Sodexo Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sodexo Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Sodexo CEO Denis Machuel (no image)
Denis Machuel
196 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours when events take place(in 71 reviews)

  • "Tainted mentality of some upper management who see's newcomers as their replacements(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sodexo service attendant review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time

    Pros

    They are great for a foot in the door

    Cons

    They can be short staffed sometimes

    Sodexo2018-09-12
  2. "Big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Service Attendant in Melbourne

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff always look after their team

    Cons

    Staff are not paid well

    Advice to Management

    Look after staff

    Sodexo2019-10-31
  3. "Good Starting Point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver 

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth, consistent work

    Cons

    Lack of training, support and remuneration, high turnover

    Sodexo2019-10-04
  4. "Operation excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time

    Pros

    good place to work and grow skills

    Cons

    communication and clarity of job functions could be better

    Advice to Management

    none

    Sodexo2019-03-30
  5. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo

    Pros

    None - don’t work for them - it’s all a bunch of lies

    Cons

    Work you like pack horses - oh that is except supervisors and management who seem to get away with smoke breaks and chatting all day long then make out to the ones that are actually doing the work that they’ve been flat out and worked hard all day - don’t you realise your staff know what you do !!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Do some bloody work and don’t treat your staff so appallingly

    Sodexo2019-04-16
  6. "Sodexo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    long breaks and vending machines

    Cons

    Too many politics, wrong people in wrong places

    Advice to Management

    Same as cons

    Sodexo2019-02-27
  7. "Chef Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sodexo full-time

    Pros

    Great roster good management, good remuneration.

    Cons

    limited career advancement. Employee Assistance Program very poor. .

    Sodexo2019-02-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo part-time

    Pros

    Some of the people you get to work with are decent.

    Cons

    This company has a HUGE issue with bullying, especially with “team leaders” trying to bully staff members into quitting - there is hardly any support from “management”, you’re on your own once it comes to working here because no one in this company cares about their employees - they also have a huge issue with only hiring or promoting people that know the team leaders or management (friends/family). Very stressful,... judgemental working environment with no training opportunities that aren’t full of judgement and spite. Wouldn’t waste your time working here - find somewhere else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the bullying problem, it’s been reported by various members of staff yet it’s still a huge issue. Horrible environment.

    Sodexo2019-01-05
  9. "Not a nice experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Worker in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My immediate team who were in the same role as me were amazing in every way. I would never have made it to 9 months in the organization without them.

    Cons

    Middle management was appalling, bullying was rife and HR was disinterested to say the least. When I started I was informed that the company had an annual training budget per employee per year, however despite me identifying numerous opportunities over the nine months I was there I received zero training or development opportunities. Sole focus was on reaching targets, regardless of how that was done. There... were times were middle management encouraged dubious and unethical behaviour to ensure targets were reached in order for the company to get a bonus. They claimed to want people who were proactive and think outside the box, but in reality they wanted someone to sit at a desk and tick the box.

    Show More
    Sodexo2018-12-06
  10. "Best of bad bunch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Their site managers seem to be well trained and well equipped to manage their staff. Work same as with the competing companies, they just seem to have a bit more leeway with the time allocated to each task.

    Cons

    Untrained supervisors/head chefs/new site managers, who do not know how to manage a team!

    Advice to Management

    train ALL your people managers better.

    Sodexo2018-11-20
Found 2867 reviews