Weber Shandwick Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Weber Shandwick Reviews

Updated 29 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Weber Shandwick CEO Gail Heimann
Gail Heimann
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good reputation, talented colleagues, flexible working arrangements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Weber Shandwick part-time

    Pros

    Being part of a large global network means that colleagues all over the world are instant friends and always so willing to communicate. Weber Shandwick has a good reputation so it attracts talented people so connecting with people on the other side of the world, working on the same account, with the same smarts and vision - that's pretty awesome and like nothing I've ever experienced. Personally, I've been very grateful for the flexible working arrangement that I've been able to negotiate since becoming a parent, too. In my experience, they live the diversity values they claim.

    Cons

    I have no major cons. Salary is always something that I need to negotiate, but I think that is kinda common wherever you are?

    Weber Shandwick2018-10-10
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Public Relations Intern in Sydney

    I worked at Weber Shandwick for less than a year

    Pros

    Agency works with really cool and well known brands, great environment, amazing employees.

    Cons

    Expand their presence and work globally.

    Weber Shandwick2019-07-08
  3. "Consumer Team PR intern in Beijing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weber Shandwick

    Pros

    Great opportunity for students to learn PR strategies and get to know how dose PR work.

    Cons

    Poor condition in life-work balance, extra working time on a daily basis

    Weber Shandwick2019-05-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weber Shandwick full-time

    Pros

    Great clients and opportunities

    Cons

    Always making decisions by looking at the balance sheet.

    Weber Shandwick2018-09-11
  5. "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weber Shandwick full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, healthy budgets to do exciting work

    Cons

    adhering to global processes and protocol meant internal scope for creativity was limited

    Weber Shandwick2018-07-20
  6. "Account Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Coordinator in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weber Shandwick

    Pros

    Best People Best Creative Minds and Insights. Planned workflow and opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    They have an excellent Digital team but they need to expand their presence and work scope.

    Weber Shandwick2017-02-10
  7. "Weber Shandwick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Weber Shandwick full-time

    Pros

    large global agency, benefit of great senior minds and interesting client experiences

    Cons

    agency pressures are pretty high, but possibly not unique to WS

    Weber Shandwick2016-05-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best global PR agencies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weber Shandwick full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full suite of services, resources and experts available across its global network to employees and clients alike. Opportunity to work on big brands and support fun campaigns. Culture in the Chicago office is laid back and embraces a good mix of creative types and young, driven professionals.

    Cons

    Just like any other agency/office, times are tough when legacy accounts are lost and lead to layoffs and promotion freezes that stifle individual growth. Agency is having an identity crisis with too much emphasis on trying to sell in creative services and campaign platforms/assets and not enough emphasis on true PR + earned media relations (the bread and butter of our industry). There's a major disconnect between the creative and PR teams. Creative dept doesn't understand earned media or know what PR is and pushes out a lot of pretty bad ideas that aren't feasible, won't drive coverage and aren't worth the ROI. PR team has been segregated into different camps (Account vs. Integrated Media), pigeonholing these folks into one area or another. Not a strategic earned media agency at all. "Strategic media team" pushes paid media buys and packages across accounts. Almost as if leadership wants to become an ad/social agency and forgets it began as PR.

    Continue reading
    Weber Shandwick2019-11-23
  9. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Weber Shandwick

    Pros

    - Steep learning curve, colleagues are always willing to help and teach

    Cons

    - Not sure where the end product of my work goes

    Weber Shandwick2019-11-07
  10. "Really unfortunate experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weber Shandwick

    Pros

    Great company to have on your resume, great experience to work on high profile brands and accounts. Overall, I learned a lot and it's an experience I was definitely grateful to have.

    Cons

    My experience at Weber overall really disappointing. They lure in interns with the promise of getting converted to full time saying "it's basically a lock" and "90% of interns get hired and the other 10% decline their offer" (these are exact from my interviewing process), while in reality, a large portion of the intern class will not get offers. This was especially frustrating considering the lack of transparency and clarity regarding the hiring process. We were promised workshops and frequent updates on how to secure a full-time offer... this never happened and we were lucky if our internship coordinator even answered our emails. As for the way interns are treated, it's very hit or miss. A lot of interns did a whole lot of nothing over the eight weeks. Others are worked to the bone, with barely enough time to think. This was especially frustrating considering how strict they were regarding overtime and working exactly 8 hours every day. A lot of days I felt pushed beyond the limits for what is expected for a junior level person in one day and I frequently had to secretly do work on the weekends and at home at night just to keep my head above water for the next day. I worked with a lot of amazing, talented and dedicated people... and a good amount of nasty, petty individuals. It's really the luck of the draw on which accounts you are put on. I think the most disappointing aspect of the entire experience was that I often felt unsupported by a lot of coworkers. On multiple occasions my opinions, thoughts, concerns or questions were completely ignored or little action was done to make sure I was successful with the projects I was working. I asked for feedback DAILY and never got anything more than "you're doing good."

    Continue reading
    Weber Shandwick2019-11-20
Found 777 reviews