Victoria University Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Victoria University Reviews

Updated 31 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
Victoria University CEO Neville Jordan
Neville Jordan
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Good flexibility and conditions (especially superannuation)(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Further staffing cuts are likely to be necessary before VU achieves a balanced budget - especially if the current government's Budget cuts go ahead(in 4 reviews)

  • "Constant change plans and restructures, plus financial uncertainty, leads to the place always feeling like it is in a state of crisis(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work Placement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Protection and Control Engineer in Melbourne

    I worked at Victoria University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Friendly and Engaging Environment at work 2) Lots of things to learn

    Cons

    1)Unpaid 2)No scope for future jobs unless you are a PHD candidate

    Victoria University2018-04-01
  2. "Lecturuer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Victoria University

    Pros

    The enviroment was good and well organi\

    Cons

    It was too far away from my house

    Advice to Management

    Have got nothing to say to management

    Victoria University2019-05-08
  3. "The grass is not greener"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Central Services in Footscray
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location - being outside the CBD

    Cons

    Managers operate through bullying, separating you from colleagues, and making you do pointless tasks. Jobs for friends. If you have success be prepared for many people to come after you to tear you down. Insecure, incompetent managers = Tall poppy syndrome. Managers will destroy your confidence and will to live, if not your career.

    Advice to Management

    Having good staff is not a threat to your career. Tearing them down when they do good things just reveals your own incompetence.

    Victoria University2019-05-31
  4. "The worst law school in the worst university in Australia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lecturer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Victoria University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CBD location is convenient. The library staff are wonderful.

    Cons

    This is the worst law school in Australia. Its existence is a fraud on the taxpayer. It has a zero research profile, yet one of the largest cohorts of PhD candidates in Australia. Long a jobs for mates hotbed, the students are terribly weak, and the management gobbsmackingly incompetent. Management, especially under the previous regime, relied on lies and bullying. This is a career graveyard. Teaching loads so high your...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Resign

    Victoria University2019-05-05
  5. "I love my Uni"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Footscray

    I have been working at Victoria University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Invest in their students and train them to become efficient employees

    Cons

    underpay their new staff comparing to other univesities

    Advice to Management

    keep an eye on best practices and structured processes

    Victoria University2019-02-28
  6. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Victoria University part-time

      Pros

      Easy Work, good pay, good hours,

      Cons

      There is no downside, except for limited places employment opportunities.

      Victoria University2019-01-15
    • "Ups and downs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Victoria University full-time

      Pros

      - Good flexibility and conditions (especially superannuation) - Reasonable market competitive pay - Some excellent people passionate about education and research

      Cons

      - Leadership lacks coherence and direction - Performance management done so poorly that bad staff stay indefinitely and drive out more competent people - Constant change plans and restructures, plus financial uncertainty, leads to the place always feeling like it is in a state of crisis

      Advice to Management

      Pick a well-thought-out strategy, then stick to it for a reasonable amount of time!

      Victoria University2018-11-21
    • "IT Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne

        I worked at Victoria University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The experience was good because after my studies, I was retained and didn't need to look for an opening elsewhere.

        Cons

        Top management was a joke.

        Advice to Management

        Hire experienced top management.

        Victoria University2018-08-16
      • "procurement specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Victoria University full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        large organization, stable job and leaving load

        Cons

        lack of management and development potential

        Victoria University2018-05-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Avoid"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Footscray
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at Victoria University full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Nothing at all. Employees are minions

        Cons

        If you want to teach 20 hours a week with no admin support, this is the place for you,

        Advice to Management

        Block mode - ludicrous. I see no suggestion the VC or the other overpaid leaders taking pay cuts or reducing their numbers. Why should staff & students then?

        Victoria University2018-05-31
      Found 40 reviews