Union Creative Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Union Creative Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
16%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Union Creative CEO SUBTEJ NIJJAR
SUBTEJ NIJJAR
1 Ratings
  1. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Union Creative

    Pros

    Smart people Good hours Good people

    Cons

    Lots of senior involvement Not a lot of room to grow

    Union Creative2019-09-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Where to begin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Union Creative full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Minor perks - some great minds and staff (excluding upper management)

    Cons

    Where to begin.... this company doesn’t know how to run itself. There is zero room for growth and exploitation of staff is rife! The president is a good man who does try but when it comes down to it, has no real control and they will throw you under the bus to gain a quick buck! There is blatant classism amongst the staff and the place is incredibly top heavy. Wages are way below industry standards and the... favouritism is the norm. There is zero job security with people being let go at every turn with an aggressive walk out policy. UNION needs to change their ways or the end is very close for them! Avoid if you want to progress in the field of advertising

    Show More
    Union Creative2019-06-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Union Creative full-time

    Pros

    Nice offices. Junior suits seem smart.

    Cons

    Chickens running around with their heads cut off. Meetings are constantly rescheduled and when they happen no one seems to know what's going on. A few good heads, mostly the junior staff, but the CD, especially, is like a slow-witted turkey, a luddite who doesn't use a computer and apparently reads at a grade 3 level. There's not a whole lot of thinking, even less critical thinking, going on here.

    Advice to Management

    Hire smarter people.

    Union Creative2019-05-02
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Pump work out, disregard quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Union Creative full-time

    Pros

    Good social and company culture, I liked who I was working with socially but not professionally.

    Cons

    No regard for usability testing. Clique culture. Creatives run the show. Design based on assumption and cross your fingers your users like it? As long as the client is happy you've done your job, and to me that's incorrect.

    Union Creative2017-10-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Media Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Union Creative full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedules Great Culture A lot of opportunity to grow career Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Small Media Department Location is somewhat out of the way for commuters

    Union Creative2017-01-20
  6. "Account Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Union Creative full-time

    Pros

    - Beautiful office - SOME nice people

    Cons

    - No room for growth - Favouritism and perks only for certain people - Top heavy - NO HR - SO MUCH GOSSIP - Lay offs all the time

    Union Creative2016-04-06
  7. "Good place to start as a devloper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Technologist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Union Creative full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy, be your own boss and do a good job at it and you'll be fine. Just don't expect too much appreciation for it. Great place to learn new things when you're just starting off. Great parties and lots of fun people. There are special days called Union days that give you an extra day of freedom on long weekends in the summer.

    Cons

    Lots of good standards, procedures & best practices, but they are not being enforced. Requirements often get lots in translation and project management just babysit. The agile environment is more like waterfall. Tons of inefficiencies.

    Advice to Management

    Needs to get more involved on the technology side, and also tighten up the loose ends by getting rid of the idle resources

    Union Creative2015-07-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Union Creative full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few smart, wonderful people.

    Cons

    Terribly disorganized. No structure. Bad merger with Trapeze ("digital" shop).

    Union Creative2015-06-19
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Rotten"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Union Creative full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great client list and a few wonderful people. There is a work hard/play hard mentality which is ok for some.

    Cons

    Where do I begin. This place "merged" with a digital shop last year and it was a disaster from day one. No plan to properly transition and the whole thing was just messy. This sweat shop is led by awards not great solutions. If you want to win awards, lose your weekend and your sanity, and anger a few clients along the way, go for it.

    Advice to Management

    Try building campaigns on strategy and insight instead of what's going to win you an award. Or better yet, do both!

    Union Creative2015-06-04
  10. "Great Culture fostered by President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Union Creative full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flat organization President is fantastic he was supportive and celebrated our victories

    Cons

    Account Teams don't understand digital marketing Limited information sharing between account teams and other teams which often breeds mistrust A little bit of nepotism (not family but friends)

    Union Creative2014-09-21
Found 11 reviews