Volvo Cars Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Volvo Cars Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Volvo Cars CEO Håkan Samuelsson
Håkan Samuelsson
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Swedish attitude rether slower response than some german competitors(in 5 reviews)

  • "Still most employees work in either China or Sweden(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Sutherland, New South Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Cars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and atmosphere

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations for sales targets and KPI’s

    Volvo Cars2019-10-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - NSW Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Cars full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic Product, ambitious plans, some good colleagues (outside the clique). Roomy offices, good furniture. Company car policy very reasonable. Gender equal pay structures

    Cons

    Totally toxic culture in Australia NSC. HQ actively promotes a whisteblower program, which enables disgruntled employees & dealers to tell outrageous lies about good employees. Targeted employees axed on basis of biased police style investigations, and without opportunity to answer accusations. Structure of bonus program actively favors head office senior management and discriminates against local team.

    Advice to Management

    Get real about ethics and culture. Build a realistic culture based on people. Time serving seat warmers have too much say. Targets are realistic, but budgets & resources aren't consistent. Allow a more stable plan to achieve growth targets

    Volvo Cars2018-06-09
  3. "Great Emerging Brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Cars full-time

    Pros

    Amazing product line that is continuing to grow.

    Cons

    Input on company direction falls on deaf ears.

    Volvo Cars2019-10-23
  4. "Wonderful environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Automotive Bookkeeper 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Cars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the most friendly people work in a team environment to assure collaborative and innovative solutions are down to earth and can be accomplished.

    Cons

    Everything would be fixed with 15% more sales.

    Volvo Cars2019-10-04
  5. "Good but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analysis Engineer in Gothenburg

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and relax environment

    Cons

    Low salaries and slow decisions

    Volvo Cars2019-10-01
  6. "Barely Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift Driver in Torslanda
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Cars part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got good pay for the minimal required education to get in.

    Cons

    Very corrupt and unfair, Very little work/life balance and pressure to work overtime. Absolutely 0 room for growth.

    Volvo Cars2019-09-27
  7. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Development and Training Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time

    Pros

    Environment, colleagues, location, integrity, professionalism

    Cons

    nothing is bad at all

    Volvo Cars2019-09-04
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Start up environment. Plenty of room for growth.

    Cons

    Not many lunch options in the vicinity

    Volvo Cars2019-08-21
  9. "A company that cares for people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gothenburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The corporate culture is collaborative, we are keen to develop and learn, the goals are ambitious, management is laid back. Fantastic products that I as an employee feel proud to be part of creating.

    Cons

    Sometimes we work in silos, happens easily in a big organisation like this. On site restaurants and gym facilities could be better.

    Volvo Cars2019-08-16
  10. "Sales Marketing Forecast Budget customer experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager in Ciudad de México
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    respectful enjoyable creative innovative process

    Cons

    few opportunities in Mexico Company

    Advice to Management

    Incredible

    Volvo Cars2019-08-28
Found 108 reviews