Tesco Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Tesco Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5152 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Tesco CEO Dave Lewis
Dave Lewis
1929 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay considering the work you do, hours can be flexible around your commitments outside of work(in 557 reviews)

  • "Offer flexible working hours around university(in 229 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tesco full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefit, employees, friends

    Cons

    Location, parking space, food, canteen, toilet

    Advice to Management

    Wake up

    Tesco2018-12-06
  2. "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco part-time

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements Good team good locations

    Cons

    -Poor Management -Low pay no career progression

    Tesco2018-07-17
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Tesco

      Pros

      Plenty of opportunities in different areas

      Cons

      Mechanical job which becomes very repetitive

      Tesco2016-06-22
    • "Fresh Lead Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lead Team in Sydney
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tesco full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Very professional company. Great management in stores that have changed their values over the years. New Senior Leadership, making the right decisions (finally) to benefit our customers. 10% discount.

      Cons

      Previous Senior Leadership leaving giving us bad name and regular abuse because you work for Tesco. Consistency of treatment, some get certain perks for their development ie Fuel expenses while on placement - A colleague was allowed to claim yet I wasn't allowed to claim a penny, even though policy said so. Work/life balance can be hindered if you are unorganised and some Store Managers expect ridiculous hours but...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please provide 'step up' wage for people on placements as I shouldn't be financially worse off for for doing a bigger role and travelling a bit further. I wouldn't expect fuel money once signed off and in a vacancy but when developing, this needs to be looked at.

      Tesco2015-10-22
    • "good expo"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Tesco

      Pros

      great place to work, enjoyed a lot with co workers

      Cons

      pressure, unplanned deliveries, customers are freak sometimes

      Tesco2015-03-10
    • "Very friendly"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Assistant 

      I have been working at Tesco part-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours, decent pay, friendly environment

      Cons

      Unsocial-able hours, holidays , no sick pay

      Tesco2019-06-18
    • "Great & friendly place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Dotcom Picker in Bicester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Tesco part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great people within my department. Opportunities to move up the ladder. Good & friendly management.

      Cons

      Although reasonable, it would always be nice to have an increase in salary for this role.

      Tesco2019-06-17
    • "Shopfloor staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Tesco part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good pay and good management

      Cons

      Long hours but you do get good unpaid breaks

      Tesco2019-06-17
    • "Great Retail company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Tesco full-time

        Pros

        Good exposure to best practices of Retail management

        Cons

        Too much of re-organisation and employee churn

        Tesco2019-06-17
      • "Nice for student"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Manchester, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Tesco part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        flixible, good wage, nice environment, opportunity, part time

        Cons

        management, student, no full time, time, week ends

        Advice to Management

        speak with your employees

        Tesco2019-06-17
      Found 5152 reviews