Snap Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Snap Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 211 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Snap CEO Evan Spiegel
Evan Spiegel
143 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food with option to dine out at restaurants(in 38 reviews)

  • "Headlines aside, there are only a few apps in the world that touch as many people per day as Snapchat(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance; a ton of OT(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company will not be successful long-term with Evan Spiegel at the helm(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Snap

    Pros

    Generous benefits, decent pay, nice people

    Cons

    Basket case Company, no communication, crappy product. Stupid practices like council. Council is a stupid ritual where grown adult employees are expected to sit around a circle like an AA meeting and are asked to “describe a recent time where they experienced kindness or when they felt belonging in a community or some other hippy question (puke). Or getting together and doing finger painting! Yes you heard that... right, finger painting. They try to be fun and hip but it is so disingenuous, degrading and embarrassing to be involved in these grade school activities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sooner or later, that pot of money that you waste on flash conferences and unnecessary business trips will run out. Ask yourselves whether you deserve the investment that the shareholders have put in to our business, as you are peeing it away

    Snap2019-08-16
  2. "Incredible yet draining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Snap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent and super creative product that makes a unique impact

    Cons

    Toxic culture, insecurity, lack of transparency and communication

    Advice to Management

    Bring on board mature leaders who care for people, especially more female executives and female leadership

    Snap2019-09-20
  3. "The company everyone else is copying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Most innovative consumer internet company in the world - Values led - Privacy focused - Smart people - Make a big impact on the world

    Cons

    - Free breakfast ends at 9am

    Advice to Management

    Sue Facebook for copying everything

    Snap2019-09-20
  4. "Positive culture and company. Excellent benefits and mission driven."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart workforce, inclusive culture, benefits

    Cons

    West LA campus is not easily accessible from East LA

    Snap2019-09-19
  5. "Great place, continues to be work-in-progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding team, rapidly developing product, positive culture, focus on innovation

    Cons

    At times chaotic, gets tiring facing external negativity + speculation

    Snap2019-09-10
  6. "Great place to make an impact in a fast-paced workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great mid-sized company to work for, with a highly scaled app and a very fun culture. The impact a good engineer can have on the company's bottom line is astonishing compared to larger firms. The company's rough post IPO years are over now, and things are back on the right track.

    Cons

    The fast pace of work may not be for everyone. The technology is less mature than at larger companies.

    Snap2019-08-24
  7. "A fun and innovative company with many opportunities to make a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have really enjoyed my time at Snap. Ever since my first day, I have felt welcomed and have been given an opportunity to contribute in a meaningful way. The people I work with care about each other and are willing to help out wherever there is a need. The energy of working at an innovative company is invigorating and exciting. Every day welcomes a new challenge and provides opportunities to be creative to... solve problems.

    Show More

    Cons

    The fast paced and ambiguous nature of working here can be daunting at first, but after experiencing it, I wouldn't want it any other way.

    Snap2019-08-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Prepare for long hours and surprises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Best compensation package in the LA area. When it comes to engineering, no one pays better - Free benefits (as in for you and your family) and I'm not talking just HMO - OK meals, but hey, they are free - Best vesting schedule with no cliff ... for newer employees - Creative and smart engineers - Hard working team

    Cons

    - As mentioned in the title, prepare to put in long hours. If you are not working overtime, you are probably not in engineering or you are a legacy employee just waiting to fully vest - Communication between teams (and even within teams) needs improvement - Sink or swim mentality - Not a great place for work/life balance (unless you are single or family comes second to you) - Competition is high. People seem... to try to hard to vie for attention. - When stuff breaks, there are no good processes in place. As a result, people usually work in reactionary mode. - Coffee sucks - Not enough bathrooms (in my building anyway)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Grow a spine and say no sometimes. It feels like they all operate as "yes" people without really thinking long term - Listen to employees, establish processes and enforce them - Have more family-oriented events - Be respectful of people's weekends. When we work extra to get stuff done, it would be nice to get acknowledged for it. - Give engineers time to invest and learn new things. Due to the heavy load,... you have almost no time to do that.

    Show More
    Snap2019-08-18
  9. "Solid career start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interactive Engineer in Odessa
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - solid salary in context of young not experienced person - young awesome team

    Cons

    - no career grow perspective - conveyer development

    Snap2019-08-20
  10. "Working in Snap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a lot of fun. No pressure. No very heavy workload. No overtime work.

    Cons

    I like some pressure and hopefully Snap can give me some.

    Snap2019-07-27
Found 211 reviews
</>Embed