Waddell & Reed Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Waddell & Reed Reviews

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 408 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Waddell & Reed CEO Philip Sanders
Philip Sanders
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Waddell & Reed Mutual Funds are fantastic with great leadership at the flagship(in 25 reviews)

  • "Good work- life balance with flexible schedules(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also they don’t pay for any of your licensing, so until you’re(in 22 reviews)

  • "100% commission and it can be difficult to build your own book from scratch(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "W&R"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Associate in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and helpful trainers. Managers are really cool. Dress code is laid back.

    Cons

    A lot of changes all at once. Lots of nuance that some know and others don't.

    Waddell & Reed2019-07-11
  2. "programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Bourg-en-Bresse
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Life work balance in the workplace

    Cons

    None to be said that is negative

    Advice to Management

    Cant think of something applicable

    Waddell & Reed2019-07-10
  3. "Cutting Costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coworkers, location, can be interesting work.

    Cons

    Recent cuts and layoffs. Many of the benefits enjoyed in the past are being erased by the new regime.

    Waddell & Reed2019-07-08
  4. "Lost Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time

    Pros

    Gave me the ability to get licensed and was at a time a great company to work for.

    Cons

    Lost its culture completely. Ever since the Hank left the company back in 2016 it has been nothing but bad decisions made at the executive level. They spent a billion dollars on a program to just throw it away years later.

    Advice to Management

    Build your culture back. People are scared about more layoffs. Be more transparent.

    Waddell & Reed2019-07-03
  5. "ok company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    brought in lunch during busy season

    Cons

    Management would never look you in the eye when he talked to you.

    Waddell & Reed2019-06-09
  6. "Honest review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have a great team environment culture.

    Cons

    Too many cut backs on incentives and not staying competitive with raises.

    Waddell & Reed2019-06-07
  7. "Advisor mill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Hartford, CT

      I worked at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Opportunity to make good money if you stick with the company

      Cons

      Need to sell their products. not a true advisor you are a sales person for their products.

      Waddell & Reed2019-06-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "Pushing a 2,000 lb boulder uphill"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Accounting Clerk in Overland Park, KS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good pay and good location

      Cons

      HR is a nightmare. If you are not on board with what they are doing, they get rid of you. They have overlayed a new comp/bonus structure and now my pay has been reduced and my stock award was eliminated. There are new hires who are VPs and they manage 1 person.

      Advice to Management

      Every quarter management says they are committed to success, but there is nothing to show for it. Assets still flowing out the door. Comp and benefits getting cut. They talk about living their values but management doesn't do that.

      Waddell & Reed2019-05-23
    • "W&R"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Benefits, PTO, good people in both field and HQ. Used to have gifts and awards, give turkey for Thanksgiving, etc..

      Cons

      Revolving door of advisors, many were thrown in the oven without a life best. Job duties change swiftly and vary between field offices. Communication between HQ and field was not great. Lots of pressure on admins to correct expensive mistakes without much training. They have worked on that though in the years I was there. Did not make living wage.

      Advice to Management

      A little goes a long way. There are a lot of ppl that love the company that feel unappreciated

      Waddell & Reed2019-04-06
    • Helpful (7)

      "On its way to the bottom"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Overland Park, KS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Waddell & Reed full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      My direct manager and co-workers are great. If I didn't work with good people, I'd find a new job. Good work- life balance with flexible schedules.

      Cons

      The company is being ran by a HR leader who has somehow managed to manipulate those in the C- suite into thinking he's a genius - on all topics. He's a bully who lacks integrity, professionalism and basic understanding of HR functions. Your HR leader should not throw tantrums like a 2 year old when he doesn't get his way. There's little training, low raises, consistent turnover, low morale, basic benefits, poor leadership,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Wake up! You are being led off a cliff. Really invest in your employees. Provide better training, opportunities and pay. Adding a foosball table to the cafe is not the right strategy to obtain and maintain top level talent.

      Waddell & Reed2019-04-03
    Found 408 reviews