Sanger Institute Reviews

Updated 5 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Sanger Institute Director, Wellcome Sanger Institute Mike Stratton (no image)
Mike Stratton
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Top tier research"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Student in London, England

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic opportunity to develop personally and professionally

    Cons

    I could not provide any based on my time there

    Sanger Institute2020-05-05

    Sanger Institute Response

    May 21, 2020Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback. Best regards, Sophie

  2. "Overall good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Staff Scientist in Cambridge, England

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, great campus, good work life balance

    Cons

    On occasion questionable scientific prorities

    Sanger Institute2020-04-08

    Sanger Institute Response

    May 21, 2020Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated! Regards, Sophie

  3. "Great place to work... although some senior staff need to work on their management skills"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Hinxton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Beautiful grounds, Meaningful work, On-site creche & small gym, Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Some senior members of staff are out of touch with how to motivate their staff and are poor at giving meaningful and helpful feedback

    Continue reading
    Sanger Institute2020-02-07

    Sanger Institute Response

    May 22, 2020Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Hello, I appreciate the time you've taken to provide feedback to us. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with management whilst working at Sanger Institute. I will pass on your comments onto our HR team. Best regards, Sophie

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Learned a lot but not valued enough"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    I work in a great lab with the opportunity to help different researchers so I can ask for more work doing what I enjoy or learn some completely new skills alongside another assistant working in their lab if I have the time.

    Cons

    I don't feel valued enough to stay here. They do not take into account previous experience so expect to start at the bottom of the pay scale as they do not negotiate. I have been given the excuse that this is a charity several times. Yet project managers paid very well. Senior management submit performance reviews when they are unaware of an individual's daily work, time commitments and efforts.

    Sanger Institute2020-01-26

    Sanger Institute Response

    January 27, 2020Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are not feeling valued and feel like your work hasn't been recognised. Have you reached out to Technician Commitment team? We signed up to this commitment to ensure visibility, recognition, career development and sustainability for technicians. The team will be able to provide some advise in terms of career opportunities or further training. I would also recommend speaking to your Employee Partner. Please speak up, you will be listened to. Wishing you all the best Sophie

  5. "Postdoctoral fellow"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sanger Institute

    Pros

    Good facilities and resources Excellent scientific community

    Cons

    Could do better to improve professional development for staff Not clear on promotion opportunities Not great salary packages for postdocs

    Sanger Institute2020-02-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A place for those early in their career (Postdoc etc)."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Interesting science at scale, free bus from Cambridge and train station, salaries are better than University, but can easily be beaten by surrounding companies & institutes (EBI). Depending on department, can be fairly relaxed.

    Cons

    They tell you, you are at Sanger for the science, everything else like salaries, acknowledgment, career progression, go somewhere else. They are trying to change their ways (technician commitment is a UK wide campaign that just started at Sanger and doesn't have any real value for existing employees, maybe now improved?). Salaries are capped, meaning there is only X amount to give out, if everyone performs exceptionally well, unfortunately not everyone will be rewarded at the same level. Career progression doesn't exist, but most academic organizations follow the same system. Recently, Sanger has been hit by scandals, from bullying to misuse of african data all reported by the media. Everyone has an opinion whether its true or not, but even having a hint of this type of toxic environment in the public realm is not a good look.

    Continue reading
    Sanger Institute2020-01-30
  7. "Stem cell, neuroscience and genetic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge research, world leader in genetic

    Cons

    The campus is isolated from town

    Sanger Institute2020-01-09

    Sanger Institute Response

    January 23, 2020Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thanks for the feedback! Best Regards Sophie

  8. "Not what it used to be"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Campus is green. Lots of parking spaces.

    Cons

    Low salary, toxic environment, disgraceful top level management

    Continue reading
    Sanger Institute2020-02-15
  9. "Welcoming atmosphere"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free bus State of the art labs Core facilities

    Cons

    Isolated location Limited lunch options Gym very cheap but very small

    Sanger Institute2019-11-23

    Sanger Institute Response

    December 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    We really appreciate the feedback you have provided. We are so lucky to have an infrastructure at Sanger Institute that allows us to achieve a world leading genomics research centre. Best Regards, Sophie

  10. "Great place to develop as a scientist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Research Assistant in Hinxton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, great resources, great campus

    Cons

    Controlled salaries, slow moving sometimes

    Sanger Institute2019-11-19

    Sanger Institute Response

    December 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback. As an ARA, I hope you are taking full advantage our of Technician Commitment initiative to help with your career progression. Best Regards, Sophie

Found 102 reviews