eharmony Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

eharmony Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
eharmony CEO Grant Langston
Grant Langston
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a great work/life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • "Free food, insurance, gym, yoga, they have a bar upstairs (open at sometimes(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great team work environment and plenty of opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    So far, there is really no cons working at eHarmony.

    eharmony2017-08-07
  2. "Lovely boss - company has so much potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at eharmony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The science is amazing as is the data.

    Cons

    Too much time spent on short term financials and not enough on 3-5 year vision

    Advice to Management

    Need concurrent strategies, optimise current product, while doing NPD. Can't use the excuse that current game is not optimal while the world has moved on to a whole new stadium. Need to start playing in the new ring and now.

    eharmony2018-01-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fix The Problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager in Westwood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company benefits are pros. You get free lunch twice a week.

    Cons

    The Human Resources department is a JOKE. They have to replace the receptionist every week because they can’t see that human resources is the problem. Why does it take 2 people to find a decent receptionist? Who do they think they are? No one is good enough because they’re so HIGH. For the little one? I don’t know why they still have her. Totally overpaid joke.

    Advice to Management

    Fire the over paid human resources manager.

    eharmony2019-06-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Manager 

      I worked at eharmony full-time

      Pros

      Learned a lot, good benefits, good pay

      Cons

      Unstable, cut throat, traditional, high stress

      eharmony2019-05-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Chaotic and Overly Perfectionistic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free food Good work / life balance

      Cons

      Very political Engineering is chaotic Leadership does not know what they are doing A bit cult-like

      Advice to Management

      Hire people-friendly and competent experts in leadership positions

      eharmony2019-05-06
    • Helpful (3)

      "Pretty Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Care Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at eharmony full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits, pay, and morale. Sense of purpose in work, positive atmosphere, friendly place to work.

      Cons

      Engineers and Tech departments seemed to get preferential treatment, policies were not customer friendly, focus on dollars and not customer experience, lots of internal promotions instead of bringing outside expertise. Was led to believe certain business projects were successful, only to find out they were not.

      Advice to Management

      Find new ways to make matches. Transparency.

      eharmony2019-01-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good run"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at eharmony full-time

      Pros

      Pioneered an industry, was a leader.

      Cons

      Lost its way. Many lost opportunities.

      eharmony2018-12-20
    • Helpful (6)

      "Outdated company, but I think they prefer to fail."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at eharmony full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Killer location, lots of free food, unlimited pto and great benefits. These have gotten better since I started working there too.

      Cons

      I know the product really well. It's not very good. The tech is really outdated and any innovative ideas are immediately shot down. Middle and upper management are lazy and don't have the mindset or skills to work for an internet company. The culture is still really Christian and conservative which is all wrong for California.

      Advice to Management

      Stop blaming a decade of failure on everyone but yourself. Stop micromanaging the product and let people who know their stuff make it relevant for 2018. Take some risks.

      eharmony2018-09-01
    • Helpful (4)

      "Low Morale working here and low pace work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at eharmony full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Eharmony has good benefits and payscale is competitive

      Cons

      Low morale due to lot of recent layoffs. Slow pace work.

      Advice to Management

      Your employees are a valuable asset to company and you should treat them like one. Do not treat your employees for short term hire and fire.

      eharmony2018-08-03
    • Helpful (4)

      "Lots of ups and downs over the last few years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at eharmony full-time

      Pros

      Awesome coworkers who share a vision and love working there when properly supported. HR is supportive (for the most part) and easy to talk to. Work is well compensated and benefits are great. Catered lunches and yummy snacks/drinks. Unlimited vacation.

      Cons

      Management is not very communicative. Widespread and unexpected layoffs. Location is loud (single-pane windows, which means you can hear ALL the traffic and commotion on the street... from the top of the building). Lots of traffic and people pretty much the whole time. Difficult to move up, unless you're in the right department or know the right managers. (this is my impression and my opinion, so take it with a grain...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Be honest with them with the company is doing well and when it is not doing well. Be more willing to take risks and support projects. Of the many hackathons that the company hosted, I honestly can't remember any of the great projects EVER being implemented (I might be wrong since the company hardly held employee meetings by the time I left). There were talks of work starting on hackathon projects, but we never really...

      Show More
      eharmony2018-07-16
    Found 124 reviews