Thumbtack Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Thumbtack Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 206 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
168 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer amazing benefits, perks, and an awesome work life balance(in 18 reviews)

  • "2 best culinary team in the Silicon Valley that I've seen(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "A workplace that really cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth Marketing Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    1. TT truly follows the "one team" principle. It is a highly cross-functional team that is unified by a collective growth mindset. 2. The people here really care and consciously work towards making each-other better. 3. The management is always listening and thrives to put their best foot forward every day. Offcourse, best kitchen ever. #Tackitchen

    Cons

    More diversity in leadership (I know we are already working on this).

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing :)

    Thumbtack2019-06-13
  2. "Great Place to Work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The culture at Thumbtack is Inclusive, open and supportive. Btw, culinary team is awesome.

    Cons

    The only thing is the 401k.

    Thumbtack2019-06-03
  3. "Great opportunities to grow at Thumbtack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great food and working environment -Transparent management

    Cons

    -No 401K -Suffering from growing pains

    Thumbtack2019-05-25
  4. "Listen to your customer and organizational problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time

    Pros

    - Potentially a good product but lots of people problem - Good food! thank you Culinary team. - Iterative process - Feedback culture (this depends on the team) - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Slow career progress when your projects have less visibility (even when you work hard) - Leadership talks about the same thing in different words. - Leadership speaks ill of other team members to their direct reports. Not a good culture. This happens a lot in product org. - There is definitely a gender PAY GAP. When a male coworker joined, he shared his salary which was absurdly higher than equal level female peer....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your customer and organizational problems

    Thumbtack2019-05-15

    Thumbtack Response

    May 22, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We do our best to stay competitive as a company and perform competitive, comprehensive analyses to determine the compensation of current and future team members. We strive to ensure that everyone feels challenged and motivated within the roles. ...

    Show More
  5. "Life at Thumbtack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Super engaged team all around- entire org is built on a culture of support. Everyone is always willing to do what they can to help. Awesome Work/Life balance. Amazing in-house culinary team.

    Cons

    Management sometimes makes VERY POOR decisions without really thinking about how that will affect everyone else. Company did not value the recruiting team until it started falling apart. No raises or compensation adjustments. Lots of placating to buy themselves time only to waste the time of the employee.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and act before it's too late.

    Thumbtack2019-05-08

    Thumbtack Response

    May 16, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share that feedback with us. We value our employees and do our best to stay competitive as a company and perform competitive, comprehensive analyses to determine the compensation of current and future team members. HR has been notified of your feedback.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "A revolutionary product with tons of potential!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Pivotal learning experiences - Inspiring and smart people who I’ll always be grateful to know - Benefits are above par + some unique additions

    Cons

    - Career growth (it's absolutely trying to be improved upon but it lacks strategic internal growth opportunities) - Transparency is half-hearted

    Thumbtack2019-03-29
  7. "Great mid-size tech company with the best in-house food program in tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Culinary Service Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thumbtack is a growing company that cares about its employees. The food is incredible! Such an incredible perk

    Cons

    The company does have a decent amount of turnover lost to bigger companies which can create a times of unease.

    Thumbtack2019-03-14
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Exciting place to work alongside super smart and interesting people. Also, the food really is as good as everyone says.

    Cons

    Hard to think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on creating a cohesive Thumbtack brand both through marketing and in the product.

    Thumbtack2019-02-15
  9. "Doing it the right way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Producer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone here is super empowered to contribute. Everyone over-communicates. And the brain power here and confidence is unrivaled.

    Cons

    Haven't had an opportunity to mingle with engineering and product development yet. I'm on the marketing side, but would be nice to rub elbows with the folks building the product/platform.

    Advice to Management

    Create a bridge between product development and marketing. There may already be one, but the pathway may be pretty narrow.

    Thumbtack2019-02-13
  10. "Growing and Good Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    • Lots of opportunity to learn if you come from a smaller company/start-up • Lots of opportunity for IC/leadership development • High ceiling for career development within 1-4 year time span given the company's initiative to invest in its people • Global opportunity and at the right stage to impact your career growth • Growth mindset culture • Onboarding is strategic and ideal for crafting a high touch point employee...

    Show More

    Cons

    • Legacy tech, systems, processes need updates/upgrading for future scale • Some operational systems and streamlining of some specific team analytics/data could be improved

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing and nurturing talent and development of employees.

    Thumbtack2019-02-04
Found 206 reviews