TrueCar Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

TrueCar Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 226 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
TrueCar CEO  Michael Darrow
Michael Darrow
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits (insurance, unlimited PTO, etc)(in 27 reviews)

  • "Beautiful offices in 4 great cities: Santa Monica, San Francisco, Austin, and Denver(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "absolutely toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TrueCar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, provide lunch every Wednesday.

    Cons

    Extreme micromanagement and horrible cargo cult agile practices in the engineering organization. As a manager, you are given no autonomy to make decisions and have to endure unnecessary meeting after unnecessary meeting to move things along at even a glacial pace. Company morale is extremely low and there is 0 opportunity for technical or professional growth, avoid working here if you are looking to grow in any... way.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace senior leadership in the engineering org with talent from outside. The culture has to change if there is any hope at all for the company.

    TrueCar2019-09-06
  2. Helpful (19)

    "Still going in the wrong direction. Everyone's leaving (employees, partners, etc.)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TrueCar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will find a base salary that is relatively competitive for the market (though you will likely never see the full bonus they promise you and the stock is worthless). Free lunch every Wednesday. Full mental healthcare benefits provided to you (you will need them).

    Cons

    The product is awful and everyone knows it but no one knows how to fix it. Though basically all of the executives were fired over the past 2 months, somehow it got even worse to work here. Everyone is leaving this place as fast as they can. We still lose 1-2 quality people every single week whether in marketing, sales, or technology. Partners are jumping off quickly as well and other revenue areas are dying.... We have three new executives in place and I would say the jury is out on two of them. We desperately need a real CEO who has a strong vision and is willing to take risks. For those of us that have stayed in spite of the chaos, it seems as though some kind of financial incentive that is actually equal to the punishment we have been put though is in order. At least one that would allow us to live in very expensive Los Angeles. Like others, I remember a time when this company was about pulling together and getting stuff done while trying to actually disrupt an industry. All that happens now is TrueCar's product has become obsolete and unnecessary and consumers no longer have any reason to use it. Know that when you join TrueCar, you are joining a house of cards that is getting ready to tip over at any moment. You are joining an organization where the executives couldn't care less about your actual contributions or support you. If you're one of the many political players that kiss your way to the top, then perhaps it is a fit. The culture is that of a dead carcass being violently ripped to shreds by 5 different vultures all fighting for the same last rotten piece of meat.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For the new ones, sorry. For those who have been here for years, congratulations on your work.

    TrueCar2019-07-29
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Work Life Balance - Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accounting Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TrueCar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits for the most part

    Cons

    Long hours with no relief in sight, micromanagement, internal controls a mess, might as well stayed in public acctg

    Advice to Management

    Please learn how to really manage

    TrueCar2019-07-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A great place for go-getters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrueCar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I come from a start-up environment. Initially, I was very nervous about joining a corporation. TrueCar is a publicly traded company but culturally feels like a start-up. Here's a list of pros: - Very relaxed atmosphere - Beautiful office and location literally by the beach - If you ever get stuck on a problem, you can always post on Slack and others will answer and help you within minutes - Engineers are... actively involved in the product which makes everything feel very collaborative - Code improvements are truly welcome - PR reviews are ingrained into the culture and are actually positive and productive - Flexible hours and work from home friendly - You are your own boss. There is no project manager harping at your back. You are entirely responsible for managing your own time and completing your tasks. For go-getters, this is a blessing. - New interim CEO brings a lot of hope

    Show More

    Cons

    - Brutal commute to Santa Monica but can't blame the company for something that the city should have solved ages ago with functioning public transportation - Compensation is on the lower side because the stock lost quite a bit of value

    TrueCar2019-06-22
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Mismanaged and rudderless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TrueCar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free health insurance (unless you have dependents)

    Cons

    Lack of strategic vision, management hires and promotes family members or sycophants, tumbling share price, job roles keep on changing, tech is antiquated and inefficient and real career opportunities are almost non-existent. Recent high level, including CEO, executive departures and layoffs another nail in the coffin?

    TrueCar2019-07-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Depends on your role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TrueCar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you're in the creative department there is a lot of opportunity for growth and making a difference. People are fun and outgoing, the company culture is extremely relaxed. People go all out during culture festivities. We have unlimited PTO and people generally are chill with however you take it, and depending on what team you're on they may not even track it. I really enjoy my job because I feel like I have the... power to make a difference. Sometimes it can frustrating because there's people giving opinions where it's not their business, but that's like any company. My team is hilarious and I feel empowered to help the company. The cons sometimes get to me but overall I feel that my work is fulfilling and I'm happy. I love the perks. There's a fully stocked kitchen with rotating snacks, everyone gets those expensive adjustable tables and chair...and you'll get any equipment you need to do your job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Only when I worked here for over half a year I started to realize some things, and it's the reason why this review isn't 5 stars. Even though my department is great, the morale at the company is pretty low. It takes forever for something to be completely built. From the idea of conception to final delivery, things take way too long. It's also embarrassing to me that we're a public company for four years now, yet... nobody knows who we are and what we do. The executives are so risk adverse, so we test things to death. And by doing that, it adds so much time to our final delivery. The dev team is shorthanded like crazy, which is also a contributing factor to why things take so long to build. It's an endless cycle of problems. Sometimes I have to worry if the products that will bring us forward will be built, because it takes too long and management is scared of change. It's what we need, but people don't want to be responsible if it fails.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have the power to make things go faster or slower, and so far things are going slower. We need to seriously hire more devs. I don't need to disclose how many devs we have in the company, but ask someone who knows and think to yourself if that's okay for a public tech company. Take bigger risks, try something new. We're not getting anywhere with incremental changes. Stop wasting time testing things to death.... Everyone wants the "new" stuff but the people in power, the PMs, the execs, are too scared.

    Show More
    TrueCar2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Steer Clear of ISR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TrueCar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance and benefits.

    Cons

    Mismanaged with unqualified, unstable, and bald faced favoritism. Our former HR rep used inside sales as a departmental restructuring guinea pig to further her career towards Chief of Staff with Boss 1. This restricted opportunity due to unbalanced regional assignments, during a suppressed season, with a logistically unrestricted inside sales team. Boss 1 left, HR became interim Boss 2 (despite zero sales... experience) and she promptly went on an extended leave. Boss 3 slept with a subordinate and fed her inbounds, suffering embarrassing weekly meetings, until qualified reps quit. Numerous HR complaints fell on deaf ears until this consequence. A new quarterly pay plan is a given, along with revised targets, at management’s discretion. Forced to sell non-TrueCar auxiliary company contracts as part of target, but given neither the collateral nor methodology to do so. Lay-offs are a yearly norm, this last one being significant ... unless you’re an ISR, in which case they allow under-performers to fester into morale-sucking leeches, robbing you of any levity you may have left with their personal misery and established cliques. Chip Perry has “retired” and their Executive VP of Dealer Sales has also jumped ship. Abject failure, all around.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    2020 is a new year. May your hindsight be as valuable.

    TrueCar2019-06-19
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Not "Unethical", but a Pretty Low Bar."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TrueCar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. Great Pay: The only reason I never left until being laid off. 2. Great Benefits and Office Amenities: Unlimited PTO, 100% health coverage, great office snacks and environment, gym membership allowance 3. Free parking in Santa Monica: Alternatively you can collect a stipend for using public transportation. 4. Dog-Friendly Office (only some offices) 5. Flexible Work Environment: Ability to work from home or... remotely as needed, just make sure you get your work done. 6. Lots of celebrations for reasons I cannot explain. Achieving mediocrity?

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Poorly Managed: Lack of strategy from the top, lack of accountability everywhere else. Priorities are driven by the shiny object of the week. 2. Challenges Your Ethics: Not exactly an unethical company, but the decision making definitely makes you question your values. 3. Technology development is at a standstill. Haven't been able to keep up with the business, even maintaining image accuracy or... effectively executing on campaigns. 4. No HR Department: Have not been able to keep an HR executive for more than a year since the original one left the company in 2015. 5. You'll leave with the feeling that you sold your soul to the devil. 6. My pre-IPO equity is now worth $0 due to the $6 stock price. Thanks.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would highly suggest bringing in a management consulting firm if there is any hope of saving this company. 1. Clean house in the Technology and Product executive leadership. 2. Invest in engineers so you can actually build and maintain the business. 3. Decide which businesses you're going to support and which ones will be set out to pasture. 4. Think about your customers for once (dealers and OEMs)... and commit to delivering long term value (for them too, not just you).

    Show More
    TrueCar2019-05-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Strong, sharp team. Remarkable workplace."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrueCar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Product folks: get stoked. Although we spent the better part of last year focused on rebuilding our tech stack, we are now celebrating the astonishing uptick in “idea-to-prod” velocity. Concepts are designed, user tested, and deployed in weeks vs. months. We are now far more courageous in driving ideas that have material impact on the consumer journey. We’re a “just do it” culture. Cliché? Sure. Point being-... leadership has established numerous paths to encourage new ideas from any and all directions, and your colleagues will be some of the sharpest in the business. Culture-wise, we treat adults like adults. No “hours-for-hours” justification necessary for time-off or the occasional work from home. Compensation is regularly vetted against market. Amenities everywhere- snacks, food, any equipment you need is generally an email away. Shoreline location a block from [too] many lunch options on Santa Monica’s 3rd Street Promenade. The office(s) layout is open-air, sophisticated. There are numerous places to dodge disruption when you really need to focus.

    Show More

    Cons

    Negatives are the same I’d expect in any business working to bridge marketplaces. We’re “mission-driven” agile- aligning teams to tribe, and ultimately company OKRs. Incremental wins may feel less groundbreaking than end-to-end redesigns to some, with occasional tight turnarounds to deliver viable iterations to move the ball forward.

    Advice to Management

    Provide a (truly) anonymous feedback mechanism that encourages employees to provide feedback for improvement. Foster a greater sense of steering control to every employee.

    TrueCar2019-04-29
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Not so TrueCar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TrueCar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team of motivated co-workers. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Upper management is like Dei ex machina (Gods from a machine); there's no telling how you might offend them. Turns out I offended one of them by rejecting someone for a writing position that said upper manager had been um...er...intimate with. Silly me, thinking I'd had a mandate to actually hire quality people. The final straw was getting replaced by another one of upper management's siblings. Yes, sibling. ... Unethical, yes. But apparently not illegal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Act with greater humility. You were hired because you're smart, but when it comes to managing people you appeared to let it go to your head.

    TrueCar2019-05-06
Found 226 reviews