AppDynamics Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

AppDynamics Reviews

Updated 4 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
87%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
AppDynamics CEO Danny Winokur (no image)
Danny Winokur
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's almost an year since I have joined AppD as a new grad(in 50 reviews)

  • "Great focus on work-life-balance(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Passionate team members can lose their work/life balance easily(in 33 reviews)

  • "A perfect company does not exist, but there is very little I can say negatively about AppD(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Sales Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology Great market opportunity Great people

    Cons

    Slow on tech releases

    AppDynamics2019-09-21
  2. "Full Speed Ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    AppD has a very well structured onboarding process. You can expect to get stuck into the new tech right from your very first day. The team is supportive and there is no shortage of collateral to get you up and running.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but you will need to access and navigate a mass of tools from both Cisco and AppD

    AppDynamics2019-07-23
  3. "Sales Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Transformational, passionate people with sense of purpose Very supporting and inclusive work environment Great product Great customers Awesome perks

    Cons

    Can't think of anything, it is a great place to work, learn and grow

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, you are doing great job

    AppDynamics2019-05-16
  4. "AppDynamics Sales Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AppDynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Sales Process, Good pay

    Cons

    Excessive micro management, Grilling during deal reviews

    Advice to Management

    Less micro management, more trust in employees

    AppDynamics2019-03-28
  5. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great process High performance culture This role can set you up for life. Recruiters and startups know that AppD only hire the top 5% of sales reps. CEO and VPs are all incredible human beings and executives.

    Cons

    Competitors have found sneaky ways to win certain accounts. Not for everyone. I havent referred a single person for this reason. No one I know would last at AppD.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    AppDynamics2018-11-08
  6. "AppDynamo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Innovative products that are market leading. Leadership has fostered a culture of support and development.

    Cons

    Most of the remote offices are lacking the perks of San Fransico

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    AppDynamics2016-09-29
  7. "Great culture with opportunity to ride next wave of APM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great to engage customers with a broad portfolio of solutions

    Cons

    Tech debt with regards to analytical capabilities of the platform

    Advice to Management

    Focus on emerging trends

    AppDynamics2019-10-13
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Cisco is hurting the business... not a good place to join anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AppDynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at AppDynamics are awesome. I had the opportunity to work with some of the brightest minds and people who are trying to innovate, cultivate a great culture, and move fast. Unsure of Cisco's intentions at this point, but if a big company is the place for you then you can work here and coast without a care in the world. Cisco has great perks and benefits, so yay. But don't expect stock as apart of... your compensation, that's non-existent for ICs. AppDynamics is aware and working hard towards diversity initiatives. Again, the smartest people trying to do great things. Just hope Cisco doesn't ruin this too.

    Show More

    Cons

    Engineering is broken. Release cadence is slow and non-existent. No growth, thank you Cisco. Culture is somewhat in tact, but a year from now it'll be non-existent. The entire recruiting team was laid off and that hurt the culture, interview process, and company outlook. Not sure the intention as neither company is at the same scale.

    Advice to Management

    I think enough people have spoken up that I am unsure what more could be said. Cisco will take over and that'll be that.

    AppDynamics2019-10-09
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Truly awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppDynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No known pros. Well, maybe the Nutella. I did like the Nutella. Pickles too. Good snacks. That sort of thing.

    Cons

    It's hard to know where to begin. There are deeply embedded cultural problems at the company that make it impossible to ship anything. Any talent that remains in product and eng is running for the doors. The C team is running the show, after the previous B-team execs left en masse once their golden handcuffs came off. The CEO, Danny Winokur, is totally adrift and is in over his head. Not a snowball's chance in San... Francisco that this company makes it. The company reminds me of the show “Chernobyl” in terms of the lies, the lack of accountability, the technical incompetence and the meltdown for which it’s headed. Join only if you have given it your best shot in life and came up short and have just decided you don't care about where you work.

    Show More
    AppDynamics2019-11-05
  10. "Great company great colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppDynamics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company to work for in all areas.

    Cons

    I have no concerns I had a great experience.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the great work.

    AppDynamics2019-10-03
Found 555 reviews