Zara Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Zara Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Zara First Deputy Chairman and CEO Inditex Pablo Isla Álvarez de Tejera
Pablo Isla Álvarez de Tejera
897 Ratings
Pros
  • "prepares you to work in a fast paced/competitive retail landscape(in 156 reviews)

  • "Relatively good pay , nice colleges(in 117 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not good managment, long hours of work(in 148 reviews)

  • "You may work full time hours as a part time worker(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Stockroom person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Storeman 

    I worked at Zara part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most people were lovely, good atmosphere

    Cons

    I struggled with the travel because I lived out of the area

    Zara2019-04-23
  2. "Good employees, bad bosses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Animator 

    I have been working at Zara part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees were all fun to work with and friendly.

    Cons

    All the higher-ups were terrible and are obviously disconnected from the reality of the employees

    Advice to Management

    Ask for more feedback from lower-level employees and be more flexible with processes

    Zara2020-01-08
  3. "You can never get bored when working in Zara."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zara full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dynamic work environment. You can never get bored. Perfect for challenge lovers. You are always trendy and fashionable as you need to wear from Zara, which is the best brand in retail. Best place for fashion seeker. Perfect place to start working as a new graduate or who is new in the industry because you can learn a lot about management. You will manage product, people and customer in your position. Good salary. International company. No gender or background discrimination ever happen in Zara. A good place to learn stress management.

    Show More

    Cons

    Extream pressure from upper management. You need to be a perfectionist to satisfy upper management, and you need to be a self-motivator to keep going without hearing about your performance when all is good.

    Advice to Management

    It would be better if the upper management measures their demand, and try to understand the facts of the ongoing operation of stores. Also, remember saying 'well done' or 'good job' motivate people.

    Zara2019-12-10
  4. "Terrible management, terrible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zara full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay day One 3 day weekend each month You won’t need to do cardio anymore

    Cons

    Terrible management! unorganised, untrustworthy, favouritism in company progression, constant use of bullying/intimidation tactics. Understaffed and constant turn over due to staff quitting.

    Advice to Management

    they don’t take advice

    Zara2019-12-27
  5. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Gold Coast

    I have been working at Zara part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good team and amazing shopping center

    Cons

    salary and hous during low season

    Zara2019-11-19
  6. "Bullies for management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Maribyrnong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zara full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers and I all stuck together and supported each other.

    Cons

    Overworked, over-criticised, long hours with no appreciation, awful treatment from management.

    Advice to Management

    Speak to your staff with respect and you'll get it back

    Zara2019-11-27
  7. "Take as much as knowledge as you can."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Zara
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zara full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Zara is a really good place to work for someone that is a multitasking person and will to learn. Not much training but you do learn so many things for surviving in there. Very good team, hardworking.

    Cons

    No much training, we depend on HR for most of the changes in the store, poor of communication, sometimes I was the last one to know what was going on. They gonna hold yourself for the last to give you a new contract for the promotion.

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to have better manners to talk with employers, I believe that some of then they do not even have a degree/course as a HR.

    Zara2019-11-25
  8. "Thanks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Zara full-time

    Pros

    Good place To work there

    Cons

    Bad memory , not good working conditions

    Zara2019-11-10
  9. "Can’t complain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Zara part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The co workers were friendly and fun

    Cons

    Some managerial staff were absolutely terrible

    Zara2019-11-21
  10. "Alright Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Zara part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Typical retail job Flexible with block out days

    Cons

    Terrible culture Not much career advancement opportunity

    Zara2019-11-16
Found 3382 reviews
</>Embed