Sue Ryder Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sue Ryder Reviews

Updated 12 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Sue Ryder CEO Heidi Travis
Heidi Travis
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Sue Ryder is such a fantastic charity to work for(in 10 reviews)

  • "Really great cause to be a part of(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sue Ryder spends less than half of its expenditure on charitable activities(in 6 reviews)

  • "The ratios between fundraising spend and income are very poor(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hard work but very rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder part-time

    Pros

    Good team work and friendly people

    Cons

    Poor wages, very high management expectations

    Sue Ryder2019-07-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "One Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Caring understanding helpful committed supportive

    Cons

    Wages training achivementds no bonus

    Advice to Management

    More helpful to other stores support other stores

    Sue Ryder2019-06-23
  3. "Van driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder part-time

    Pros

    Having to your own freedom workspace being in a van all day

    Cons

    When they want to get rid of you they set you up and accuse you of theft to get rid rather than just finding a reasonable way to offload offer very little support and if you don’t do as your told when your told they target you talk down to you and treat you like scum

    Sue Ryder2019-05-18
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Sue Ryder part-time

      Pros

      I only worked as a volunteer after school but the workers were very kind to me

      Cons

      I wasn't given the chance to do anything other than cleaning

      Sue Ryder2019-04-11
    • "overall good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Sue Ryder full-time

        Pros

        nice staff, good management, good job

        Cons

        sometimes quiet periods, no help

        Sue Ryder2019-03-25
      • Helpful (1)

        "Amazing!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stevenage, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Sue Ryder full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great Atmosphere, Positive Workforce, Amazing care & support

        Cons

        None at present, keep doing what you are doing.

        Advice to Management

        None at present

        Sue Ryder2019-03-20
      • "Truly awful"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The only pro is building a team of volunteers that you look after and train. When they find their own paid work it’s a really rewarding feeling.

        Cons

        Forced targets constantly with little support from above. Bullying that’s reported and ignored by senior staff. Lazy managers who get away with everything whilst you work your fingers to the bone. No rewards.

        Sue Ryder2019-04-28
      • "Terrible management which ruins what could be a great charity"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Got paid quite well to do not very much work, could work from home. Not a stressful role.

        Cons

        Shambolic and corrupt management with little idea of how to actually get things done. Senior management are on over inflated salaries, with very little accountability for anything it would seem, while junior managers are paid peanuts and have resource removed from them on a regular basis. Sue Ryder like to believe they are a caring employer who put employee engagement and wellbeing at the forefront of everything they...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Rather than put on big engagement events twice a year where you pay for staff to travel nationally to a venue in Birmingham but nothing actually happens to result in greater engagement, why not try thinking about what will actually engage people, treat them well, pay them well and really listen and respond to their concerns rather than just pay lip service. You can't force your workforce to be engaged any more than...

        Show More
        Sue Ryder2019-03-23
      • "Retail Recruitment & Selection Administrator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Recruitment & Selection Administrator in Sudbury, East of England, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Sue Ryder full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        This is my first week at Sue Ryder and I have been welcomed by the team and have been provided with a fantastic introduction to what the Charity involves. Very genuine company, with a real passion and aspiration to care. I look forward to starting my new role.

        Cons

        As this is my first week of work, I do not have any comments in this area at present.

        Sue Ryder2019-03-07
      • "Shop Assistant manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Team spirit, culture and workload

        Cons

        Salary, shop facilitates and shop management

        Sue Ryder2019-02-26
      Found 109 reviews