Syracuse University Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Syracuse University Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 615 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Syracuse University CEO Kent Syverud
Kent Syverud
196 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There we no cons of this position(in 21 reviews)

  • "Most of professors usually focus on recently popular topic but not previous data analysis(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Syracuse University full-time

    Pros

    Great environment. Good people and professor

    Cons

    Snow. Work-life balance poor. Library full.

    Syracuse University2018-03-20
  2. "Nice staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Syracuse University part-time

    Pros

    Working environment was very good. Nice coworker.

    Cons

    In terms of my position at the student dining hall, there was not much growth potential for me.

    Syracuse University2019-06-11
  3. "Overall Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Syracuse University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There was a level of self guidance when it came to what you wanted to research.

    Cons

    Not much in resources to test out your ideas.

    Syracuse University2019-06-08
  4. "No room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Syracuse, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Syracuse University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits if you use them (remitted tuition), flex hours, great location, ample time off at Christmas, nice people, liberal openminded chancellor.

    Cons

    No promotions unless they create a new job for you (very rarely happens) so you're stuck unless something comes up or you change jobs, meager yearly raises, you have to pay for parking, little time off and sick days, low salaries, 40+ hour weeks if you're exempt without extra compensation.

    Syracuse University2019-06-21
  5. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Syracuse University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great learning Experience with great professors

    Cons

    Have to deal with teenagers who look like adults.

    Syracuse University2019-06-06
  6. "Great place for STEM PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Syracuse University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High income relative to cost of living

    Cons

    Weather can be bad in winter

    Syracuse University2019-06-05
  7. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Syracuse University part-time

      Pros

      Great Place for learning new things

      Cons

      Food is not that good

      Syracuse University2019-06-05
    • "Great benefits and professional development opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Syracuse University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Laid back atmosphere; lots of autonomy

        Cons

        Little organization or concrete goals to meet. Lots of people in my field with outdated skills running around, doing exactly what they want to do and not what they should be doing.

        Syracuse University2019-05-31
      • "Work Life Balance #1"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director of Career Services in Syracuse, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Syracuse University full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Work-life balance is heavily emphasized Vacation time a plus -- especially during student-light times of year

        Cons

        Slow institutional change Heavy bureaucracy Inconsistent work flow divided between employees

        Syracuse University2019-06-06
      • "Ok"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Resident Advisor 

          I have been working at Syracuse University full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Free room and board and meal plan

          Cons

          pay was low worked many hours worked on call

          Syracuse University2019-05-31
        Found 615 reviews