Synchrony Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Synchrony Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 717 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Margaret M. Keane
455 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Mental health is a huge part of working in a call center(in 21 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is not balanced within the company(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "IT Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time

    Pros

    1- great leadership 2- care about people 3- great company 4- great benefits

    Cons

    no cons, everything is great.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-03-03
  2. "Dynamic Company with Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Synchrony

    Pros

    Awesome access to senior leadership, great working environment, designed to boost your career, pivotal time in company history, very inclusive and active affinity networks, incredible CEO Margaret Keane, very transparent and collaborative

    Cons

    most meetings done over the phone, still working out kinks in internship program since 2015 was the first year

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2015-10-08
  3. "Good balance running a profitable business, customer satisfaction, and good employee morale."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great communication from the CEO level on down the ranks.

    Cons

    There is no stock purchase plan.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-08-23
  4. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Altamonte Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company works with you, good benefits, comfortable feel not micromanaged, true open door policy, no retaliation policy, ok pay, constant events, everyone is nice, barely any drama

    Cons

    Not diverse anymore. Hispanics outrank every other race and thats currently the only race being promoted to higher positions. Not upset because I trained a few of them but its a a con because being that I trained a lot of people there I have noticed more qualified people for these positions being skipped over for less qualified applicants & people who have been in the role for 7 months promoted over someone of 4 years who was well qualified. Caucasian, African American, etc. Currently this is the only con I have because when you allow unqualified people to join my team it puts more work on us because they ask questions they should know coming in the door and need step by step tutorials. If you see this understand the excuse “they answered the question best” does not work. Take into account their career at synchrony and their stats as that is what will help them in the higher roles.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-08-15
  5. "Great Employer, Very Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Representative 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with your schedule and what you can do as far as time off goes. Some of the best benefits you will find in a company. Rewarded based on performance, with a bonus sometimes equaling a whole extra paycheck if you’re decent at your job.

    Cons

    Stressful dealing with customers who already can’t afford their bills and calling them at inconvenient hours for them. When they hang up or do something beyond your control, it can impact your performance and bonus.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-08-14
  6. "Customer support representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BEST LEADERSHIP AND SOCIAL WELFARE ACTIVITIES AND EMPLOYEE CENTRIC POLICIES

    Cons

    Annual hike is too low

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-08-11
  7. "I worked as an intern to help develop web based software."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Microservices 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Synchrony for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, understanding management, helpful peer developers

    Cons

    Interns should be more included in everyday tasks, sometimes hard to reach leaders

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-08-12
  8. "Good but Inconsistent Summer Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BLP in Kettering, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall a place that clearly cares about the intern population. They spend a lot on the interns with the goal of retaining them full time. I had an excellent work experience, managing a project that affected almost 7000 people. I got way more exposure to the business than I anticipated, and regularly presented to senior leadership and even the COO. Very rewarding in that sense. The culture here is very good too. Everyone is welcoming and supportive. I had the chance to network with dozens of leaders, both in a structured and unstructured way. Some even took time out to help me advance my project. The program office sets up many meetings and events to make sure you are connected and help to give you a broad understanding of the business. One thing to note as well - Synchrony will send you to a location based entirely on business need and won't tell you till March. Be prepared to live somewhere else for the summer. As an intern, fully furnished corporate housing is provided for FREE, so if you are looking for something new or an opportunity to travel Synchrony can be a great fit for you.

    Cons

    Seems very hit or miss how good your experience is. Some managers are not as good, and many of the projects are less exciting than mine. Know that there is a good element of chance in how your summer turns out. All the other perks are great, but the work can be very variable.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-08-09
  9. "It's a pleasant place to work at with all helpful people around."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture Friendly Environment Paid on time Yearly bonus

    Cons

    Difficulty in growing to higher positions.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-08-05
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kettering, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, compensation, they make sure you are trained to handle calls

    Cons

    I didn't have any cons with this company

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-08-05
Found 717 reviews