Vons Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vons Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 688 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Bob Miller
120 Ratings
Pros
  • "Customer service is at highest standard and can teach skills to apply in interpersonal communication(in 30 reviews)

  • "Attentive Management, Friendly coworkers, Flexible schedule, Great customer service,(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low wages, high union dues, part time hrs(in 33 reviews)

  • "I’m in my 30s and cannot live on part time minimum wage(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vons full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good place to work, hours benefits and good environment

    Cons

    long shifts, long days, adjustments

    Vons2019-06-14
  2. "Vons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Courtesy Clerk 

      I have been working at Vons part-time

      Pros

      Busy, always working, easy job

      Cons

      Low hours, rude customers but only sometimes

      Vons2019-06-14
    • "fun experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Vons part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      discounts and meeting new people

      Cons

      waking up early morning

      Vons2019-05-18
    • "post employment review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - HOME SHOPPING DEPARTMENT MANAGER in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Vons full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      union, very affordable healthcare, lenient, room for growth

      Cons

      employees are constantly calling out sick and keeping their jobs, company cuts so many hours and expects double work from everyone with mandatory deadlines, so many thieves and homeless people disrupting business

      Advice to Management

      I've been depressed and suicidal for the first 3 years with the company because I worked 20+ consecutive days monthly and 10-12 hours shifts with no support for hiring more employees. Then Teresa Benson became vice president of the e-commerce division and had Chris Durfey as her slave driver. Not one day went by that I didn't think about taking my life because of them. I finally built the courage to just leave and work...

      Show More
      Vons2019-05-16
    • "Meh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Produce Clerk 
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Vons part-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours Easy work Always chances to move up

      Cons

      Must work holidays No time off

      Vons2019-05-14
    • "a job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Lakewood, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Vons part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      open doors to many new opportunities.

      Cons

      not enough hours for a hard worker

      Vons2019-05-09
    • "It was a job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Vons part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Variety of experiences and potential avenues available, customer service, pricing, cleaning, cashiering, stocking, some growth potential

      Cons

      Low opportunity to move into something more skilled, low pay

      Advice to Management

      Value your employees, allow them to take breaks as required by law, hire more people

      Vons2019-04-27
    • "Awesome benefits for part time status"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Oxnard, CA

      I worked at Vons part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      401 K and Disneyland discounts

      Cons

      Difficult to advance to higher positions.

      Vons2019-04-19
    • "na"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Vons full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      free food sometimes and generally meeting lots of randos

      Cons

      place, its a souless, bitter envio full of lifers who exude self hatred

      Vons2019-05-23
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vons part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good customers and good work environment. Work and life balance

      Cons

      Limited positions. No room for growth and career advancement

      Vons2019-04-13
    Found 688 reviews