ACT Commodities Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

ACT Commodities Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ACT Commodities Co-CEOs/Co-Founders Bram Bastiaansen and Jaap Janssen (no image)
Bram Bastiaansen and Jaap Janssen
2 Ratings
  1. "Toxic environment - proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Controller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ACT Commodities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to make money if you started early and got a decent slice of the customer pie. The company weekend is fun too. Good place if you have no experience and just graduated college.

    Cons

    Success will highly depend on your manager and how much you're willing to put the effort in making cold calls without one of your colleagues cannibalizing your margin. Limited liquidity in the market and the products are highly influenced by political agendas so it's definitely not your typical trading environment. Overall it's a frat-house type work environment that can be toxic at times. There is a non-compete agreement you will be signing and they have enforced it with employees in more than one office location in the past, so don't expect to use anything you learn at ACT somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    ACT Commodities2019-11-27

    ACT Commodities Response

    December 9, 2019Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not lead to a positive recommendation. At ACT we strive to be a great work environment for everyone and feedback helps us to improve this on an ongoing basis. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  2. "Better together!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Operator in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ACT Commodities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -young and talented team -company genuinely cares for you -dynamic and changing environment -company incentive schemes -family feel -environmental friendliness -proactivity is always rewarded

    Cons

    - you really have to fit with the company culture to take the most from your time at ACT

    Continue reading
    ACT Commodities2019-10-05
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and great opportunities to make good income.

    Cons

    One of the negative things could be considered that there is a high demand on time.

    ACT Commodities2019-09-24
  4. "Exciting time to be at ACT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive senior leadership. A lot of room to develop and show your entrepreneurial spirit. Fun environment. Definitely a place that I'm pumped to go to every day.

    Cons

    None at this time

    ACT Commodities2019-08-27

    ACT Commodities Response

    September 6, 2019Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with ACT! We are happy to hear that you enjoy ACT and the culture/environment.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company for the ambitious Sales Trader!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Trader in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ACT Commodities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ACT Commodities is a young trading company, they have interesting profit sharing opportunities when you´re a sales trader, a great atmosphere amongst colleagues and a very nice office in Amsterdam. When you start working at ACT, you are given all the tools, and also training, to be successful at your job. In addition, you are guided and mentored by your manager. Due to personal reasons I had to leave ACT. I was allowed to go home (and stay home) right away and during the months after I left, ACT has been very concerned and involved which I really(!) appreciated. I think back on a very good time at ACT where I learned a lot and where I got to know great people.

    Cons

    The work life balance can be difficult but if you want to be successful you have to put in the work.

    ACT Commodities2018-11-22
  6. Helpful (25)

    "Sales Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ACT Commodities full-time

    Pros

    Company trips, gifts and high end offices

    Cons

    Lack of morality, conflicts of interest, you're up against the colleague next to you. 90% of new joiners leave within 8 months, not only traders but from support, back office and other areas as well. You are forced to bluff clients about things you have no clue in order to rip them off as hard as you can.

    Continue reading
    ACT Commodities2018-09-29

    ACT Commodities Response

    October 3, 2018Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience during your time at ACT. While the nature of trading can be extremely competitive, we aim to foster a collaborative and inclusive working environment for all employees and are disappointed to hear that was not your experience. Our aim is for our Sales Traders to be well-informed regarding the markets they are active in, in order to provide mutually beneficial solutions for their clients. To achieve this we depend on our ACT provided training and each individual's entrepreneurial attitude. All feedback is important to us and we appreciate your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  7. "The best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HR-officer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues, benefits, office, variety in work, driven, ambitious

    Cons

    High expectations (not necessarily a bad thing)

    ACT Commodities2018-08-06
  8. "Fun and challenging work and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BACKOFFICE ASSOCIATE in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ACT Commodities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Horizontal hierarchy, crazy amount of additional gifts, company events and trips. Young and informal company with a friendly atmosphere. Very ambitious and hard working staff and management. International orientation. Big bonus possibility for front office

    Cons

    Front office focused, work of the rest of the company tends to be overlooked. Fixed salaries below market.

    ACT Commodities2018-06-17

    ACT Commodities Response

    June 19, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for your time to write a review. We appreciate this enormously and will take the feedback with us.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (11)

    "High pressure phone sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ACT Commodities full-time

    Pros

    Happy hours and team events if we hit monthly targets. Can make a very good bonus - but most good markets/clients are already being managed by someone else.

    Cons

    High pressure sales job with a lot of cold calling. Call stats are tracked. Little career and skills development as the job scope is limited and narrow.

    Continue reading
    ACT Commodities2018-05-08

    ACT Commodities Response

    May 14, 2018Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. The entrepreneurial nature of the Sales Trader role includes prospecting, which is a core part of how our sales traders build their business. I’m sorry to hear that the career development opportunities didn’t meet your expectations. As part of the trainee program that every sales trader goes through, we offer sales training, negotiations training, call reviews, private sales coaching, and access to a personal coach. All feedback is important to us and we appreciate your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Really Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time

    Pros

    Senior Leaders value transparency and care about their people. Access to a private performance coach, lots of training and support for personal and professional development. High earning potential. Fun place to work, team members are friends outside of work.

    Cons

    None at this time.

    Continue reading
    ACT Commodities2018-04-25
Found 18 reviews