STA Travel Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

STA Travel Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 236 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
STA Travel CEO Ivan Walter (no image)
Ivan Walter
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very positive, friendly work environment(in 19 reviews)

  • "Hard work is recognised in fam trips, incentive trips, flexible working & autonomy(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Illegally low pay (before tax for the hours try(in 19 reviews)

  • "Long hours, pay is fair , unprofessional(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun, young Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome Travel Perks Making great Friends Young Company Talking about travel is exciting. Good Vibes in store

    Cons

    High Stress, below average pay

    STA Travel2018-11-14
  2. "Poor Management and Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not many pros at all

    Cons

    Low pay for the amount of work

    STA Travel2019-09-17
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Travel Expert in Sydney
    Recommends

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture and opportunities for growth within the company. Regular incentives and if you are willing to put in the hard work you can get great rewards

    Cons

    Constant changes within the company e.g. policies, structure of retail levels etc

    STA Travel2019-08-19
  4. "STA Travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Expert in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work environment, enjoyable, exciting work

    Cons

    Sometimes you can’t help if the store isn’t busy and that effects your sales goals

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the readily available training

    STA Travel2019-07-18
  5. "Interesting role, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    diversity in day to day role, lots of professional development, interesting subjects and customers.

    Cons

    unprofessional and corrupted management team, hard sales and deceitful mark up practices are rife.

    Advice to Management

    your online services are great, forget the shops.

    STA Travel2019-05-10
  6. "Fantastic company and workplace culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    Everyone who works here has a strong sense of pride and loyalty to the brand, and genuinely wants to see the business succeed.

    Cons

    Reports in the Global head office in the UK

    STA Travel2019-04-03
  7. "Travel Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    Good commision scheme, great discounts

    Cons

    Unpaid overtime, staying back for customers a lot

    STA Travel2019-04-01
  8. "Travel consulant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    Good culture around the office

    Cons

    Big incentive to rip of clients

    STA Travel2019-03-14
  9. "Travel expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    Talking about travel all the time

    Cons

    not a good career; very stressful

    STA Travel2019-01-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Expert in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at STA Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some* colleagues. I still keep in contact with have become lifelong friends.

    Cons

    - low pay - attitude towards staff is rude if management don’t like you (saw it happen to others) - if they don’t like you they will find an excuse to put you on performance development. I had people in my team that had not been meeting target but never went on performance development but I did. Work that one out? - low key bullying - treated like you’re not a person but totally disposable - not “reasonable”... additional hours I stayed back on a few occasions to get work done as they want you to be thorough. Talking about 11pm and also you’re expected to go to product nights and socials - they tip toe around addressing issues and if you raise any you are treated differently. - The highest you can go in Australia is a team manager, RSM or trainor unless you are in Melbourne. So no real opportunity for career progression - overseas team which make communication harder than it needs to be - “Perk” not worth it at all. I earn a higher salary now and can afford to travel more than at STA Travel even with the commission schemes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Address all issues head on and make it VERY clear that bullying etc WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. There is nothing that enforces this. Compared to the job I have now in it is very regulated and I have had absolutely no problems. Also fix the above.

    STA Travel2019-01-23
Found 236 reviews