Avanade Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Avanade Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1655 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Avanade CEO Adam Warby
Adam Warby
725 Ratings
Pros
  • "I genuinely love working for an employer who cares about a work life balance(in 78 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, company does a lot to develop their people(in 76 reviews)

Cons
  • "However my experience was that they consider where you are based to help with work-life balance(in 146 reviews)

  • "traveling and working long hours(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work with lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avanade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Avanade for about 1.5 years, it's a great place to learn and grow. I get support from career advisors and across leadership. Everyone is very approachable In general, you get lots of recognition from different angles and in different forms. Their global talent communities are a great way to engage with your global peers and share best practice. Challenging environment but it's never boring.

    Cons

    Lots of change recently, especially in leadership Communication could be improved

    Advice to Management

    The [new] leadership should spend more time with the people on the ground and not only look at business outcomes.

    Avanade2019-04-30
  2. "Great environment to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avanade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, great perks, lots of learning opportunities, work on high profile clients

    Cons

    May be required to do a lot of travelling

    Avanade2019-04-29
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avanade full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    5 personal days. Good yearly bonus. Subsidised health insurance. Gadget allowance.

    Cons

    Not all projects are good.

    Avanade2019-04-04
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Avanade full-time

      Pros

      Great community atmosphere, everyone is very friendly and welcoming.

      Cons

      There are no downsides to working at Avanade.

      Avanade2019-03-21
    • "Not a bad place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Avanade full-time

      Pros

      Career opportunities, people, training, client opportunities

      Cons

      Work life balance, length of work hours, no TOIL, managers

      Avanade2018-12-10
    • "Fantastic company to work for with an awesome culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Avanade full-time

      Pros

      I've been with Avanade for 3.5 years now and I absolutely love it! It has a great culture that empathises the importance of diversity and inclusion which was important to me when applying for a role here plus plenty of perks and bonuses throughout the year. Gender equality is taken very seriously has been advocated by the previous GM as well as everyone else who'd like to see a better future for their daughters. ...

      Show More

      Cons

      Avanade has a work/life balance and flexible work arrangements however it isn't advocated with clients and should be included in the contracts. They need to try to bring their culture to those on client sites to ensure they don't miss out.

      Advice to Management

      Hope to see the push for diversity and inclusion as well as gender equality continue under the new leadership.

      Avanade2018-09-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to start your IT career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Avanade full-time

      Pros

      Great culture and learning opportunities if you're passionate about IT and Microsoft technologies. salary is not bad and work/life balance is good if you know how to manage it.

      Cons

      competitive and sometimes difficult to get onto project which suit your interests. Would prefer a more rotational approach to work where possible.

      Advice to Management

      The IT industry is too competitive to ignore unhappiness among good talent.

      Avanade2018-08-08
    • "Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Avanade

        Pros

        Local innovation Relationship with Microsoft Work life balance is a focus, work environment is positive Good benefits including gadget allowance

        Cons

        Even though there are good training opportunities it’s hard to keep up with so much change. Focus more on global offerings in newer spaces

        Advice to Management

        Global could think about being more nimble and like a start-up, and taking layers out.

        Avanade2018-05-23
      • Helpful (5)

        "Terrible workplace for females avoid this company like the plague. Don't say i didn't tell you so."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Avanade full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Pay adjustments and bonuses but still very much under market. Seems to hire bottom of the bell curve employees but someone has to hire them smart people often leave for a larger pay.

        Cons

        HR is a JOKE. Has told many females leaving that they are liars upon complaints and exit interview findings. With senior staff not even getting a slap on the wrist which is funny cause no one else but Avanade would retain people like that. They wouldn't get hired anywhere else. Toxic bullying gossipy work culture. Can't sell projects to save their lives somehow becomes your problem to beg, grovel and b for a role. I've...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Fire the HR team and replace them every few years when speaking to other ex staff have found some very serious, unprofessional, misconduct both male and female. Hold Accenture managers accountable for their interactions with female Avanade staff instead of doing damage control via HR who is regurgitating an IBM handbook from 1980s. Senior staff should not be partaking in gossip or bullying they should be watching their...

        Show More
        Avanade2018-05-30

        Avanade Response

        June 6, 2018COO, Growth Markets

        Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. At Avanade we pride ourselves on our diversity and establishing a workplace culture of inclusion. We were recently recognised as an Employer of Choice by the Workplace Gender Equality Agency (WGEA) and additionally have just achieved ...

        Show More
      • "Excellent consulantancy opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Avanade full-time

        Pros

        Loads of benefits being connected to Microsoft and Accenture. Local travel opportunities. Opportunities to develop technically, or learn new skills.

        Cons

        Still feels like Accentures little brother. All the interesting stuff? You're doing that in your own time. Most of the client work is not cutting edge tech.

        Avanade2018-04-20
      Found 1655 reviews