Sage Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sage Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1901 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Sage CEO Steve Hare
Steve Hare
230 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and PTO plus many opportunities for learning and career planning(in 115 reviews)

  • "Solid attempt for work-life-balance(in 111 reviews)

Cons
  • "The biggest source of frustration has to be the lack of proactive planning from upper management(in 58 reviews)

  • "Not many, mainly lack of communication from senior management(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Manager in Chatswood
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Culture - Really supportive and Empowering culture Pay Rewards compared to other companies Global opportunity Great leadship

    Cons

    Possible lack of career opportunities - move up in roles Reactive workplace culture.

    Advice to Management

    if we could structure in a way to support career progression and/also to align each department and also really need to element reactive culture and become a proactive culture. Apart from that it is a fantastic place to work and would recommend it to anyone.

    Sage2018-06-05

    Sage Response

    June 6, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review. We're really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us feedback. It is great to hear you are loving the culture of Sage Australia and how we reward you for your hard work. We're doing a lot of work on our career development so keep your eyes ...

    Show More
  2. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time

    Pros

    Great people and community minded organisation

    Cons

    Late to the cloud journey

    Advice to Management

    Focus on what you are good at and invest heavily in those areas

    Sage2019-05-15
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Teams understaffed / no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * dynamic new leadership * great suite of products for small and medium size companies * brand well known worldwide, in particular in the US and Europe

    Cons

    * staff is leaving and not replaced as long as there's no burn out in the rest of the team - some teams are really understaffed, leading team members to work 10 to 12 hours / day + weekends more than exceptionally. Whereas annual salary might be attractive, the salary rate based on hours worked is not motivating at all. * Part-time is less and less granted as team are understaffed. It's either full-time or bye bye. ...

    Show More
    Sage2019-03-04
  4. Helpful (25)

    "Failed to pay bonus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Not a good place to work

    Cons

    Sage failed to pay previous year's bonus to employees who resigned in the current financial year (worked for 3 months in the new financial year).

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating employees like liabilities

    Sage2018-12-27
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Seeking Direction and Clarity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team, that are committed and hard working Amazing opportunities for their products in the market

    Cons

    Global leadership and vision is not consistent in execution

    Advice to Management

    Focus on building the business in the mid-long term, not quarter to quarter

    Sage2018-09-20
  6. Helpful (24)

    "Mercenary company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time

    Pros

    Beats begging on the street

    Cons

    Too obsessed with the almighty dollar

    Advice to Management

    Develop some humanity

    Sage2018-08-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Life at Sage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Sage has a vibrant and high performance culture. It offers work life balance to employees giving them flexibility to plan their day, improving efficiency to deliver on agreed outcomes. Sage Management is changing and bringing in bright ideas and execution to take Sage to the next level whilst creating exciting job opportunities.

    Cons

    Sage has been around for over 36 years now. This brings with it a combination of old and new approach, making work challenging and exciting at the same time. Sage is growing and making bold changes to bring agility to the business and it is very visible. This means more opportunities to take the front seat with Sage on the journey towards a Cloud Business portfolio.

    Advice to Management

    Change is not easy, but you're doing a great job driving it to take Sage to where it belongs, No. 1 ERP, Payroll and Accounting solution.

    Sage2018-07-23

    Sage Response

    July 31, 2018Channel Campaign Manager, Talent Acquisition Team

    Thanks for your feedback. It's great to hear you achieve a positive work life balance. You're right, change is never easy, but the only constant in today's world appears to be change! Thanks again and keep loving #LifeatSage

  8. "Good flexible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Chatswood
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good culture with the very good leadership team

    Cons

    Fewer team events and company events

    Advice to Management

    The management has to host some events to increase team bonding.

    Sage2018-07-20

    Sage Response

    July 31, 2018Channel Campaign Manager, Talent Acquisition Team

    Thank you for reviewing Sage. It's great you love our culture and find us flexible. Yes, we have missed the Summer parties, but we hope to re-introduce the events soon.

  9. "Challenging and rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The company is going through transformation and works close with global teams on strategy and new solutions. Big breadth of solutions across many different markets and industries. Great people to work with and lots of collaboration.

    Cons

    Change and transformation is happening fast - in a good way! Just means long hours for now..

    Advice to Management

    While there is plenty of drive to deliver the new strategies and changes, make sure to continuously check up on how your teams and colleagues are going and coping. The activities around well being are great, keep it up!

    Sage2018-04-03

    Sage Response

    April 11, 2018Chief People Officer

    Great to hear from you and thanks for your feedback. Really love hearing that you believe in our products and the transformation we're going through. You're right that it is so important that we continue to get feedback from our people on how we're doing so look out for some new ways ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting, engaging, high performance culture that's making huge strides in the ANZ market."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The BEST people in the industry. If you get hired at Sage, you are considered a top performer in the market. Very friendly, you generally spend more time with colleagues than family and the people at Sage are GREAT! You'll be happy to come into work. BIG achievements being done locally as well as globally. Senior management focused on making Sage a great place to work at. Whistle-blower program works: Bad bullying...

    Show More

    Cons

    It's busy, but busy good. Lots on and not enough hours in the day to get it done, you will potentially feel time poor with long hours and late nights. Still going through massive change towards becoming a true global company. Australia is a small region in the global economy: company hesitant to make the necessary investments in local high growth areas.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. Recognise the teams who are doing the hard work behind the scenes and acknowledge their efforts: Sale operations and Finance, our hero's in getting business done! Continue to have a policy of zero tolerance for bad management: purge those who aren't on board and making Sage a great place to work and for partners to engage with.

    Sage2018-03-30
Found 1901 reviews