Thumbtack Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Thumbtack Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 235 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer amazing benefits, perks, and an awesome work life balance(in 18 reviews)

  • "2 best culinary team in the Silicon Valley that I've seen(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Opportunities Abound"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth Marketing Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is on a great trajectory and has the funding to power it to the next level of growth. Smart, capable people everywhere. Managers trust and empower employees to take on new tasks/projects, grow, and progress in their careers. Highly transparent culture.

    Cons

    Fast-paced start up environment, with sometimes ambiguous priorities, can be overwhelming to some but empowering and exciting to others.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-08-19

    Thumbtack Response

    August 21, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    We appreciate the time you took to leave us your thoughts! We never want to lose our fun/flexible culture, especially when things are go, go, go around here. Many thanks for all your help over the last two years!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work. Company cares."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Culinary Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Food program, transparency, supportive working environment

    Cons

    inconsistent messaging from management, difficult to gauge company's long term goals

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-07-25

    Thumbtack Response

    July 29, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    A big part of what makes Thumbtack so great is our AMAZING culinary staff. We're glad you enjoy it here as much as we enjoy having you here! If you ever have questions or concerns about the information your receiving (or lack thereof) we encourage you to connect with HR to ensure your voice is heard.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Passionate, collaborative, intelligent teammates! - Amazing food - Excellent work/life balance

    Cons

    None yet, I've had a great experience here!

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-07-22

    Thumbtack Response

    July 24, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Yay! We love to see that your time with us has been wonderful.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, learn, and have impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture (flexible work hours, and friendly people) - Amazing culinary team. Food that manages to be healthy, diverse and delicious. - Impactful projects - Positive future prospects (I might be biased but I think we have a clear edge over our competitors in the long run)

    Cons

    Not much to think of.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-07-17

    Thumbtack Response

    July 22, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    This is what we love to hear! If you ever have anything you think we could improve on, please send it our way.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture but must be adaptable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Onboarding Specialist in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career development programs, great perks and benefits, awesome management

    Cons

    Things change A LOT so if you don't like change, then Thumbtack isn't the right place for you.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-07-30

    Thumbtack Response

    August 2, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review! You're right, there have been a lot of changes the last couple years and we thank you for sticking with us and helping us along the way. If you ever have questions about the changes that are going on, please reach out to your manager. We want to make sure everyone feels confident in their roles throughout the many changes.

    Continue reading
  6. "Passionate team working on an incredibly complex problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fascinating set of problem. Thumbtack’s marketplace is several orders of magnitude more complex than I had imagined, making for very interesting challenges across all areas. - Selfless culture and management. The leadership team is lean, refreshingly humble, and free of politics. Leaders are very dedicated to creating a positive work environment, be conscious of biases, and set an example when it comes to work-life balance. - Meaningful work. Especially on the Pro side, empowering small business owners and helping them scale their business feels incredibly rewarding.

    Cons

    Although one of the company’s values is “Know our customers”, Thumbtack tends to have a myopic view of the problem space it is solving and the competition. It feels like we are often finding ourselves trying to re-invent the wheel.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-07-17

    Thumbtack Response

    July 22, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience with Thumbtack thus far! We're grateful to have team members like you who help make us better.

    Continue reading
  7. "Worthy mission and great food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worthy mission of helping local pros grow their business

    Cons

    You get spoiled by all the good food, it's hard to go back to real life

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-07-19

    Thumbtack Response

    July 22, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    We feel you.. those sack lunches are tough to go back to! We're glad to read your time with us was positive and impactful.

    Continue reading
  8. "A workplace that really cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth Marketing Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. TT truly follows the "one team" principle. It is a highly cross-functional team that is unified by a collective growth mindset. 2. The people here really care and consciously work towards making each-other better. 3. The management is always listening and thrives to put their best foot forward every day. Offcourse, best kitchen ever. #Tackitchen

    Cons

    More diversity in leadership (I know we are already working on this).

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-06-13
  9. "Great Place to Work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture at Thumbtack is Inclusive, open and supportive. Btw, culinary team is awesome.

    Cons

    The only thing is the 401k.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-06-03
  10. "Great opportunities to grow at Thumbtack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great food and working environment -Transparent management

    Cons

    -No 401K -Suffering from growing pains

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2019-05-25
Found 235 reviews