Snap Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Snap Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 197 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Snap CEO Evan Spiegel
Evan Spiegel
135 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food with option to dine out at restaurants(in 37 reviews)

  • "Headlines aside, there are only a few apps in the world that touch as many people per day as Snapchat(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance; a ton of OT(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company will not be successful long-term with Evan Spiegel at the helm(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing compensation/perks, if you can put up with corporate bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Snap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, comfortable offices, free coffee bar, 3 free meals/day, great medical insurance (OneMedical/Heal app, great support for new/expecting mothers, mental health services, etc.), good work-life balance, amazing parties

    Cons

    Typical corporate bureaucracy/politics, unclear direction from management, little to no growth opportunities, easy to feel under-valued/under-utilized, lack of transparency, lots of lay-offs, expensive cost of living

    Advice to Management

    Re-examine upper management and their qualifications, facilitate more transparent communication, either create more jobs for employees to grow into or be more honest about the lack of growth opportunities

    Snap2019-05-30
  2. "One of the best software eng jobs in LA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Snap full-time

    Pros

    High pay, extremely competent coworkers from top tier schools

    Cons

    Business turbulence and inexperienced management

    Snap2019-06-03
  3. "Beware! toxic culture & dishonest management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Snap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation. Free lunch. That is all.

    Cons

    Culture promises "kindness" but engineers backbite, diversity is abysmal, and leadership lacks the courage to enact positive change. Junior engineers are not respected. Senior engineers are not empowered.

    Advice to Management

    The hay-day is over. Instagram is dominating globally. Get out while you can. Consider selling the company to Google.

    Snap2019-06-17
  4. "good overall, not much else to say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Intern 

      I have been working at Snap full-time

      Pros

      really cool cv related things, amazing research

      Cons

      hard to find fast work sometimes, but reasonable scales

      Snap2019-05-23
    • "Decent Experience With Standard Concerns"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Snap full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Good work environment with good support system.

        Cons

        Confusing company structure and objectives.

        Snap2019-05-20
      • Helpful (2)

        "Good for career growth"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Snap full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        In the past few months, I'm seeing very positive changes in the company's engineering culture. We are becoming more transparent, building a data-driven decision-making culture and are also starting to value more on code quality. Similar to what some Wall St. analysts are saying, I think we are learning to become a more mature company.

        Cons

        I really don't see any.

        Snap2019-04-21
      • Helpful (4)

        "There are great days and there are horrible days"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great benefits (Health/Dental/Vision, Meal Cards) Good product

        Cons

        Weak culture in offices other than the HQ Horrible upper management No clear path for growth Unfair promotion cycles Teams are lead by employees who are considered "OGs" who lack qualifications

        Advice to Management

        Promote people who work hard and actually deserve promotions. Don't just promote people because of their tenure. Its important to value employees or they will leave.

        Snap2019-04-04
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Snap full-time

          Pros

          I enjoyed my time there.

          Cons

          Tough management to deal with there.

          Snap2019-04-09
        • Helpful (3)

          "Great place to work in LA"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Manager in Santa Monica, CA
          Recommends
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          -- I moved to LA from SF to take a job at Snap and honestly dreaded the location. But I learned that LA gets a bad rap in the smaller, colder, pricier SF. Between better weather, broader cultural and social opportunities (not everyone works in tech), and generally more affordable cost of living, I love it and don't imagine I'll move back up. Sure, LA traffic is bad, but that matters much, much less if you live in Santa...

          Show More

          Cons

          -- Morale righly suffered due to layoffs and decline in metrics and share price last year. I think most employees would say that feels behind us. -- History of hiring execs w/ irrelevant background or lacking experience. That said, I think the entire management team has shifted in the past year, w/ more experienced execs now calling shots.

          Advice to Management

          -- Cool to manage for long-term innovation, but keep a close eye on the short-term as well.

          Snap2019-03-26
        • Helpful (3)

          "Company still has a lot of growing up to do"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Snap full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Some good engineering directors and VPs

          Cons

          Company commits to bad ideas and pushes them out regardless of metrics Some really bad managers

          Snap2019-04-11
        Found 197 reviews