ZipRecruiter Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

ZipRecruiter Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 216 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
ZipRecruiter CEO Ian Siegel
Ian Siegel
151 Ratings
Pros
  • "Zip is a company that has figured it out(in 18 reviews)

  • "The health care is awesome, free catered lunches and cool top performer prizes awarded each month(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management doesn’t care at all about their sales reps(in 13 reviews)

  • "It actually hurts Zip in the long run to be giving every single incoming call to Corporate reps as they are de valuing the smaller value ones(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Thank you for the best 3 years of my career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ZipRecruiter full-time

    Pros

    There are so many positives that I can put here. The one thing that holds true about Zip (like many things in life) you truly get what you put in. I started at ZipRecruiter about 3 years ago and I have been challenged in more ways than I could ever imagine. I originally started as an entry level AE and worked my way to our top sales team at the time. See Zip uses an incredible promotion system based on... promotional credits. So you promote YOURSELF with YOUR performance. I always wanted to be a leader in my sales career, so I vocalized that with our leadership team. At that time I was not ready to be a leader, but I kept coming back asking for advice and things that I needed to work on. During this time every one from my manager to our Senior VPs were more than open to help me out in my goal to be a leader. In most sales orgs there are leaders that would not even entertain that conversation with me but not at Zip. After a few months of seeking guidance and reading a plethora of recommended books I became a leader. I was a leader at Zip a bit longer than I was actually a representative, so I really had a good understanding of both worlds. Zip has promoted many reps to be managers from within (I personally have promoted 3 people), so if you are looking for career growth you are at the right place. Being a leader at Zip taught me so much about how to grow a business, but the most important lessons I learned was how to be an effective leader. My directors really took the time to invest in my development and to make sure that I was able to fill the cups of my representatives on a daily basis. During my time at Zip I worked with a myriad of leaders in some sort of capacity. The thing I can tell you from my experience is that they all care. Zip has some of the best people managers in the industry. These guys and girls all work their tails off everyday and truly want to see the best for their representatives. Between contests, taking teams to Medieval Times, WWE events, and swanky dinners these leaders continuously go above and beyond to curate a positive culture at Zip. This is a top down initiative coming from the CEO himself. At the end of the day I could not have asked for a better tenure at a better company. The guys and gals that I worked with at Zip were some all world class. Ian, Will, Joe, and Ward (Ziprecruiter founders) truly care about every single employee and they have built an excellent team around them that carry the same sentiment.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are not many Cons about working at Zip. Ziprecruiter is great for people that want to be challenged every day, that are curious, and have a good work ethic. The company is constantly changing and innovating (it feels like daily at times). At Zip it is literally like putting a rocket together in mid-flight. There will be days, weeks, and months that you will feel the pivots harder than others. Always know that... people are working feverishly behind the scenes to make things better. If you are someone who struggles with these things then Zip may not be the best fit for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to innovate and build a World Class Organization. I will leave you with advice that was told to me by an amazing leader "Mission First People Always".

    ZipRecruiter2019-09-15
  2. "Good company with room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at ZipRecruiter full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture with free lunch and stocked fridges. You can make good money if you’re in the right department.

    Cons

    Lowered commission structure in my department

    Advice to Management

    The company could pay their reps a bit more

    ZipRecruiter2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Smoke and Mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZipRecruiter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health Insurance, other benefits and perks: lunch and snacks provided daily, unlimited vacation, covered parking...

    Cons

    Zip lacks a quality product on both the employer and job seeker sides. Sales reps are pushy, aggressive, and misleading. The product for job seekers is essentially useless (trust me, I’ve attempted to use it a few different times in my career). The culture is very toxic, unhealthy, un-collaborative, fake, and there are ample “protected” or “chosen ones” who could probably get away with murder (OG employees or... essentially anyone in Santa Monica (especially CA HR team members)). Communication is horrendous; as a company, between departments, within departments, between HR and other departments. Managers within Inside Sales don’t even know each other or interact! They work on the SAME floor, just yards away, but don’t even speak. If someone tells you about collaboration during the interview process they are lying big time. Because of this there is a lot of finger pointing, a lack of responsibility and of leaders (and certain HR employees) refusing to hold themselves accountable and own up to their stuff. You WILL find yourself (or your department) thrown under at least a few busses, so gear up... Aside from initial sales training, training is non-existent. Why they have a team of 10 or so people in L&D NO ONE KNOWS, literally no one has a clue... It really is all about money, money, money for anyone and everyone in a sales-based role, especially upper management. Some HR team members do attempt to truly care about employees but they tend get sucked up in the toxicity and BS too. Don’t bring too much attention to Zip’s shortcomings though or they will make sure that you find your way out the door. Long story long, I would not recommend working at ZipRecruiter as its shady, full of smoke and mirrors, and doesn’t really have the products to back any of it up. How they have 3.4 starts on here I have no clue... I believe that many of the 5 stars are fabricated, read them and compare them to the lower reviews and you’ll see...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    LOL

    ZipRecruiter2019-09-06
  4. Helpful (5)

    "As you grow, watch how you hire new leaders and value existing employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZipRecruiter full-time

    Pros

    FYI - Had I written this review a few months to a year before my departure, it would've been 4 or 5 stars (Oh well) - Great individuals/people - Nimble team // quick and agile learning processes (they're always testing and deploying) - Innovative approach (the use of AI) - Supportive benefits (esp if you're a parent) - Growth opportunities (if you have the right profile/pedigree) - Great attention to... details (esp when it comes to office spaces, swag, and events)

    Show More

    Cons

    This will likely lead to no changes whatsoever but here it goes -- - New management that enters and is threatened by existing employees and devalues the same employees who often have strong institutional, value-additive knowledge. To the point where they do everything in their power to drive out top performers by labeling them sub-par with the only support for that being minute, often PETTY, micro-managing that... favors form over substance. At one point, I was told directly by my manager, that I never earned the title I worked hard for, despite many years of scaling up with numerous impactful initiatives and adapting to the trajectory of Zip's business growth. i.e starting with Zip before the company had 100 people to the entire team totaling 1000+ employees, mind you with consistent, positive growth throughout. - New management that comes in and favors certain pedigrees (MBA/consulting etc), sometimes with ZERO experience in the disciplines they're being hired for over proven skill sets and contributions. Example - Was told at one point that we needed to hire an "expert" in certain discipline to handle an emerging initiative. But it ended up that an MBA was brought on, with little to no marketing experience. They had to ask the team to define what a "lead" is (HA!) - Negligent lack of transparency around career pathing - In the later years, a stark and blatant devaluation of employee contributions as shown by compensation increases that can be characterized as downright disrespectful. Despite the extremely positive economic upside of the business which includes consistently large rounds of funding. To define, stark/blatant and disrespectful - this means providing 'merit-based' increases that barely cover the rise in inflation. - When it comes to the funding piece, this only leads me to believe that someone could be cashing out rather than investing in the people. The people likely being one of the key motivating factors in their ability to even raise $100M+ rounds in the first place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Value your people, especially when it comes to those with strong institutional knowledge. Especially if you're a new manager. - To expand on the above, train your people, especially if they already have the knowledge to operate efficiently within the business. Imagine, how much more impactful an employee can be if you put your confidence in them and help them grow in a productive manner? As opposed to... micromanaging them on soft skill sets that anyone and everyone needs to work on throughout their entire career. Rome wasn't built in a day. This goes without saying. but considering you all know today's job market, you can't always hire you're way out of things. - People with certain pedigrees are "great" I guess but being able to say the right things and walking the right way (i.e Form) doesn't always translate into them putting their money where their mouth is (i.e Substance).

    Show More
    ZipRecruiter2019-08-26

    ZipRecruiter Response

    September 5, 2019Sr. Corporate Communications Manager

    We are sorry to hear that you didn’t have a consistently positive experience while working at ZipRecruiter. We strongly believe that feedback from current and former team members is key to making ZipRecruiter a great place to work, so thank you for your candid review. ZipRecruiter’s ...

    Show More
  5. "Amazing Company, People, Product & Benefits!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZipRecruiter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing Work-life balance, ability to grow and advance is never-ending with so much growth occurring.

    Cons

    normal growing pains that a "Start-Up" company goes through

    ZipRecruiter2019-08-07
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Please read before you consider working there..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Tempe, AZ

    I worked at ZipRecruiter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food... Great health care... Wear what you want...

    Cons

    Low base-pay... Bad management... Rules always changing, causing people to get fired all the time... I was there for a year, and started my employment with a class of 27 people. Within 7 months, there were 3 people left (including me). I took advice from a manager and that got me fired. I found a job within a week that paid me almost 3x the base that ZipRecruiter did. Don't be fooled by free food and a "fun... environment". The environment is FAR from fun, and everyone is always stressed trying to hit their numbers. From someone who made it a year there (which is very hard to do), go to a company that will pay you more for your efforts, value you like a real person, and not try to distract what you could be earning by giving you free lunches.

    Show More
    ZipRecruiter2019-08-09

    ZipRecruiter Response

    August 26, 2019Sr. Corporate Communications Manager

    Thanks for your honest feedback. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with ZipRecruiter was not a positive one. As always, we are dedicated to providing employees with the support that they need to succeed, and we will route your comments to training and management leadership.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "What a waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reactivation Outbound Sales in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZipRecruiter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, location, casual dress code and free food and snacks. work-life balance

    Cons

    low paying, highly micromanaged, pointless metrics , no parking. pointless meetings

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees what is promised in the expectations you built in the interview process. buy more parking spots and get back to sales instead of pointless metrics AIS and Clearslide. Also with reading a previous review please recognize the lack of diversity at ZipRecruiter! your hiring staff seems a bit biased now that i look at it. Color doesnt seem to be something ZipRecruiter wants to hire!

    ZipRecruiter2019-09-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Loving ZR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZipRecruiter

    Pros

    - free lunch everyday and breakfast on Wednesdays - flexible PTO - free health benefits - awesome office culture - working in a brand new position that is still being fleshed out and being able to contribute to something new - awesome office location in downtown Tempe - killer management team

    Cons

    The parking situation, currently have to park about a mile away at the west 6th garage and have to be shuttled in. This is not the company’s fault since Tempe does not provide enough parking. I actually applaud the ZR team for making it as best as they can.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work with hiring, definitely want to make sure I’m working with stellar people everyday that embrace the culture.

    ZipRecruiter2019-07-22

    ZipRecruiter Response

    July 22, 2019Sr. Corporate Communications Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working with ZipRecruiter. We’re happy to hear that you enjoy our company culture and the opportunity to contribute to something new. In our rapidly-evolving industry, we value the ideas and opinions of all our employees and encourage everyone ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZipRecruiter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The managers are great. Free food, free benefits. Great compensation plan. Plenty of room to move up. Best place I’ve ever worked

    Cons

    Strict on metrics... but well worth the hustle

    ZipRecruiter2019-07-19

    ZipRecruiter Response

    July 23, 2019Sr. Corporate Communications Manager

    We are glad to hear that your experience working with ZipRecruiter has been a positive one. Our management team aims to foster a work environment where employees have the tools to succeed and grow with the company. We are also happy that you enjoy and take advantage of our employee ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (2)

    "CEO is arrogant - the leadership problem at ZipRecruiter is systemic (and starts at the top)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZipRecruiter

    Pros

    Health benefits Free food Not much else

    Cons

    Many sales roles are offered, hired & on/boarded with compensation being salaried/exempt incorrectly (outside the scope of which labor law outlines when an employee should be salaried/exempt). ZipRecruiter is effectively side stepping laws regulating when an employee should be salaried/exempt or when an employee should be compensated with hourly wages/be non-exempt. ZipRecruiter should be paying hourly wages to... sales employees who do not have leadership/managerial decision making authority AND who’s Annual On Target Earnings/OTE are comprised of less commission than base pay/frozen wage. Furthermore, due to this practice - ZipRecruiter will not pay overtime when work takes employees beyond 40 hours weekly (whether in the office or at home). The “not so legal” positioning ZipRecruiter takes when on-boarding certain sales people as exempt enables them to squeeze more than 40 hours of work per week from baseline sale employees, and to avoid paying legally earned and due overtime wages. If seeking a sales role do not accept a salary (demand annual compensation remain the same as ZipRecruiter initially offers through a non-exempt status).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your organization operates entirely in the Human Capital industry. Hold yourselves to, at minimum, abiding by labor law to the letter and pay your employees accordingly. In addition, organize leadership training/testing. Leadership is not as simple as mimicking the CEO or being “bossy”. Sales leadership should strive to be less like Ian and more like Kevin G.

    ZipRecruiter2019-08-26

    ZipRecruiter Response

    September 11, 2019Sr. Corporate Communications Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re committed to fairly compensating all employees for work done and take wage and hour laws very seriously. We encourage any employees who have any questions or concerns to contact their human resources representative. Thank you again for your feedback.

Found 216 reviews