Thumbtack Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Thumbtack Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
96%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
204 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are little to no significant cons to working here, other than growing pains are causing parking to become an issue(in 25 reviews)

  • "They don't offer any 401K matching(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culinary team is amazing (3 homemade meals a day, can't beat it!), a lot of autonomy, a mission you can get behind and a team that works hard but also has a lot of fun.

    Cons

    I don't have any negative things to say about working here.

    Thumbtack2019-11-14
  2. "A place that really cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company that really pays attention to small details, from the interview process/pace to the office experience to onboarding... Also, there are enough challenges for us to solve, room to grow. Very happy about the decision to join Thumbtack.

    Cons

    not that much, I see them mostly as opportunities.

    Thumbtack2019-11-04
  3. "Really good company with a phenomenal goal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - From top to bottom, people at Thumbtack are incredibly smart but also friendly and helpful - The product has a positive impact on customers and businesses - Growing company with a lot of opportunities to grow with it - Fantastic perks and a culture that is set up to think about employees

    Cons

    - Seems like we are not making fast progress in some areas including the core product - Thumbtack needs more leadership as we grow in size and impact. There are a lot of junior employees that need more mentorship and guidance - Some major changes might be leading to people losing steam and lower energy across the board

    Thumbtack2019-11-12
  4. "Great company and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing teammates - One of the best culinary teams - Plenty of opportunities for career growth - Great work-life balance

    Cons

    - Some teams are very low on headcount - The planning process is overkill. Either trim down the process or lower the frequency from every quarter to every trimester

    Advice to Management

    - Need to push harder on recruiting and headcount planning

    Thumbtack2019-10-12
  5. "Best Company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits here are unheard of. Thumbtack takes care of their employees & does a great job at protecting the special culture they have created here. It's a breath of fresh air waking up & being excited to go to work. The product is awesome and is a very transactional sales process.

    Cons

    As of now there isn't a 401k match. That's literally the only con I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to protect the culture that has been created here. It's what makes Thumbtack so awesome. Keep up the great work. We are excited about the growth.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
  6. "This is the place you want to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Account Executive in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, People-Oriented, Modern, Comfortable, Life-Changing. This is such a great place to work. They have people in place to make it a experience every day. You feel like you're part of something bigger. Your feedback is actually valued, and the training process is thorough and very informational.

    Cons

    Only two meals free every day, not three. Cold work environment.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
  7. "Great Company and Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair compensation On-site chef Flexible work schedule Great benefits

    Cons

    Constantly changing things around, lots of growth happening so it can feel fast paced

    Advice to Management

    Love management. Would like to see regular trainings

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
  8. "Best Company Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Account Executive in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast and lunch everyday made by culinary staff on site, free snacks and drinks, ping pong, benefits starting on day one. Leadership does an excellent job of making sure that people are working hard and are having fun.

    Cons

    I literally cannot think of a single con to working here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the hard work!

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
  9. "They've Been Great! An awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They listen, and take great care of you. Management takes time to listen and works hard on implementing feedback given. Amazing culture!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening and applying our feedback.

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and dynamic within the sales team. Management is willing to bend over backwards to help with anything. We get fantastic meals provided daily and leadership is adamant on creating an environment built around employee happiness.

    Cons

    As with any newer company, a lot of changing processes

    Thumbtack2019-10-09
Found 245 reviews