Ref-Chem Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Ref-Chem Reviews

Updated 28 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gate Guard in Odessa, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ref-Chem full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, good pay

    Cons

    Location is in the middle of nowhere

    Ref-Chem2019-01-28
  2. "Glassdoor review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ref-Chem full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are above average and co-workers are great

    Cons

    Executive Management needs to work more as a team

    Ref-Chem2018-01-30
  3. "HR Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ref-Chem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, friendly

    Cons

    Company slowed way down, laid off a lot of employees

    Ref-Chem2017-03-31
  4. "not sure what this is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ref-Chem for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good benefits and working conditions

    Cons

    management clicks among older employees

    Advice to Management

    be fair to everyone in the company

    Ref-Chem2017-01-13
  5. "Maintenace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ref-Chem

    Pros

    Learned many useful skills, team-based work, good environment, safety is a major concern

    Cons

    Incompetent co-workers, minimal overtime allowed

    Ref-Chem2016-10-15
  6. "Procurement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Procurement Manager in Pearland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ref-Chem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of low hanging fruit - pertaining to cost savings.

    Cons

    No support from upper management or direct supervision to accomplish goals.

    Advice to Management

    Too much nepotism and not enough transparency.

    Ref-Chem2016-03-22
  7. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pipefitter in Pasadena, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ref-Chem for less than a year

    Pros

    Hard to find in this industry, this company will keep you working. Of course you have to transfer from job to job, but stay steadily employed. They care about thier people, every single month they feed the entire workforce (Catfish& shrimp, BBQ, Brisket, Smoked Sausage) real 3-4 course meals and give us an extra hour for lunch.

    Cons

    Not much of a downside with this outfit, they are one of the few I have worked for in my my 11 years of service to this industry that actually seem to put the employees first.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, you guys are giving hope to a lot of young people, who are trying to grow and prosper in this business! It has been a pleasure to work for you!

    Ref-Chem2016-03-06
  8. "Ref-Chem Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ref-Chem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great family oriented company, good team environment, good positive culture, enjoyable company to work for.

    Cons

    Do not have any at this time.

    Ref-Chem2016-02-04
  9. "Engineering firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant Oct in Houston, TX

    I worked at Ref-Chem for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with and the pay and benefits were wonderful.

    Cons

    They laid me off on 6/16/2015 because of the oil and gas prices.

    Ref-Chem2015-11-24
  10. "Good small company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site HSE Technician/Site HSE Supervisor in Port Charlotte, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ref-Chem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Basically a company that's good to get a start with. The pay is fairly competitive and they try to keep you working. It's not a one job, when it's over you're laid off kinda place.

    Cons

    Hard to get site supervision on board with what needs to be done for a safe working environment.

    Advice to Management

    Start hiring and promoting the right guy for the job and cut out some of the family and prior job ties. Revamp HR and then let them do their job. Hard to have a safe site with people protected by site supervision.

    Ref-Chem2015-10-07
Found 12 reviews