The Conference Board Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

The Conference Board Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 139 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
The Conference Board CEO Steve Odland
Steve Odland
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is a must for most of us(in 36 reviews)

  • "Flexible work schedules and remote work options provide great work-life balance(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is a non-profit as such the pay is at the middle range of the pay scale for many positions(in 12 reviews)

  • "Senior Management has been in place for quite sometime with little or no changes(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It's and alright start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Executive Programs, Councils in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Conference Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great work life balance. Employees are aloud to work from home three days a week.

    Cons

    Not a ton of room to grow

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-09-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Take a pay cut, get your life back."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Conference Board was the right place for me after a high-pressure career in Corporate America. All jobs are about trade-offs. Working at any not-for-profit company, your pay is going to be a lot less than in the for-profit world. That's a given, and I was no different. But, TCB gave me the flexibility to manage my work location and time as I saw fit, and the IT the company had made that work smoothly. It exceeded my expectations. The open floor plan had its pros and cons, but it worked and served its purpose. I worked mostly from home (Tri-State area suburbs), as did many of my colleagues with whom I regularly interacted via video. Actually, they were based all over the country, but it never got in the way of getting things done. Same with attending meetings remotely. When I needed to come into NYC, the office resources were more than adequate. Sure, I had to make my own copies, but I also had access to many meeting and conference spaces all equipped with HD video and Skype. IMO, that's how every company should be these days. The people at TCB are friendly and very easy to work with. The company has a very cordial culture. I didn't experience any situation where people raised their voices at each other or left a meeting in a huff. I especially enjoyed working with my immediate team and my manager. I also had very positive interactions with the CEO, Steve Odland. He does take some getting used-to, but more importantly, he understands how to manage people and run a major organization, (And the people who say management is telling people to go here and write positive reviews here have it wrong. Management wants people to post reviews good, bad or neutral to give readers more of a sample size to look at.)

    Cons

    I was frustrated by management's focus on revenues and the amount of time spent on internal matters and in internal meetings. I wanted more time to focus on the quality of the content and using the TCB platform for thought leadership and building prominence in the industry. I didn't expect this at a think tank. But, that’s not why I left. I left because my career interests and goals changes.

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-08-14
  3. "Jon Spector’s legacy: an inexperienced & unscrupulous CEOs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At his worst, he set an example that some of the worst habits will be tolerated — and perhaps even rewarded. It’s astounding how badly most leadership teams use their time together. They set meeting agendas haphazardly, frequently only days beforehand (if at all). The implications for an organization whose leadership team is poorly focused are serious: wasted resources, wasted effort, and widespread confusion become the norm. We never knew what’s really important. So whenever someone screamed at us about in any given day that was the priority.

    Cons

    But a team of excessively individualistic leaders vying for resources, status, influence, and, most often, their boss’s job, can fracture the organization beneath them. He would intentionally set conflicting goals among team members, and while he believed this would lead to the best ideas prevailing, it actually led to vicious backstabbing and information hoarding. Unhealthy competition erodes trust. If team members distrust the motivations and unspoken agendas of teammates, they will act with self-protection, even self-interest, to avoid risking personal failure. And when things went horrible, people point at one another in blame rather than healthy accountability. It was nearly impossible to make and execute critical decisions when team members don’t trust one another — and it was equally difficult to ask the rest of the organization to carry out those decisions if everyone knew they were made by people who weren’t aligned. Jon and his cohorts compromised the integrity of TCB.

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-08-11
  4. Helpful (2)

    "inexperienced leadership, poor HR support & only Sales focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Brussels
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Conference Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Long history, some great people.

    Cons

    Leadership is poor, lack actual coaching skills, use outside 3rd party company to support. No budget, lack innovated mind sets and ideas to push the product forward Systems are in the dark ages, for a company who touts research its hardly earth shattering. Strictly only are about sales and nothing more.

    The Conference Board2019-07-04
  5. "Great quality of life, constant change efforts make getting things done difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home, great people, good office location with nice comfortable space, the organization wants to do good work

    Cons

    Salary is lower than competitors, there is constant change with the priority on short term revenue which impacts their ability to provide a consistent, quality product

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-06-04
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Management asked employees to write positive reviews."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time

    Pros

    Bagels on Fridays, Summer Fridays, NYC location, members (the few that stay)

    Cons

    The title of this review speaks to the integrity of this company. Yet, there are seemingly unending reasons why this company consistently lacks morals and is putting forward integrity intiatives so that they can continue to do so by covering themselves. Don't fool yourself - if you where to work here you would absolutely fall victum to the corruption too. Everyone is depressed here, and it's understandable why. Without going in to too much more detail it just needs to be said that for a company producing Human Capital research, they should listen to what their own research has to say for once, at least regarding mental health and wellbeing of employees.

    The Conference Board2019-06-13
  7. "Believe in the Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Conference Board full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are institutional changes being made behind the scenes that are greatly improving communications throughout. The org has big plans and is constantly faced with a challenging environment to disseminate its content, but it is working hard. I have had great managers who know how to inspire and motivate me to do my best and enjoy my work to the fullest. We opened a Center in the Gulf, and have greatly increased the number of Leading Economic Indicators around the world. You either believe in the mission or need to step aside. The CEO has increased female Board of Trustees members by 50% or more. As CEO of CED, he commissioned project to increase the number of women on corporate boards. Don't believe the haters.

    Cons

    Spending is tight, but it's temporary.

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-05-06
  8. Helpful (7)

    "The more it changes the more it stays the same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance Employees are smart people who enjoy each other Benefits are strong Addresses interesting topics

    Cons

    Extremely tight resources Investment strategy focuses on sales only Senior executives rarely recognize hard work and only focus on what’s next Don’t expect many pats on the back or a thank yous Bonus program and evaluation process is always a moving target New CEO has less than stellar reputation among past women employees

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-05-06
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Dreadful place to work ... Do not fall for the fake reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Conference Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working remotely Happy hour with your colleagues Summer Fridays Bagel Fridays Food

    Cons

    There is no real HR team and/or structure in place. Therefore, there is no professional development, safety, culture, or leadership/guidance. HR keeps nothing confidential, and gossiping at this company spreads like the plague. Directors have no management experience, or respect for the staff. The attrition rate at this company is extremely high, and certain departments are like revolving doors, people resign on a weekly basis. There is no integrity in the hiring process, and positions are aspirationally represented, with no career growth or future preparation. Very old school leadership style, and not innovative in their thinking. I am sure that this organization will not be around in the next 7-10 years. The pay sucks, and it is not competitive with the market. There are barely any increases, and if you do get one, it will only be 2%. They will tell you that the business isn't doing good.

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-05-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Wrong strategy, please listen to members before it's too late!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Conference Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working remotely. Honestly, it's so bad I can't think of any other pros.

    Cons

    We are under a lot of pressure to schedule briefings with researchers……..I mean a LOT of pressure…. They don’t understand that our member companies don’t care about briefings, they don’t want to listen to some guy speaking about research “insights”.. it’s 2019, they can go online for that on virtually any subject, for free… YOU TUBE ANYONE???!!?? Have you ever checked how much you can get on YouTubefor free?!?…. We pushed back on this, but we are still asked to make “briefings” the centerpiece of our membership proposition, cause it’s THE STRATEGY now…. It’s a joke, this leadership should listen to our customers instead of operating in a vacuum… The more we insist on delivering benefits companies are not interested in the more we alienate them… They stare at me and say, why do you insist? And then they question the value of The Conference Board altogether…. I hope my fellow team members will speak up… Use Glassdoor since team meetings are useless, they don’t listen to us…. This is nonsense and it makes us look ridiculous.

    Continue reading
    The Conference Board2019-06-02
Found 139 reviews