Viator Reviews

Updated 3 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Viator President and CEO  Stephen Kaufer
Stephen Kaufer
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic work life balance, with one week on and one week off - so essentially working half the year(in 12 reviews)

  • "They also offer alot of freebies, free snacks(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Tripadvisor Experiences( Viator) got a new CEO from Vacation Rentals and he brought his team with his(in 16 reviews)

  • "Senior staff are distant from Sydney(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time

    Pros

    - Office culture is great. Everyone is very open and friendly. - The office itself is amazing with high quality amenities. - The work itself is very rewarding with interesting challenges. - Managers are all very supportive.

    Cons

    - If you aren't accustomed to the pace, it can be a bit tough.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    March 8, 2019Viator

    I second your thoughts: we have a great team and culture in Sydney and all our offices! Dermot

  2. Helpful (8)

    "Political, unfair, toxic culture. Don’t waste your time."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great office * Great snacks and Friday Lunch.

    Cons

    Yes, Viator Sydney used to be a great place till Vacation Rentals stepped in. Tripadvisor Experiences( Viator) got a new CEO from Vacation Rentals and he brought his team with his. Obvious isn’t it. Quite a few higher management relocated to Sydney and took powers into their hands. From then, its all favourism and politics. Favourism over Skill: Managers would never give a chance to the deserving team or the individual, rather they will give it to their favourites. Always, the favourites will get a chance to work on the greenfield projects and to move around new projects and the tech stack. While others need to fix their defects and support the legacy systems. Lack of Trust: Difference in opinion is not at all acceptable. Even if you have it, it’s better not to raise it. You will get into their bad books. Forget about quality or maintenance, release it ASAP, if you say no, you will be tagged as a slow performer. Culture of looking at how many commits you have done in a day/month, how much time you take to deliver a feature at the back of your shoulder. This data could have been used constructively, rather they used it to create an unsafe work culture. You have to be an exhibitionist to thrive. But, the team work was getting destroyed with this culture. Had multiple discussions with the management regarding this, but the efforts were futile. Time spent on pool and table tennis table will be monitored(not officially though). They would ask us to limit our play time, when the US counterparts visits. (Earlier glassdoor review on the same was removed :)) Lack of Freedom: Top management has strong choice of the tech stack to be used in the project across the company. No question of right tool for the right job. For Instance, Spring framework is not favoured, because some team /team members didn’t understand them :). Why on earth, you will write their own transaction management and maintain it??? You need to fight hard to justify that the tool you chose is the right one, end of the day it will be rejected and you would be tagged as rebel.

    Continue reading

  3. "It was amazing while it lasted"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Viator full-time

    Pros

    - Fantastic work life balance, with one week on and one week off - so essentially working half the year - Regular team events (lunches, Friday night drinks etc) - Health and travel reimbursements for wellness - Being able to swap shifts - Wonderful team of diverse people

    Cons

    - Was difficult to progress in the company unless you had been there a very long time

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "I love it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management is good and very supportive. Work environment is fantastic: close to transport, roomy, food provided on Fridays. The team members are really good guys, easy to work with.

    Cons

    Release process is not easy, but improvements are being made

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    March 8, 2019Viator

    I¹m glad you feel supported by management and your team. As for our release process, we¹re constantly working to improve things, balancing ease of releasing with making sure releases happen without incident, all the while making sure that the process works for every one of our worldwide engineering team. Our metrics show that things are improving, but there¹s always more work to be done. I welcome your ideas on how we can continue improving, so please don't hesitate to reach out Sugata Mukhopadhyay, VP of Engineering, TripAdvisor Experiences

  5. Helpful (15)

    "Not as advertised"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Owned by Tripadvisor, so looks good on your resume. Nice office, but there is no real tangiable benefit other than to impress the candidates the company is trying to hire.

    Cons

    Was promised the latest technology, but reality is your working on legacy applications. Using a non-standard tech stack. Directors just like to talk and talk and talk and tend to favor you if you are a brown noser. Sausage fest. Very low proportion of female employees compared to other IT companies. I hope this is not a intentional policy. Culture of bullying. Low basic salary.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    July 11, 2019Recruiting Operations Coordinator

    We work hard at fostering an inclusive and positive work environment for all of our employees, so it’s concerned to hear your feedback. We have zero tolerance for this type of behavior you describe, and I ask that you please immediately talk to your manager or HR partner to flag any of these instances. As for a low proportion of female employees - that’s simply not true. Lastly, with regard to your comments on working with legacy applications, we’ve made long-term investments to fundamentally transform how we operate internally and externally. We’re continuously examining our tools and methodologies precisely so that we can shed legacy platforms and accelerate our development speed and cadence to better service travelers and our suppliers. If you’d likely to discuss any of the items you’ve raised, I’m always happy to chat with you. Please reach me directly. Thanks, Jon Swinghammer, VP of Engineering

  6. Helpful (13)

    "One of the worst big tech companies"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally good work life balance Impressive office

    Cons

    -Very poor senior management - being asked to submit a good company review. -Bossy managers who will try to micro manage engineers. -The Tripadvisor rating process is good, but Sydney has managed to manipulate it. -Performance reviews are not based on merit - the directors will look at your face and allocate your rating. This rating directly correlates to compensation. -Lower than industry average salary, masked by an allocation of tripadvisor shares, which are losing value(mostly) every day. -Employees regulary leaving is not just coincidence, pathetic glassdoor rating is a true reflection of the company. -If you want your ideas to be listened to, you need to be a directors lackey. -Not the best company location.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    July 11, 2019Recruiting Operations Coordinator

    We work hard to provide an excellent employee experience, and it seems we might not have might not have hit the mark for you. We’d very much welcome a conversation about it - please feel free to reach out to HR, your manager, or any senior leader in Sydney. As a company that was built on candid feedback, attempting to influence reviews is very much against our ethos and what we stand for. We want to hear all feedback, good and bad - it’s the only way we get better.

  7. Helpful (13)

    "Things are just declining"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work perks, snacks, balanced working style

    Cons

    Things are dropping rapidly since new management involved. Original culture is getting ruined. Processes are forcibly stepping back to the old fashion. Matters are not communicated well. Hard to see where is the career development path. Reporting lines are in a mess. So heartbroken to see once a top Sydney employer becomes the situation like now. Glassdoor scores honestly tell the decline. Give two stars only because it is still getting worse.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    July 26, 2018Viator

    Transitions are never easy and there’s no doubt we’ve seen a significant amount of change over the last year. It’s inevitable for our culture to evolve alongside these changes, but I respectfully disagree with the notion that “things are dropping rapidly”. As our business results show, we’re growing quickly and meaningfully by every metric. We’re moving forward, and the projects this office is working are setting us up for years of growth and development ahead. And on the subject of development we are committed to continuing to bring courses and programs to the site to drive individual and team growth/learning. The Sydney office is the backbone of our engineering efforts and as we further cement our leadership of this industry, there’s incredible opportunity for everyone on this team. We have an exciting roadmap and we’ll continue to be transparent about our plans through channels like our regular all-hands meetings, team meetings, and one-to-ones. These forums are designed to maintain open communication and if you feel you’re not being heard, we want to know. I welcome any feedback you might have - my door is always open, so feel free to reach me or your direct manager at any time. -Jon Swinghammer, VP Engineering

  8. Helpful (21)

    "A drifting ship"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Viator full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice Sydney offices, relaxed-stress free environment

    Cons

    Everything is moving to TA HQ. weak senior management who hires their “mates”in line management.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    April 24, 2018TripAdvisor

    Over the last year-and-a-half, we’ve closely integrated Viator and TripAdvisor to become a single team. Each of our offices leads critical work, and Sydney is the core of our engineering operations. You and your team are leading one of the business’s largest projects; your work will set us up for faster growth for years to come. Our senior management team is a talented, experienced group and, along with their teams, they’ve brought incredible business growth in the last 18 months. We’ve become the fastest-growing part of TripAdvisor: we’re leading non-hotel revenue growth of 24% year-over-year, TripAdvisor-sourced Attractions bookings have more than doubled year-over-year, and we grew inventory by nearly 50% last year. We owe this growth to our people, and we hire carefully to ensure we get the right person for the right role. In many cases we promote from within (and we’ve seen many historically Viator and historically TA people take on new opportunities), and in some cases, we look externally. I’m sorry to hear you’ve not been happy with your experience and we’d like to hear more. Our doors are always open, and I encourage you to reach out to me, your manager or HR. -Jon Swinghammer, VP Engineering

  9. Helpful (19)

    "Not the company you want to grow your career with"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time

    Pros

    Nice office. Free lunch and booze on Fridays.

    Cons

    One of the worst things that can happen to you here is, a director deciding on your rating. The seniour director dropped the rating of a colleague because he thought that it's appropriate for him. There goes the new review process which the VP is actually proud of. Another would be witnessing another colleague being escorted out of the office but receiving an email that he resigned. If you think that they will promote you because you did well in the last year, think again. The management favour their mates. Most of the promotions this year were given with little to no merits.

    Continue reading

    Viator Response

    June 1, 2018Viator

    As you note, we recently introduced a new review process, which took into account feedback from hundreds of team members across the company. Our new and improved system looks at both what an individual does, as well as how they do it. And because teamwork is such an important part of our business, we collect feedback from not only your direct manager, but also co-workers at various levels of the organization. This new approach to reviews concluded in several team members getting recognized and promoted for their hard-work and team contributions, including many individuals from the Sydney office. If you have any additional concerns, I encourage you to speak with your manager, or feel free to contact me directly. I’m always happy to have an earnest and constructive conversation with you about any areas that you think we should address as a team. Thanks, Jon Swinghammer, VP of Engineering

  10. Helpful (20)

    "Once a great place to work at, not anymore."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Viator full-time

    Pros

    The office is quite nice.

    Cons

    This company's Glassdoor rating has been in free fall since the management shift, slipping from 4.5+ to the current 2.7 in a little more than a year. The quality of work is nothing as is promised during interviews. There are a bunch of legacy systems which have to be maintained/enhanced, and a greenfield project which is being mostly being driven by the team in US. They say they use Agile and Kanban but in reality there is such a rush to finish things on guesstimated deadlines that developers are regularly clocking overtime. The review system is basically a laughable sham as the single biggest factor in doing well here is being mates with directors. Ratings do not matter. You just have to be liked by a director to be taken care of really well. Not really how a professional organization should function. The pay is below average padded with faltering Tripadvisor stock options. Some people have adjusted to the new toxic culture, some even seem to be thriving in it, but in the end, this company has low quality work and a deteriorating work culture. I would not recommend it to anyone who is talented and serious about career progression.

    Viator Response

    May 7, 2018Viator

    This business is growing rapidly and there’s much opportunity for career development, as we’ve seen through a number of recent promotions. The Sydney office is the backbone of our engineering efforts, and played a significant role in the tremendous growth we’ve seen in the last year. It's worth noting Sydney is critical to the ‘greenfield’ project you point out, and one of the lead architects is based in this office. As you know, this project is our long-term investment to fundamentally transform how we operate both internally and externally. It’s exactly what will allow us to shed the legacy platforms you mention, accelerate our development speed and cadence, and provide suppliers with increasingly better, quicker ways to market their businesses through TripAdvisor. In addition to this project, there is a significant effort to enhance our post-purchase experience with a new platform that was designed by the team in Sydney with support from our other offices. The primary design and implementation work was led from Sydney. On methodologies, we’re continuously examining our approach to software development so that it strikes the right balance between a lightweight approach to encourage individual ownership, as well as the right structure to support the broader team effectively. The changes we’ve made to our organization have been incredibly effective and the results speak for themselves: we’re the fastest-growing part of TripAdvisor, we’re leading non-hotel revenue growth of 24% year-over-year, TripAdvisor-sourced Attractions bookings have more than doubled year-over-year, and we grew inventory by nearly 50% last year. Lastly, with regards to our review process, we introduced a new system this year following feedback from hundreds of team members across the company. Our new and improved system looks at both what an individual does, as well as how they do it. And because teamwork is such an important part of our business, we collect feedback from peers at various levels – far beyond just your manager. This new approach to reviews concluded in several team members getting recognized and promoted for their hard-work and contributions, including many engineers from the Sydney office. As a top technology company and the world’s largest travel site, we offer very competitive packages that are up to par with other players in the industry. If you’d like to discuss any of the above items or have any further feedback to share, I’m always happy to chat with you. Please feel free to reach out to me directly any time. Thanks, - Jon Swinghammer, VP Engineering

Found 131 reviews