Softchoice Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Softchoice Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Softchoice President and CEO Vince De Palma
Vince De Palma
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, dogs to work, great benefits(in 60 reviews)

  • "monthy beer cart and pizza lunch(in 43 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working here.

    Cons

    Well. Unfortunately, it is far from home.

    Softchoice2020-01-18
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, very inclusive.

    Cons

    Salary could be a bit better.

    Softchoice2020-01-13
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work place and good culture

    Cons

    Not a lot of progression

    Softchoice2020-01-09
  4. "Perks but Poor Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young culture with lots of free food and activities.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Expected to work late without compensation and sacrifice all personal obligations for mediocre salary.

    Softchoice2020-01-03
  5. "Highly unprofessional company, poor management, terrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has a beautiful office in Toronto Medical benefits were good

    Cons

    This is a reseller company, with no real expertise attempting to provide service for people who have more knowledge then themselves. The Halifax office itself shocks me it has not been closed, from management - sales it is like the blind is leading the blind You will be forced to be in an office the entire time, attempting to make meetings with people who think your business is a joke in the industry. They prop themselves up with bought awards instead of investing in real people to help design The culture within the business is toxic, people are constantly striving for power and blaming others for their failure They have no intrinsic value, Softchoice just resells IT, they make nothing themselves so it is a middle man job and highly outdated Stay away from this company, I wasted only 8 months here but this is a great place to end your career (prematurely) or life. Luckily I was paid out and joined one of the largest e-commerce companies in the world Their OTE is a complete lie, once I joined my OTE was to be 140K. I was recruited from a high paying job and was top of my game so I wouldn’t leave for less. I asked who was on target and was told everyone The day started my first question to the rest of sales was, who is on target? All laughed and said no one has ever hit target here. Never work here

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2020-01-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Entitled kids fresh out of school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Good benefits Focus on work/life balance Lots of side perks

    Cons

    Lots of young people which can be a double-edged sword. Most think they are not compensated enough and find trivial things to complain about because they have no clue what it's like to work at other places. There is a definite lack of maturity on some teams and a general sense of entitlement. HR coddles them and turns non-concerns into things that seem huge, which reinforces this bad behaviour.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-11-22
  7. "Low pressure place to learn sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn about technology in a relatively welcoming and helpful environment and with limited pressure to perform or hit sales numbers. If you are a good culture fit, your lack of performance or aptitude for your current role will either be ignored, or you'll be shepherded into a different role, doesn't mean that will be a fit either though. Just means you will have the clock reset before you are moved to something different. As mentioned, it is a relatively warm and welcoming environment. If you are a good person and have a good work ethic, you'll be fine. If you are entitled, unintelligent, or lazy, you'll be like the whiny, inexperienced reviews that complain about a "toxic" environment or blame managers for your lack of success. Funny that this website includes spell check, and yet many of the extremely negative reviews still have misspellings. I think that speaks to the intelligence of those reviewers who are going to find the same problem job after job, and continue to blame everyone else for their lack of success. Good benefits package in terms of healthcare. Great work life balance. If you are working more than 40 hours a week, that's your fault for being inefficient.

    Cons

    Pay is is not only low for the industry, but the comp structure can be complicated and downright misleading. OTE calculations do not match what is messaged and when this is brought to leadership's attention they just shrug. While I mentioned that most of the complaints about a "toxic" environment are the result of whiny and entitled brats, there is a measure of favoritism in which certain high levels of leadership often make a snap judgement of a person based on cursory or superficial traits, without getting to know the person or understanding their skill or work ethic. Maybe it's just sales in general, but there are definitely people who are only looking out for themselves and their careers. The company isn't honest with itself around it's programs and initiatives. Win Wires are manipulated, or mostly fabricated in the value that the company provides. The "lucky" wins in which deals are handed to the company by partners are celebrated as proof of the company value, while critical feedback on initiates, programs, or the managed service offerings are utterly ignored. Changes in the market are spun in such a way to make it appear that Softchoice is primed to capitalize on those changes, instead of the strategy being changed to adapt to whatever those changes are. Microsoft is a perfect example of a changing market not being adapted to. The private equity firm that owns Softchoice is very obviously trying to sell the company. Long term strategy is absolutely being sacrificed for short term profitability. I would not be surprised if the company either ceases to exist entirely in the next 5 years due to lack of long term planning, or is unrecognizable in the next 3 as the result of a sale or merger.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-12-06
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect 

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time

    Pros

    The pay and the culture

    Cons

    Discrepancy between what the company says it delivers and what it can actually deliver.

    Softchoice2019-11-18
  9. "Great company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Work/Life balance Great people Tons of opportunity to move all around the company Lots of perks Solid benefits

    Cons

    Pay could be better President's Club format is not great Internal systems need improving (they are improving every day)

    Softchoice2019-11-13
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Sales Department is an expense write off to the companhy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a job basically. Some free food.

    Cons

    Softchoice is trating sales people as an expense to their investors. Your salary and commision (which is basically non existent after they absolutely screwed the structure) is a write off. Anyone who understands anything about how companies operate can understand this. They pay you 40k a year to market for them. Cheaper than any marketer they can find. You will only make a few thousand extra if you kiss behinds and get some renewals. This is a lead generation and telemarketing role packaged as account management. Anyone who enjoys working here does so because they havent ever worked at a real sales role in the past. Its a joke lol. People are toxic and wouldnt last a week at a real company or start up but think they are the king of the castle for generaing a lead that was given to them and letting resources actually close the deal. Majority of this company's money comes from vendors that PAY to advertise to the sales people, NOT from actual sales of products. I was embarassed to work here with my past experience and left as soon as I could. They took all accounts that made any comission, marked them as too small and gave them to a 5 group team to manage with NO commission. If you cant see coruption in that, then there is no saving you. If you want to basically have no real tasks everyday, get drunk and party all day like you are still 16, this is the place for you. They took 5

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-12-09
Found 607 reviews