept jobs) on high basics and titles higher than their capability which is upsetting long term staff. Salesforce is king, expect to hear “is it in Salesforce””why haven’t you updated Salesforce since yesterday” and yet management insist on extra excel spreadsheets for more updates. Commission scheme gets more complicated every year (to... screw you over) and decreases earnings. Another term to get used to PBiT.........it’s the entire focus. management travel open first class yet underlings are scrutinised over every expense. Expect multiple internal meetings reviewing performance and “drains up” Witch hunts at a moments notice put into diary. Sales team has halved over past 3 years and several long term high achievers have left.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to experienced staff, stop filling time with reporting and let the sales team sell. Enable rather than hinder.

    Proact2019-06-04

    Proact Response

    June 27, 2019HR Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments, and we're pleased to hear that our benefits, new automation processes and our recent office refurbishment schemes are positives witihin the business. We appreciate all feedback, and use this to ensure we are continually reviewing and improving the business. To this end, if you would like to provide us with more specific feedback about where you think we can improve further, please email hr@proact.co.uk

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A changing company and not for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Chesterfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Proact full-time

    Pros

    There's a lot of skilled people in the organization, mostly on the ServiceDesk. They are quite overworked but good at the old technologies that Proact can support.

    Cons

    As a sales person it is not a good experience any more. The commission scheme makes it hard to make any money and there is little support from above. The senior leadership do not like to listen and are unable to help with customers as they don't understand the new world of IT and don't like meeting people. There's a feeling of doom around the business with the MD not exactly helping to make anyone enjoy their... work There has been a lot of change in personnel over the last year or so, with more than half of the sales team leaving with large numbers of the presales doing the same. The UK senior management are not supportive and the company is going backwards quite quickly. It is not a great place to be as a sales person as you are on your own and marketing contributes not very much

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to your people and stop promoting people based on whos been there the longest. A shake up in senior management is needed ASAP, if you don't the slide backwards will get even worse

    Proact2019-06-20

    Proact Response

    July 2, 2019HR Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments, and we’re pleased that as a colleague you recognise and value the skilled personnel within the business. We appreciate all feedback, and use this to ensure we are continually reviewing and improving the business. To this end, if you would like to provide us with more specific feedback about where you think we can improve further, please email hr@proact.co.uk

    Show Less
Found 78 reviews