Sue Ryder Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sue Ryder Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 115 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Sue Ryder CEO Heidi Travis
Heidi Travis
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Sue Ryder is such a fantastic charity to work for(in 10 reviews)

  • "Really great cause to be a part of(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sue Ryder spends less than half of its expenditure on charitable activities(in 6 reviews)

  • "The ratios between fundraising spend and income are very poor(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The volunteers. Without them this place would be nothing.

    Cons

    2 faced staff that cause trouble because they want your job then they get it the day after you hand your notice in when you can't take anymore. Lack of training but then it's your fault for not doing the job properly. Area management refuse to help unless you kiss their butt as they only care about themselves. Poorly run, no sense whatsoever & blame staff for poor sales. Long hours, no overtime paid.

    Continue reading
    Sue Ryder2019-10-14
  2. "Sue ryder review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues and work environment.

    Cons

    generally pay is low and company always runs on tight budgets

    Sue Ryder2019-09-03
  3. "Worked and served customers on the till."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Keighley, England

    I worked at Sue Ryder part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kind staff Lovely atmosphere Fantastic customers

    Cons

    Shift work Mainly weekend openings as this is busiest time

    Sue Ryder2019-08-19
  4. "Great Charity, shame about the lack of training and support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Shop Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with volunteers is amazing.

    Cons

    Ineffective training from people who don’t know the business. Lack of support for the managers, who give so much more because of their generous heart to customers. Lack of internal promotion, they don’t promote from within.

    Continue reading
    Sue Ryder2019-09-02
  5. "Okay to work for, paid peanuts, HR needs to take bullying reports seriously."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic charity to work for, very rewarding and some staff are wonderful. Some office groups are a laugh to be with! Fantastic work put in all around, well done to our nurses.

    Cons

    Experienced a lot of belittling, bullying, and favouritism around the office. If your face didn't fit you'd be constantly picked on and used as a scape goat if someone was having a bad day. When reported several times this were always ignored. Doesn't appear to be a proper HR department which is easy to contact. Didn't just happen to me, saw it happen to several other members of staff. Things get swept under the rug very quickly. Salary is low, understandable for a charity, but still low.

    Sue Ryder2019-07-31

    Sue Ryder Response

    August 9, 2019

    As an organisation Sue Ryder actively encourages an open environment which includes giving and receiving feedback. I'm sorry you have not experienced this, I strongly suggest that you contact our people helpline who can investigate your concerns further, peoplehelpline@suerydercare.org. Caroline Bird - Resourcing Business Partner

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "One Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Caring understanding helpful committed supportive

    Cons

    Wages training achivementds no bonus

    Continue reading
    Sue Ryder2019-06-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work but very rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder part-time

    Pros

    Good team work and friendly people

    Cons

    Poor wages, very high management expectations

    Sue Ryder2019-07-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Van driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder part-time

    Pros

    Having to your own freedom workspace being in a van all day

    Cons

    When they want to get rid of you they set you up and accuse you of theft to get rid rather than just finding a reasonable way to offload offer very little support and if you don’t do as your told when your told they target you talk down to you and treat you like scum

    Sue Ryder2019-05-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sue Ryder part-time

    Pros

    I only worked as a volunteer after school but the workers were very kind to me

    Cons

    I wasn't given the chance to do anything other than cleaning

    Sue Ryder2019-04-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sue Ryder full-time

    Pros

    nice staff, good management, good job

    Cons

    sometimes quiet periods, no help

    Sue Ryder2019-03-25
Found 115 reviews