Selfridges Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Selfridges Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 418 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Selfridges CEO Simon Forster
Simon Forster
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is absolutely fantastic once you pass your 3 month probation (I am still waiting for mine)(in 28 reviews)

  • "There is a very friendly working environment, people from different concessions help each other out(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and lack of autonomy(in 34 reviews)

  • "Management could be more approachable working for the concessions(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Some great experiences, but management more interested in the brand than their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Departmental Manager 

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Participate in many innovative activations; serve a global clientele; great products to sell. Staff discount is a big plus.

    Cons

    Senior management lack empathy and trust of lower level staff. Turnover is high, and staff are treated like minions.

    Advice to Management

    Less hierarchy, more collaboration

    Selfridges2019-06-06

    Selfridges Response

    June 12, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time leave a review on your current Department Manager role with us. It's brilliant to hear that you're enjoying your time overall including getting involved in activations and working with great brands with a diverse customer base. We are also really glad you're making the most out of the staff discount we offer! We're sorry that in parts you've not had the best time and we'd love to rectify this for you ASAP. It would be great to understand your feedback in a little more detail, including which one of our stores you're working in. With more information, we'll be able to look into your concerns and look to make improvements for you. Feel free to reach out confidentially to glassdoor@selfridges.co.uk and we can have a chat from there. Thanks again and have an amazing week!

    Show Less
  2. "Overall generally good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Office Assistant 

    I have been working at Selfridges part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, benefits, opportunities

    Cons

    like any job, stressful, although flexible hours available this could be better

    Selfridges2019-10-15
  3. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Image Retoucher in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Selfridges full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount Nurturing environment No overtime

    Cons

    Repetitive work Corporate environment (not always good for a creative)

    Selfridges2019-10-14
  4. "First class innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buying in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the best department store in the world that leads with innovation and creativity

    Cons

    lagging in system integration going forward

    Selfridges2019-10-11

    Selfridges Response

    October 14, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on your current role in Buying! Congratulations as well for being with us for over 5 years - this is a fantastic achievement and we hope you continue to enjoy your career with us. We are really glad that you've noted innovation and creativity as two pros for working at Selfridges, as we believe this is something that sets us apart, particularly in the current retail landscape. We hope you feel the experienced is mirrored for team members, especially your department which has seen much change in recent times. In terms of system integration, we'd really love to understand your issues with this in more detail. Please feel free to get in touch with us at glassdoor@selfridges.co.uk. We look to do as much as we can to improve our team member experience, so do make sure that you reach out if you feel this is something we can help change. In the meantime, have an amazing week and thanks again!

    Show Less
  5. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place really and very dynamic

    Cons

    Not great for people who like quire places

    Advice to Management

    None I can think of

    Selfridges2019-10-07

    Selfridges Response

    October 9, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your current role as a Sales Associate here in Oxford Street. We're so glad that you feel as though Selfridges is a great place to be and that there's lots going on all the time - we hope you continue to experience this! In terms of your cons, it's true that a large department store in Central London quite possibly wouldn't be the best place for someone who would prefer a quieter work environment, however, there are things we do and have done, such as Quiet Hours and other initiatives that aim to make the store more inclusive. We'd really love to hear your ideas for what we can do further to improve the experience inside the store for both our Team Members and our customers! Feel free to get in touch anonymously on glassdoor@selfridges.co.uk. In the meantime, we hope you have an amazing week at work!

    Show Less
  6. "Selfridges temp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Selfridges part-time

    Pros

    They’re Good staff at Selfridges

    Cons

    Controlling Staff especially floor managers

    Selfridges2019-10-16
  7. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount, Meet new people Fast-paced environment Often new offers and exciting events

    Cons

    Don't really get appreciated Have to wait several months before gaining any perks such as a discount

    Selfridges2019-09-20

    Selfridges Response

    September 27, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on your current role with us as a Sales Associate in London! We are really pleased that on the whole you're really enjoying your time here. The fast-pace isn't for everyone but when it is it makes us a really exciting place to be and we are thrilled that you're enjoying the experience. Our teams work hard across the business to make Selfridges a fun place to shop and work - we are more than a shop! We are sad to hear that you don't feel particularly appreciated, particularly to read this as we've just spent the morning celebrating our Extraordinary People in retail! We'd really love to see what we can do to provide a better team member experience for you - you can reach out to us completely confidentially on glassdoor@selfridges.co.uk to voice any concerns or issues you may be having in your role. Once we know more detail we can get to work at rectifying some of these things for you. In the meantime, have an amazing week and thank you again for all your hard work!

    Show Less
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with great people.

    Cons

    Lack of training of products

    Selfridges2019-09-19

    Selfridges Response

    September 23, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on your current role with us as a Sales Associate. We are so glad you enjoy the environment, especially the team atmosphere we foster that makes Selfridges a really special place to work! In terms of training, we have lots of options available to you as a team member! We've got a broad range of training programmes, covering everything from face-to-face workshops, to structured development programmes, handy toolkits and digital courses, as well as support with professional qualifications. Make sure you spend some time looking through MyWorkday to view these. You can also discuss this with your manager who will be able to recommend and advise on what learning and development routes would be best for you! We hope this helps. Have an amazing week and keep up the great work!

    Show Less
  9. "Selfridges proved to be an average place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hourly rate, staff are friendly

    Cons

    Lack of training, Unpleasant managers, lack of structure, bias, unsocial and inconvenient shift patterns

    Selfridges2019-09-24

    Selfridges Response

    October 14, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your previous role in our Birmingham store, we really value all of the feedback we receive and are disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. We put a lot of work into our learning and development offering, with a number of pathways available to retail team members who are looking to further develop in their careers. Not only do we host a number of online resources through Workday, we also offer 1-1 training, group workshops, structured programmes and peer-to-peer mentoring to help our team members achieve their goals (something that is really important to us!) We’d really appreciate a further conversation with you to understand some of your cons in a little more detail. Please feel free to reach out on glassdoor@selfridges.co.uk if you'd like to talk through some of these things further. In the meantime, we wish you all the best for the future and hope to welcome you back in store very soon!

    Show Less
  10. "The best retail job you could ask for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    •In my experience the pay rate is much better than other retail jobs. •Staff discount is absolutely fantastic once you pass your 3 month probation (I am still waiting for mine) •The atmosphere in store is so lively and uplifting, especially in comparison to other retail stores. •The majority of the managers are great. •flexible hours •The colleagues I work with are great and we all get along well which always makes... it easier to work as a team.

    Show More

    Cons

    • I wish you didn’t have to wait 3 months for staff discount. That’s pretty much all I can think of for Cons

    Selfridges2019-09-09

    Selfridges Response

    September 11, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your current role as a Sales Associate with us here in London! We are absolutely thrilled to have received such a positive review and will make sure that we pass this on to the Retail team. We are so glad that you find the pay to be good and that you feel positive about the benefits we have to offer. We have a really amazing team on the shopfloor and its reviews like this where it really shows that all the work that is being done by our retail team behind the scenes is making a huge difference. We particularly love that you feel uplifted coming to work, thank you so much for sharing this. We've taken on board your mention of waiting 3 months to receive your staff discount and appreciate the feedback. We take it all very seriously and we are always looking for ways to improve our offering. Thank you again and we hope you have the best week!

    Show Less
Found 418 reviews