Vons Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Vons Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 712 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Vons CEO Bob Miller (no image)
Bob Miller
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Customer service is at highest standard and can teach skills to apply in interpersonal communication(in 30 reviews)

  • "Attentive Management, Friendly coworkers, Flexible schedule, Great customer service,(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low wages, high union dues, part time hrs(in 33 reviews)

  • "I’m in my 30s and cannot live on part time minimum wage(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Clerk in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vons part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Different hours to work

    Cons

    Not too much room for growth unless you become salary

    Vons2019-09-16
  2. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full benifets at part time

    Cons

    Albertsons bought Vons kind of sucked

    Continue reading
    Vons2019-09-01
  3. "Hired me for the summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checker in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interview process is relatively short. There are union benefits and protections.

    Cons

    Training was also relatively short. They put me at the register and I felt like a fish fresh out of water.

    Vons2019-08-30
  4. "I worked in the Fuel Station store in Las Vegas. It was actually a FUN job. I actually miss working there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Vons

    Pros

    Structure, Coworkers are nice, Boss works with you on anything, customers are friendly, hourly pay was good.

    Cons

    Re-stocking issues (broken shelves, not enough product, product expired, etc.) Bathroom issues, Small confide space, Gas Pump issues (pump shut down, refunding money that wasnt used to pump gas, gas pump leak, etc) system shut down (computers freeze, system stops working, etc.)

    Vons2019-08-28
  5. "Not a bad place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bookkeeper in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Vons full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of responsibilities and applicable skills, looks great on a resume.

    Cons

    No real cons to speak of

    Vons2019-08-27
  6. "Good job to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good job to start with.

    Cons

    Management may be reluctant to work with scheduling.

    Vons2019-08-21
  7. "Wouldn't go back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floral Manager 

    I worked at Vons full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pretty easy to advance if you show you're a hard worker

    Cons

    Management was poor 9/10 times at various stores. High expectations for low pay.

    Vons2019-08-30
  8. "Vons is more worried about their employees stealing, than the customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista - Starbucks 

    I worked at Vons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - pay ( i baragained because of experience)

    Cons

    - company policies -taping reciepts -lack of direction -lazy management

    Vons2019-09-14
  9. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Supervisor 

    I worked at Vons part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Opportunities , nice customers, good exposure

    Cons

    Lack of good hours, compensation is not that great

    Vons2019-08-06
  10. "Should pay more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in Studio City, CA

    I worked at Vons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consistent busy work. Nice managers.

    Cons

    Not enough pay. Old store.

    Vons2019-07-25
Found 712 reviews
</>Embed