Austal Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Austal Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Bellamy
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Austal has great benefits and room to grow for a young person starting a new career(in 7 reviews)

  • "Overall great company to work for(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is very isolated from the work force(in 8 reviews)

  • "Austal is fast growing company that has not handled navy contracts decades like other well established companies(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austal

    Pros

    There are many chances for you to move around the company if you felt like taking on a new challenge

    Cons

    It is a company that has quite a niche in the market, however the market does fall significantly, jobs can be quite volitile.

    Advice to Management

    I believe that the management in Austal do a sterling job considering the challenges that the face in the global market

    Austal2011-07-29
  2. "Company with potential and space for improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Naval Architect in Henderson
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Austal full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    interesting project, challenging work, on site parking, 9/14 working arrangement

    Cons

    Unorganised. To be honest, they are many people in the company doing low quality work and other people have to cover their sxxt. Your hard work is not recognised. If management thinks you are already getting too much money than other people, then enjoy the cpi salary increase regardless of how good your achievement is. poooohhhh

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the olds and inject young blood, seriously. You are in Perth, not in Sydney and Melbourne, pay good money to keep the good employees. Increase efficiency, you don't need 10 people working on the same thing.

    Austal2019-04-18
  3. "Interesting place to work, but high pressure and "boys' club" culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia

    I worked at Austal full-time

    Pros

    Very interesting, custom-designed ships to design or work on. Great opportunities to learn from a multi-disciplinary team and with the shipyard right next to the design office.

    Cons

    High pressure, uber-time-conscious environment - often the deadlines are unreasonable / counter-productive. A bit of a divisive boys club culture. Inadequate training and support for graduates.

    Advice to Management

    Address the above cons.

    Austal2018-06-11
  4. "Beware! Unreasonable management practices and company stuck in the 80s!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Henderson
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Austal full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great product, good teams lower in the hierarchy, good canteen! Can't be more positive. Salary was average for area. Nice location on the waters edge!

    Cons

    Awful senior management culture and ethics! Annual leave used as vehicle to force extra labour. Lack of resourcing means everyone is working overtime! Lack of technology means everyone is working manually! HR have no power to stop execs firing people without due cause! Morale so low in finance and IT! No delegation, no accountability! Abandon hope all Ye who enter!

    Advice to Management

    Austal has to totally transform if it's going to be a top 1% company! There is a toxic culture in certain departments which is being ignored, despite the obvious feedback in engagement surveys. Communication is dreadful, and empowerment and delegation is non existent. Austal has all the hallmarks of a company waiting to die rather than displace BAE and Talus!

    Austal2017-03-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Unprofessional company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Austal full-time

    Pros

    Gives exposure to view ship building facilities that helps to understand the company and its associated work

    Cons

    I am former employee. I was hired as permanent full time employee and left a very good permament job to join them. My employment was terminated immediately one fine morning and management didnt feel responsible to provide any notice or justification to me. I was even told that they didnt have any complaints at all but they want me to go 'just like that', without any specific reason! I requested for justification but...

    Show More
    Austal2015-09-15
  6. "mchinist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Austal full-time

      Pros

      Great company to work for, good work environment.

      Cons

      long hours and hot in summer time in buildings.

      Austal2019-05-11
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - TA Fitter in Mobile, AL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Austal full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great when the work is constant Good Location and good pay Excellent Benefits Overall great company to work for

      Cons

      Don't miss work and don't be late Stay busy even if there is no extreme bird-dogging

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great job to all upper management. Craig Perciavalle is a great example of a true leader and the continued success of the company is a result of it.

      Austal2019-04-16
    • "Good company, great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Machinist in Mobile, AL
      Recommends

      I worked at Austal full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great benefits, fair pay, bonus available

      Cons

      Schedule was awful, drive was too far for me

      Austal2019-04-01
    • "This is specifically for the US operation (Mobile, AL)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shipfitter/Fabricator A Class in Mobile, AL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Austal full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good 401K match, vacation time is decent after 3 years, bonuses are nice, Benefit package in general is pretty good.

      Cons

      Company is extremely inefficient and wasteful of time and resources. Going forward from ship to ship very little seems to be learned, very little improved upon.

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of the people who are collecting a paycheck for 2 hours of work per day and reduce the waste, start continually improving processes. This is a 4000 employee company which is accomplishing the work of a 2000 employee company.

      Austal2019-04-10
    • "Great company, the way they choose the leadership is what makes it horrible. If you are a suck up you will go far."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Welder in Mobile, AL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Austal full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great benefits and time off

      Cons

      Leadership is horrible. Starting with the President of Austal he is more worried about bathrooms instead of getting more contracts. All most all foreman are just suck ups to the Supervisors. They dont know their job so how can they lead.

      Advice to Management

      Put people in leadership that actually know how to weld,fit,rigg, and especially Electrical. We are tired of seeing suck ups or realitives get those jobs. Look at electrical their Supervisor on JHSV is just a cable puller and thats all. He couldnt change a light bulb.

      Austal2019-01-20
    Found 109 reviews