Zara Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Zara Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3158 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Zara CEO Pablo Isla Álvarez de Tejera
Pablo Isla Álvarez de Tejera
854 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learn valuable skills and experience working in a fast paced environment(in 141 reviews)

  • "Relatively good pay , nice colleges(in 100 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not good managment, long hours of work(in 125 reviews)

  • "Part time workers are always assigned dinner breaks as early as 3pm while full timers get the best breaks at about 7pm(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Stockroom person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Storeman 

    I worked at Zara part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most people were lovely, good atmosphere

    Cons

    I struggled with the travel because I lived out of the area

    Zara2019-04-23
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zara part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work experience Fast paced environment Friendly staff

    Cons

    No discounts for casual workers

    Zara2019-08-15
  3. "Hard but good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Chadstone
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zara part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members, Group activites, fast pace

    Cons

    Low support from managers and head office, understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Put more staff

    Zara2019-08-19
  4. "Conflicted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zara full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable hours, friendly team, fast paced & challenging

    Cons

    Callous management, constantly rotating staff, confusing chain of command, no staff discount for non-full time staff

    Advice to Management

    Hire more Australians so that your staff isn’t constantly leaving. The store would run more smoothly if new people didn’t have to be trained all the time. Also, the culture of management is really cliquey and creates a really uncomfortable environment for staff.

    Zara2019-08-07
  5. "Cashier Department Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zara full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Pay, many career opportunities

    Cons

    Poor company culture, poor training, employees overworked, unpaid overtime, poor working conditions, too much pressure on managers, high-turnover, uneducated HR, unqualified managers

    Advice to Management

    Get good, cause you suck

    Zara2019-08-20
  6. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zara part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture AND FRIENDS were amazing

    Cons

    No room for growth in there

    Advice to Management

    reconsider you policy and care about your team

    Zara2019-07-15
  7. "good for experience fashion retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Window Dresser 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zara full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    zara has many range of trendy items so it was really good to make fashion experience.

    Cons

    salary never change, they always edit contract whatever they want, even I had worked more than 3years my salary was fixed. horrible teamwork

    Advice to Management

    do not be too strict

    Zara2019-07-17
  8. "Worst experience in retail I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zara full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meet some nice casual and full time sales assistants

    Cons

    -you were never allowed to bring your water bottle onto the floor, you had to either go all the way into the back room or go without water -managers had favourites and if you were't a favourite you were treated unfairly -when I first started I was put into the fitting room all day for a few weeks straight by myself for 8 hours a day, only time I stepped out was on the lunch break

    Advice to Management

    Treat all staff fairly as everyone deserves to be treated like a human and there might not be so many turn over in staff

    Zara2019-08-06
  9. "better not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Zara full-time

    Pros

    staff discount, fast paced fashion

    Cons

    physically and mentally draining especially during sale season

    Zara2019-07-09
  10. "Terrible Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Bourke
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zara full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to move up into management if you can survive the terrible work environment

    Cons

    Takes 3 months full time work to get staff discount Management doesn't care about you, they see you as easily replaceable Shift time are awful, some days you work until 10pm and then can start at 7am the next day Don't pay you penalty rates No variety, all you do is fold tables, tidy rails, or run items from the fitting room back onto the floor. No actual customer service/selling. Store is always super...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like people

    Zara2019-07-15
Found 3158 reviews