Sharp HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sharp HealthCare Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 463 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Organized system, well established, good benefits(in 30 reviews)

  • "great benefits, good work life balance, overall good experience(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lower pay than other San Diego hospitals(in 19 reviews)

  • "upper management can be out of touch with staff(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company tries to be the best

    Cons

    Pay should be more competitive with Kaiser or UCSD

    Advice to Management

    They should try to offer leadership classes at least the basic to some staff not just the managers , we grow when we learn , it seems they only train the managers

    Sharp HealthCare2019-07-20
  2. "Wonderful career family and supporting employer's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Back Desk Radiology Clerk in La Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible hours, career growth available

    Cons

    Management errors, corporate oversight, judging

    Advice to Management

    Always care for your employees as you do your patients..seeing indiviualiusm and respectfully caring

    Sharp HealthCare2019-07-09
  3. "Phlebotomists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cerified Phlebotomist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Sharp has great health benefits and good pay.

    Cons

    I didn’t get acknowledged for my hard work like I should have.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-07-05
  4. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Processor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and lots of employee activity to promote healthy decisions

    Cons

    It's only in San Diego

    Sharp HealthCare2019-06-30
  5. "Depends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and plenty of room to learn within your job. Have enjoyed the work so far, and I feel like I’ve been working with a team of good people. Great pay, PTO, and benefits.

    Cons

    Other than that, management can be awful. Your management will determine your overall work environment. Sucks dealing with awful higher ups when the pay and benefits are so good. Been trying to get what I deserve based off my experience and education. But I’m constantly getting low-balled, so management can remain within budget and get their bonuses, or w/e I’ve heard. Actively looking for a better place to work in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Worry more about giving your employees what they need to succeed in the workplace and their personal lives. Stop worrying about money more than your people and start doing what your work is actually for; the patients.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-07-12

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    July 18, 2019Human Resources

    We appreciate your honest review. We strive to provide our employees with an environment that each person feels heard. Hearing the pros and cons of working at Sharp HealthCare helps us improve our processes and make the company a better place to work.

  6. "Per Diem CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 

      I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Per diem differential to offset the lack of health benefits. Recently implemented the ability to accrue sick time. Very flexible scheduling.

      Cons

      Low census in summer months can lead to lots of canceled shifts and small paychecks.

      Sharp HealthCare2019-06-23
    • Helpful (2)

      "Depends on your manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The best health benefits by far Decent PTO accrual Occasional Work From Home depending on manager Possibility for setting your preferred work hours as long as it's 8 hrs Good knowing you're working for the top health care provider in San Diego

      Cons

      Behind the times as far as administrative innovation Almost impossible to get new and creative ideas through A lot of employee turnover in poorly-managed departments Some managers micromanage and have no trust for employees Culture can really lack if you're on the wrong team No cool/fun benefits Most employees are older and are set in their ways A lot of time focused on the wrong thing, wasting time and money that...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Listen to what your employees have to say and trust them. If a whole team is unhappy, you need to really reconsidered the problem. Don't pick upper management over an entire team. There's a reason people are quitting left and right to send a message and get out of here.

      Sharp HealthCare2019-06-14

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      June 18, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for taking time to write such a thorough review. We are disappointed to hear that in less than 1 year you experienced a variety of issues here at Sharp. We appreciate your honest review and will continue to use your feedback to improve the Sharp Experience for our employees ...

      Show More
    • "Best place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Referral Coordinator Supervisor in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Everyone is professional and supportive.

      Cons

      I have no cons I can think of

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing the wonderful job you all do.

      Sharp HealthCare2019-05-22

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      May 24, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time here at Sharp. We appreciate you sharing that you have had a positive experience with us.

    • "Proceed with Caution"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Respiratory Therapist in La Mesa, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Job security, decent benefits, good time off flexability

      Cons

      Empolyee parking is terrible, management is terrible, the care is terrible.. I could go on..

      Advice to Management

      Give it up, let the new blood come in a change the organization in a positive way.

      Sharp HealthCare2019-06-04

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      June 6, 2019Human Resources

      We appreciate your honest review. We strive to provide our employees with an environment that each person feels heard. Hearing the pros and cons of working at Sharp HealthCare helps us improve our processes and make the company a better place to work.

    • "Executive Assistant - Administration"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Assistant - Administration in La Mesa, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people, supportive management, friendly atmosphere.

      Cons

      Work-life balance could use improvement.

      Advice to Management

      More flexible leave policies with a more family oriented environment would be nice to see.

      Sharp HealthCare2019-05-16

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      May 24, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review. We believe work-life balance is important to recharge and take advantage of our great PTO policy as a great resource.

    Found 463 reviews