Prudential Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Prudential Reviews

Updated 20 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2322 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Charles Lowrey
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor work/life balance most of the time(in 63 reviews)

  • "Remote location from the main office in Newark(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, supportive culture and nice people work here.

    Cons

    Company can sometimes be a bit conservative due to the nature of the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the basics.

    Prudential2019-07-19
  2. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior User Experience Designer in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great company, great people, great benefits, great culture

    Cons

    everyones a vp of something, egos get in the way

    Advice to Management

    empower others to make decisions, versus always making decisions.

    Prudential2019-07-20
  3. "Good pay--sometimes stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Participant Service Representative in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prudential part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Competitive pay + Flexible schedule +Opportunities for advancement (if you want them)

    Cons

    - A lot of bureaucracy and red tape - Stressful callers - Monitor employee call-hold times and quite a bit of importance is placed on achieveing benchmarks.

    Prudential2019-07-17
  4. "A very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training and Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    HR driven. Opportunities to grow. Excellent resources.

    Cons

    Prudential Advisors operates as small silos. The structure can limit growth.

    Advice to Management

    Put a system in place to award funding good talent that might not be a fit in the current location but would be a great asset for the company somewhere else (another business unit).

    Prudential2019-07-13
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forensic Analyst 

    I have been working at Prudential full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very quality management. Good pay and benefits

    Cons

    No cons so far. Hopefully, I will not see any in the future either

    Prudential2019-07-10
  6. "Good company, but politics and favoritism are a problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security in Scranton, PA

    I worked at Prudential full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for with decent benefits.

    Cons

    If you know the right people, you can move forward quickly as favoritism rules in the Retirement business. Politics are difficult to deal with.

    Prudential2019-07-20
  7. "Customer Service Insurance Associate/Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Executive in Mumbai
    Recommends

    I worked at Prudential full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work ethics, employee friendly, good pay, excellent work timings.

    Cons

    None. I was happy to work there.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Prudential2019-07-06
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Marketing Assistant 

      I worked at Prudential full-time

      Pros

      Great internship out of college. Tons of learning and leadership opportunities.

      Cons

      None at this time.

      Prudential2019-07-03

      Prudential Response

      July 8, 2019Event Coordinator

      Thank you for the great review! We’re so glad you were happy with your employment at Prudential.

    • "Pru is ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Associate Manager 

        I have been working at Prudential full-time

        Pros

        Flexible, good work/life balance

        Cons

        HQ in Newark. Cutting costs

        Prudential2019-07-18
      • "Underpay and Sexist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Registered Representative 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Prudential full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Mon-Fri work week. Office setting.

        Cons

        Management is all male and are known as the "Men's Club". As compared to other companies that require the same licenses, they incredibly underpay people and prey on Veterans and their spouses to fill these positions. I took a 55% pay cut because it is in the same field as my degree with a promise of quick promotion based on my years of management experience. Never happened. HR complaints about sexist behavior and...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        A good leader doesn't play favorites and cater to only one gender. You want quality employees who want a career who will remain loyal. Not teachers pets who throw it in others faces and brag about how they can get away with anything. P.S. those employees disrespect you behind your back and are incredibly toxic in a professional environment.

        Prudential2019-07-16
      Found 2322 reviews