Viator Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Viator President and CEO  Stephen Kaufer
Stephen Kaufer
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Tripadvisor Experiences( Viator) got a new CEO from Vacation Rentals and he brought his team with his(in 16 reviews)

  • "Senior staff are distant from Sydney(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time

    Pros

    - Office culture is great. Everyone is very open and friendly. - The office itself is amazing with high quality amenities. - The work itself is very rewarding with interesting challenges. - Managers are all very supportive.

    Cons

    - If you aren't accustomed to the pace, it can be a bit tough.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    March 8, 2019Viator

    I second your thoughts: we have a great team and culture in Sydney and all our offices! Dermot

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away from it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Viator full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, free lunch on Friday, fancy office

    Cons

    Discrimination is an obvious issue and management doesn't care about it. Tech stack is old. The engineering management team seems really enjoy re-inventing wheels whereas the engineering teams do not have the capability to do it properly.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    October 8, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback. We are fortunate to have nice offices and perks for our team members, you are absolutely right about that. We do this because we value our team members very highly and try to provide a great working environment for everyone. We take the issue of discrimination in the workplace very seriously and encourage anyone to speak up if they see discrimination in our team. As for our tech stack, I’m the first to admit that like any tech stack, there are things that we like about it and things that we don’t like about it. We’re investing resources in addressing the problems we have and we’ve been encouraged by the results thus far. Our team structure and philosophy is designed to drive innovation and decision making in a more “bottom-up” manner. The engineering management team views its role as one of support rather than providing specific direction on how to do a particular task. We are not prescriptive about how problems are solved but rather focused on achieving outcomes. I hope that you are doing well now that you have left Viator. Please reach out to me directly if you have specific concerns or just wish to catch up. I’m happy to make the time. Best, Jon Swinghammer VP of Engineering, Viator


  3. Helpful (9)

    "Political, unfair, toxic culture. Don’t waste your time."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great office * Great snacks and Friday Lunch.

    Cons

    Yes, Viator Sydney used to be a great place till Vacation Rentals stepped in. Tripadvisor Experiences( Viator) got a new CEO from Vacation Rentals and he brought his team with his. Obvious isn’t it. Quite a few higher management relocated to Sydney and took powers into their hands. From then, its all favourism and politics. Favourism over Skill: Managers would never give a chance to the deserving team or the individual, rather they will give it to their favourites. Always, the favourites will get a chance to work on the greenfield projects and to move around new projects and the tech stack. While others need to fix their defects and support the legacy systems. Lack of Trust: Difference in opinion is not at all acceptable. Even if you have it, it’s better not to raise it. You will get into their bad books. Forget about quality or maintenance, release it ASAP, if you say no, you will be tagged as a slow performer. Culture of looking at how many commits you have done in a day/month, how much time you take to deliver a feature at the back of your shoulder. This data could have been used constructively, rather they used it to create an unsafe work culture. You have to be an exhibitionist to thrive. But, the team work was getting destroyed with this culture. Had multiple discussions with the management regarding this, but the efforts were futile. Time spent on pool and table tennis table will be monitored(not officially though). They would ask us to limit our play time, when the US counterparts visits. (Earlier glassdoor review on the same was removed :)) Lack of Freedom: Top management has strong choice of the tech stack to be used in the project across the company. No question of right tool for the right job. For Instance, Spring framework is not favoured, because some team /team members didn’t understand them :). Why on earth, you will write their own transaction management and maintain it??? You need to fight hard to justify that the tool you chose is the right one, end of the day it will be rejected and you would be tagged as rebel.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    September 23, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. I recognize that things were very difficult during this time and respect that you are feeling/felt frustrated on a number of different issues. I’ll do my best to speak to the points you raised. It is easy to misinterpret feedback that is given to others regarding behavior, code commits, or anything else particularly when it wasn’t given to you personally. For example, no one is bothered by anyone playing pool or ping pong – if we were then those things wouldn’t be available in the office. I trust that everyone utilizes these things responsibly and gets their work done accordingly. It is fair to say that no one is ever happy with the technical solutions that came before them and especially those that were designed by others. I’ll be the first to admit that not everything selected is perfect. I feel the best way to move forward is to have an open conversation about how we fix what is broken and in what order we need to address the problems we face. In terms of fairness as to how we go about making decisions, I think those are best understood on a case by case basis. There is often context that helps understand where the team was coming from when a decision was made. We might agree or disagree with those decisions but the context matters and it helps us understand how best to evaluate what we have and how to move forward. For my part, I try my best to avoid mandating a problem be solved in any particular way. It is not my job to prescribe solutions to problems but rather to help facilitate conversations where problems can be solved as a team. I respect that you might have been frustrated during this time or even at the moment but would encourage you to reach out to ask questions or raise concerns about anything that is bothering you. There are a lot of things happening in the world now that are causing all of us stress and so I would welcome the opportunity to help alleviate some of your stress if I can. Best, Jon Swinghammer VP of Engineer, Viator

  4. "It was amazing while it lasted"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Viator full-time

    Pros

    - Fantastic work life balance, with one week on and one week off - so essentially working half the year - Regular team events (lunches, Friday night drinks etc) - Health and travel reimbursements for wellness - Being able to swap shifts - Wonderful team of diverse people

    Cons

    - Was difficult to progress in the company unless you had been there a very long time

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "I love it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management is good and very supportive. Work environment is fantastic: close to transport, roomy, food provided on Fridays. The team members are really good guys, easy to work with.

    Cons

    Release process is not easy, but improvements are being made

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    March 8, 2019Viator

    I¹m glad you feel supported by management and your team. As for our release process, we¹re constantly working to improve things, balancing ease of releasing with making sure releases happen without incident, all the while making sure that the process works for every one of our worldwide engineering team. Our metrics show that things are improving, but there¹s always more work to be done. I welcome your ideas on how we can continue improving, so please don't hesitate to reach out Sugata Mukhopadhyay, VP of Engineering, TripAdvisor Experiences

  6. Helpful (15)

    "Not as advertised"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Owned by Tripadvisor, so looks good on your resume. Nice office, but there is no real tangiable benefit other than to impress the candidates the company is trying to hire.

    Cons

    Was promised the latest technology, but reality is your working on legacy applications. Using a non-standard tech stack. Directors just like to talk and talk and talk and tend to favor you if you are a brown noser. Sausage fest. Very low proportion of female employees compared to other IT companies. I hope this is not a intentional policy. Culture of bullying. Low basic salary.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    July 11, 2019Recruiting Operations Coordinator

    We work hard at fostering an inclusive and positive work environment for all of our employees, so it’s concerned to hear your feedback. We have zero tolerance for this type of behavior you describe, and I ask that you please immediately talk to your manager or HR partner to flag any of these instances. As for a low proportion of female employees - that’s simply not true. Lastly, with regard to your comments on working with legacy applications, we’ve made long-term investments to fundamentally transform how we operate internally and externally. We’re continuously examining our tools and methodologies precisely so that we can shed legacy platforms and accelerate our development speed and cadence to better service travelers and our suppliers. If you’d likely to discuss any of the items you’ve raised, I’m always happy to chat with you. Please reach me directly. Thanks, Jon Swinghammer, VP of Engineering

  7. Helpful (14)

    "One of the worst big tech companies"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally good work life balance Impressive office

    Cons

    -Very poor senior management - being asked to submit a good company review. -Bossy managers who will try to micro manage engineers. -The Tripadvisor rating process is good, but Sydney has managed to manipulate it. -Performance reviews are not based on merit - the directors will look at your face and allocate your rating. This rating directly correlates to compensation. -Lower than industry average salary, masked by an allocation of tripadvisor shares, which are losing value(mostly) every day. -Employees regulary leaving is not just coincidence, pathetic glassdoor rating is a true reflection of the company. -If you want your ideas to be listened to, you need to be a directors lackey. -Not the best company location.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    July 11, 2019Recruiting Operations Coordinator

    We work hard to provide an excellent employee experience, and it seems we might not have might not have hit the mark for you. We’d very much welcome a conversation about it - please feel free to reach out to HR, your manager, or any senior leader in Sydney. As a company that was built on candid feedback, attempting to influence reviews is very much against our ethos and what we stand for. We want to hear all feedback, good and bad - it’s the only way we get better.

  8. Helpful (13)

    "Things are just declining"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work perks, snacks, balanced working style

    Cons

    Things are dropping rapidly since new management involved. Original culture is getting ruined. Processes are forcibly stepping back to the old fashion. Matters are not communicated well. Hard to see where is the career development path. Reporting lines are in a mess. So heartbroken to see once a top Sydney employer becomes the situation like now. Glassdoor scores honestly tell the decline. Give two stars only because it is still getting worse.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    July 26, 2018Viator

    Transitions are never easy and there’s no doubt we’ve seen a significant amount of change over the last year. It’s inevitable for our culture to evolve alongside these changes, but I respectfully disagree with the notion that “things are dropping rapidly”. As our business results show, we’re growing quickly and meaningfully by every metric. We’re moving forward, and the projects this office is working are setting us up for years of growth and development ahead. And on the subject of development we are committed to continuing to bring courses and programs to the site to drive individual and team growth/learning. The Sydney office is the backbone of our engineering efforts and as we further cement our leadership of this industry, there’s incredible opportunity for everyone on this team. We have an exciting roadmap and we’ll continue to be transparent about our plans through channels like our regular all-hands meetings, team meetings, and one-to-ones. These forums are designed to maintain open communication and if you feel you’re not being heard, we want to know. I welcome any feedback you might have - my door is always open, so feel free to reach me or your direct manager at any time. -Jon Swinghammer, VP Engineering

  9. Helpful (21)

    "A drifting ship"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Viator full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice Sydney offices, relaxed-stress free environment

    Cons

    Everything is moving to TA HQ. weak senior management who hires their “mates”in line management.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    April 24, 2018TripAdvisor

    Over the last year-and-a-half, we’ve closely integrated Viator and TripAdvisor to become a single team. Each of our offices leads critical work, and Sydney is the core of our engineering operations. You and your team are leading one of the business’s largest projects; your work will set us up for faster growth for years to come. Our senior management team is a talented, experienced group and, along with their teams, they’ve brought incredible business growth in the last 18 months. We’ve become the fastest-growing part of TripAdvisor: we’re leading non-hotel revenue growth of 24% year-over-year, TripAdvisor-sourced Attractions bookings have more than doubled year-over-year, and we grew inventory by nearly 50% last year. We owe this growth to our people, and we hire carefully to ensure we get the right person for the right role. In many cases we promote from within (and we’ve seen many historically Viator and historically TA people take on new opportunities), and in some cases, we look externally. I’m sorry to hear you’ve not been happy with your experience and we’d like to hear more. Our doors are always open, and I encourage you to reach out to me, your manager or HR. -Jon Swinghammer, VP Engineering

  10. Helpful (19)

    "Not the company you want to grow your career with"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time

    Pros

    Nice office. Free lunch and booze on Fridays.

    Cons

    One of the worst things that can happen to you here is, a director deciding on your rating. The seniour director dropped the rating of a colleague because he thought that it's appropriate for him. There goes the new review process which the VP is actually proud of. Another would be witnessing another colleague being escorted out of the office but receiving an email that he resigned. If you think that they will promote you because you did well in the last year, think again. The management favour their mates. Most of the promotions this year were given with little to no merits.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    June 1, 2018Viator

    As you note, we recently introduced a new review process, which took into account feedback from hundreds of team members across the company. Our new and improved system looks at both what an individual does, as well as how they do it. And because teamwork is such an important part of our business, we collect feedback from not only your direct manager, but also co-workers at various levels of the organization. This new approach to reviews concluded in several team members getting recognized and promoted for their hard-work and team contributions, including many individuals from the Sydney office. If you have any additional concerns, I encourage you to speak with your manager, or feel free to contact me directly. I’m always happy to have an earnest and constructive conversation with you about any areas that you think we should address as a team. Thanks, Jon Swinghammer, VP of Engineering

Viewing 1 - 10 of 136 English Reviews