Softchoice Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Softchoice Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 597 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Softchoice CEO Vince De Palma
Vince De Palma
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "Culture, dogs in office, the people(in 56 reviews)

  • "monthy beer cart and pizza lunch(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no work life balance here(in 33 reviews)

  • "This is a common problem in the Toronto office but is not the case in their other locations(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company for starting in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, dogs to work, great benefits

    Cons

    Base pay kind of low

    Softchoice2019-08-20
  2. "The Sales review for Softchoice ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, the leadership trusts hardworking people and have one to one recognition

    Cons

    Not much to share all is good

    Advice to Management

    Better pay structure would help retain talent

    Softchoice2019-08-20
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, dog friendly, good life - work - balance environment

    Cons

    Lack of documentation, not many career opportunities, discrimination

    Softchoice2019-08-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun people, dogs allowed, awesome training across a ton of technology.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth, tons of vendor meetings, pay not too competitive for Seattle, and you will have to go to Toronto ever January (brrr..) for SKO.

    Advice to Management

    Make SKO virutal, figure out more competitive pay structure and cut out 1/2 of the internal and vendor meetings.

    Softchoice2019-07-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ive worked at softchoice for over 3 years and made some of the best friends of my life. Lots of free events, trips, prizes promos, Easy to get promoted(been promoted 4 times since being here), dont listen to the negative reviews about salaries it is very easy to overachieve your targets and make more money then OTE says.

    Cons

    sometimes a little more freedom in TSD would be helpful!

    Softchoice2019-07-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty Good Company, Management is All Over the Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work, life balance. Lots of fun social activities, being taken out by vendors, etc.

    Cons

    Not a lot of trust between management and employees. I was working from home, stepped away from my computer for 5 minutes and my boss called me and asked where I was and what I was doing. Created a very stressful work environment.

    Softchoice2019-07-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, iffy environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dogs, people, location, culture, volunteer days

    Cons

    mixed messaging, compensation never clear

    Softchoice2019-07-17
  8. "Softchoice Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, dogs in office, the people

    Cons

    High expectations for sales targets, classic "corporate bro" feel in a competitive space. Most important, they tell you that you don't need to have a background in tech, but to sell the product and services you very well need to be knowledgable in the tech field or you will struggle to stay motivated.

    Advice to Management

    More focus in training the new hires about the actual products and technology they will be trying to push for partners like Microsoft, Dell, Lenovo, etc. and not just focusing on sales skills

    Softchoice2019-07-02
  9. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and learning experience. Great place to gain experience.

    Cons

    Pay is below industry average. A lot of micromanagement.

    Softchoice2019-07-01
  10. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training, support and focus

    Cons

    Long hours at quarter end

    Softchoice2019-06-29
Found 597 reviews