Welch Allyn Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Welch Allyn Reviews

Updated 16 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 139 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Steve Meyer
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Team and work environment(in 8 reviews)

  • "When the Allyn family owned the business it was one of the very best places to work that you could possibly imagine(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Maybe things have changed since the Hill Rom acquisition by I left before this happened(in 10 reviews)

  • "There is mobility available as long as you are willing and able to relocate to the main office in Central New York state(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Welch Allyn

    Pros

    Great place to learn for a first job!

    Cons

    Due to being an intern, I wasn't there for too long to have any negative experiences.

    Welch Allyn2019-05-17
  2. "Good Temp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Picker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Welch Allyn

    Pros

    I was a temp worker. Great work environment and everyone was friendly

    Cons

    I was not given any time off. Let go right around Christmas

    Welch Allyn2019-04-29
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Ophthalmic Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Welch Allyn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, traveling for work

    Cons

    Really have nothing negative to say

    Welch Allyn2019-04-23
  4. "OK company but bad communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Welch Allyn

    Pros

    Simple day to day work

    Cons

    Limited organization and poor change management

    Welch Allyn2019-04-17
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Very Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Quality in Skaneateles Falls, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Welch Allyn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None to mention at this time

    Cons

    The morale has gone down with the sale to Hill Rom.

    Advice to Management

    None they don't listen

    Welch Allyn2019-04-16
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Welch Allyn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits are good and most of the sales people are great.

    Cons

    All the recent changes have been horrible to morale and the culture. Not well thought out, training is a joke and demo equipment not functional. More time spent solving customer problems than actual selling. Management and Marketing seem to be more interested in preserving their huge egos instead of listening.

    Advice to Management

    When asked about turnover, management should acknowledge the issues instead of pretending it isn't a problem. When you ask Sales how to fix the problems, listen instead of calling people ignorant and negative.

    Welch Allyn2019-02-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Welch Allyn full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and time off

    Cons

    Organization has too many senior managers / Directors relative to the size of the company. True inverted pyramid.

    Welch Allyn2018-11-21
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Had to leave- circling the drain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Welch Allyn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sad to leave good friends behind

    Cons

    This place is a mess. Salesforce bumbling around with little thought from Management. Field doesn’t have the tools they need to sell. Infighting between salesforces. Disaster.

    Advice to Management

    Major retooling of management- hiring a training department- make a plan instead of doing everything half way

    Welch Allyn2018-12-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great people and products that matter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Welch Allyn full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was with Welch Allyn for 11 years before it was acquired by Hill-Rom in 2015. Since it was a private company, teams were able to do what was in the best interest of the company and people. We experienced year on year growth and the culture was amazing, with family members still involved with the day-to-day. We had fun, worked hard and celebrated successes.

    Cons

    Once Hill-Rom acquired Welch Allyn the culture and vibe completely changed. The bottom line was all that mattered and a culture of fear and "who's going to be let-go next" quickly evolved. The halls went from laughter and "hall meetings" to silence. Management was brought in from corporate HQ and Baxter, and those with extensive background and history were terminated. For the first time in history, Welch Allyn didn't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get to know the people in the separate divisions and what they really do before making staffing decisions.

    Welch Allyn2018-11-08
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Welch Allyn

    Pros

    Always something to do. Got to work with multiple teams.

    Cons

    Sometimes work can seem repetitive.

    Welch Allyn2018-10-29
Found 139 reviews