Sanger Institute Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sanger Institute Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Mike Stratton
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Its a very beautiful campus with great benefits(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lmited opportunities for career progression for staff and low number of independent fellowships for non-faculty members(in 5 reviews)

  • "far away from cambridge city centre (30 mins bus, free shuttle)(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent facilities, lovely campus, well organised

    Cons

    The salary is not great

    Sanger Institute2019-08-20
  2. "Best genomics centre in Europe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Expertise everywhere so you will grow fast scientifically. Gender equality. Support for mothers

    Cons

    Salary is competitive but still lower than industry

    Sanger Institute2019-07-14
  3. "Awful place to work dominated by the worst management structure I have seen."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice grounds and access to good refreshments/food.

    Cons

    Appalling HR section, a very crafty Director and a disturbing atmosphere to work in. Witnessed some serious acts of bulling by Senior members of staff. Several staff have been forced to move on by signing NDA's.

    Advice to Management

    Review the appointment of the Director (GET RID OF HIM!)

    Sanger Institute2019-06-19
  4. "Advance Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice international environment, nice surrounding nature

    Cons

    Need to use transports to get to Sanger, far from everywhere

    Advice to Management

    More opportunities to grow

    Sanger Institute2019-05-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "PhD student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic institute for genomics research. There is no other place for genomics research within Europe.

    Cons

    I cannot think of concentrate negative points about the Wellcome Sanger Institute except that the Sanger Institute is quite distant from Cambridge.

    Sanger Institute2019-04-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bioinformatician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Good research environment Strong computational facility

    Cons

    Not a lot of wet lab research

    Sanger Institute2019-02-25
  7. "Excellent scientific support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sanger Institute

    Pros

    I worked at Sanger for three months as a scientific intern. It was an excellent opportunity for starting research.

    Cons

    - The campus is in an isolated location and a lot of time is wasted queuing for commuter busses

    Sanger Institute2019-02-14
  8. "PhD Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    -Huge resources, excellent salary and benefits for PhD

    Cons

    -Campus outside of Cambridge so commuting might be an issue to some people

    Sanger Institute2019-01-31
  9. "Relaxed research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    - Very relaxed working environment - Lots of lectures and events to go to during work times

    Cons

    - Can be bureaucratic at times - Non scientific staff can be valued less

    Sanger Institute2019-01-24
  10. "Bioinformatician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Nice Campus Diverse coworkers Cutting-edge research Good support system

    Cons

    The pay is often not competitive - but this is academia.

    Sanger Institute2019-01-11
Found 97 reviews