STA Travel Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

STA Travel Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 224 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Ivan Walter
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very positive, friendly work environment(in 22 reviews)

  • "Hard work is recognised in fam trips, incentive trips, flexible working & autonomy(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Illegally low pay (before tax for the hours try(in 19 reviews)

  • "Long hours, pay is fair , unprofessional(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic company and workplace culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    Everyone who works here has a strong sense of pride and loyalty to the brand, and genuinely wants to see the business succeed.

    Cons

    Reports in the Global head office in the UK

    STA Travel2019-04-03
  2. "Interesting role, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    diversity in day to day role, lots of professional development, interesting subjects and customers.

    Cons

    unprofessional and corrupted management team, hard sales and deceitful mark up practices are rife.

    Advice to Management

    your online services are great, forget the shops.

    STA Travel2019-05-10
  3. "Travel Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    Good commision scheme, great discounts

    Cons

    Unpaid overtime, staying back for customers a lot

    STA Travel2019-04-01
  4. "Travel consulant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    Good culture around the office

    Cons

    Big incentive to rip of clients

    STA Travel2019-03-14
  5. "Travel expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    Talking about travel all the time

    Cons

    not a good career; very stressful

    STA Travel2019-01-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Expert in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at STA Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some* colleagues. I still keep in contact with have become lifelong friends.

    Cons

    - low pay - attitude towards staff is rude if management don’t like you (saw it happen to others) - if they don’t like you they will find an excuse to put you on performance development. I had people in my team that had not been meeting target but never went on performance development but I did. Work that one out? - low key bullying - treated like you’re not a person but totally disposable - not “reasonable” additional...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Address all issues head on and make it VERY clear that bullying etc WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. There is nothing that enforces this. Compared to the job I have now in it is very regulated and I have had absolutely no problems. Also fix the above.

    STA Travel2019-01-23
  7. "Little pay and no career, waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at STA Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quirky and fun people to work with (not including upper management).

    Cons

    Very low pay for a highly demanding job, having to work overtime constantly with no additional pay, no career development, upper management changing things constantly with no real direction or thought put into it. You will leave the job with no other real career prospects outside of the travel industry.

    STA Travel2019-01-10
  8. "Travel Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Expert in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff members and team, you learn a LOT about travel (super convenient for your own holidays!) and about the world. Very good for quiz nights. Lots of free tours and travel opportunity if you're successful.

    Cons

    Stressful - if you don't make budget you're on minimum wage. This makes it really hard to get by and save. The pay is too low for the training and responsibility you have to carry.

    Advice to Management

    Managers shouldn't have an individual budget if you want them to truly be able to dedicate all of their time to achieving store budget and supporting staff.

    STA Travel2018-12-07
  9. "Fun, young Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STA Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome Travel Perks Making great Friends Young Company Talking about travel is exciting. Good Vibes in store

    Cons

    High Stress, below average pay

    STA Travel2018-11-14
  10. "Don’t waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at STA Travel full-time

    Pros

    Pretty good Travel perks and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Management don’t know what they’re doing. They don’t train staff properly. Very underpaid - even with commission. Don’t advance the proper people.

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff better and spend more effort in the right people.

    STA Travel2018-10-07
Found 224 reviews