AO Reviews

Updated 30 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
AO CEO John Roberts
John Roberts
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company benefits including SPA and staff discounts(in 28 reviews)

  • "2 gym and subsided Starbucks all this with a great bunch of people makes it a great place to work(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is busy and fast paced so need to be able to work under pressure(in 18 reviews)

  • "long hours, repetitive and low bonuses(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Job to get your foot in the door"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 

    I worked at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Atmosphere Great People Can earn a lot of money

    Cons

    Long days and hours A lot of pressure to hit your weekly target

  2. "Positive"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work there a very talented.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything negative

  3. "Great people, Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AO full-time

    Pros

    Dynamic business, constantly in state of growth, lots of opportunity

    Cons

    A culture of continuous improvement can be draining...AO'ers need to be up for a challenge!

    AO Response

    June 24, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We think our AO’ers are pretty awesome too. That’s because we make a point of hiring super lovely people. We’re so glad that you love our culture, but it’s the bold, fun, smart and caring people like you that really bring it to life. So thank you!

  4. "amazing place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 

    I have been working at AO full-time

    Pros

    great commission structure and great people to work with

    Cons

    none that i could name

    AO Response

    June 24, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We really try to create an environment where everyone can thrive. We’re proud of it, so it’s great to hear that you like it too.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Long hours, poor culture, poor pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office location was great, very easy to get to.

    Cons

    Management were overbearing, hours were extremely long and working additional hours was expected, even though you weren't receiving any extra pay.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Mentally draining"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free chocolate and Starbucks that’s it

    Cons

    From the get go all they talk about is how much money you can earn and it’s easy, It’s not. The staff turn over is ridiculous because you’re sold a dream! It’s not for the faint hearted a lot of people leave because it drains you mentally and physically! It used to be good now its a nightmare some of the managers are nice and there did you like Craig and Adam and usually your assistant manager is nice on your team!

    Continue reading

    AO Response

    June 24, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review. If you don’t mind, we’d love to hear a bit more about your time with us – it’d be great to get some extra feedback so we can offer a better experience for AO’ers in future. Please contact careers@ao.com with any other feedback or suggestions you’d like to share. Again, thanks so much for taking the time to review AO – it’s greatly appreciated.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales executive"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AO full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant place to work, fantastic opportunity to make good money.

    Cons

    There is no real cons as long as your happy being on the phone

    AO Response

    June 5, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us – and for reminding us how lucky we are to have all the wonderful things you’ve mentioned. I'm so glad you’re having a great time here at AO. All the best, Vic Rogers (Chief People Officer)

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not for everyone, have to have the right mentality to work here."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Sales in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent basic Good bonus as long as you hit targets. benefits are also good. induction and training will get you up to speed to start answering calls. If you can build good rapport, makes the job easier.

    Cons

    Very easy to lose bonus for compliance and quality. Fast paced. long shifts. repetitive. no support after inductions finished. Heavily scripted sales when pitching something that makes you the most money. when quite they expect you to do outbound on warm leads. Don't get me wrong, its a good place to work for if you have had sales experience over the phone but its also not for everyone, some people will find it tough to go straight into another call just 15 seconds after finishing their last.

    Continue reading

    AO Response

    June 24, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your honest review. It's great to hear that we hit the mark for you on salary and benefits, though i appreciate your feedback on supporting colleagues. We do promote a positive, open culture, where colleagues can request any extra training or help, though i'm sorry you didn't feel this was accessible during your time with us. All the very best for the future and thanks again :)

  9. "a fab place to work with a unique culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Solicitor in Manchester, England

    I have been working at AO full-time

    Pros

    fast paced, exciting, and a can do attitude.

    Cons

    Not for the faint hearted

    AO Response

    June 5, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for leaving such an amazing review – it’s lovely to hear that you enjoy working for AO. Your happiness is really important to us and it’s great that your comments highlight the hard work that goes into making AO such a wonderful place to be. All the best, Vic Rogers (Chief People Officer)

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Hard-line sales environment if you have tough skin and want to make a lot of money its for you"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free snacks from fridge, amazing salary package and holidays.

    Cons

    Competitive environment, depending on the team you might not get supported in the role, little room for progression

    AO Response

    June 24, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review. We work really hard on creating our positive culture for AOers, so i'm really pleased you enjoyed both this and your benefits package. Please contact us with any other feedback or suggestions you’d like to share. Again, thanks so much for taking the time to review AO – it’s greatly appreciated.

Found 277 reviews
</>Embed