Bakers Delight Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Bakers Delight Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 132 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Bakers Delight CEO Roger Gillespie & Lesley Gillespie
Roger Gillespie & Lesley Gillespie
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "The have free bread for employees(in 33 reviews)

  • "Gained most of my customer service skills from this job that are still applicable in other roles I have endeavoured(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "prolong standing and long hours(in 7 reviews)

  • "The pay was not the best, especially Saturdays and public holidays, the latter of which I think I got around(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Place to Work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bakers Delight full-time

    Pros

    Everything's great. Loved working there

    Cons

    On call request is something they should stop

    Bakers Delight2019-07-16
  2. "Job was fine, store owner was a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Toorak
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bakers Delight part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job is easy and doesn't really require much effort. At my store (which has now closed down) we had a lot of control over when we worked.

    Cons

    Because its a franchise, if the store owner is bad at business/being a manager, then it's likely you will have a bad time. Which was the case at the store that I worked at

    Bakers Delight2019-07-16
  3. "Nice first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Templestowe
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bakers Delight part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Low salary Management could be rude

    Bakers Delight2019-07-12
  4. "Was a good first job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Bakers Delight part-time

      Pros

      Working was good for the most part, expectations weren’t too high.

      Cons

      Didn’t get paid super, first job so wasn’t made aware of these kinds of things.

      Bakers Delight2019-06-02
    • "Have met some great people working there."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Camberwell, Victoria
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Bakers Delight part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Really nice co-workers and nice product

      Cons

      Low wage and irregular work days and hours

      Advice to Management

      To give a more regular shifts and advise of shifts via txt or email personally

      Bakers Delight2019-05-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Experience as a salesgirl"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Bakers Delight part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - good pay - very easy job once items and prices are memorised - good co-worker relationships - free bread if closing

      Cons

      - short shifts (usually 4 hours) - a bit unorganised

      Bakers Delight2019-04-23
    • "Appalling treatment of staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Casual Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Bakers Delight for less than a year

      Pros

      Free bread if on closing shift

      Cons

      - Unpaid ‘trial’ shifts that run for 1 hour (basically free labour) - 6 weeks notice in writing for annual leave even if a casual employee who doesn’t get paid leave

      Advice to Management

      - Treat your staff with respect as we are not just another number - Systems need to be upgraded - Training and orientation of new staff should be more thorough and comprehensive

      Bakers Delight2019-05-27
    • "Pretty Niceee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Sales Assistant in Melbourne
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Bakers Delight part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Friendly staff and a good environment even if it’s your first job. Employees look after employees.

      Cons

      It’s hard to try to know everything when u first start out. Never be afraid to ask fellow employees countless of questions.

      Advice to Management

      Everything tastes good. I like it. Carbs are my best friend. Work experience is great.

      Bakers Delight2019-04-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "It's ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Bakers Delight part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You can learn about customer service and sell skills

      Cons

      Supervisor and management team need to be more patient to staff, and stop yelling people

      Advice to Management

      Stop yelling, it didn't do any good

      Bakers Delight2019-05-17
    • "Poor management, great co-workers and perks."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Bakers Delight

        Pros

        -Free Bread/products when you close the shop. -Fast paced (busy shopping centre), time goes quickly -Great co-workers -Easy tasks

        Cons

        -Pool hourly rate -lots of cleaning -Can hurt your back if not careful

        Advice to Management

        Stop putting your first priority as money and please care for your employees more. I received a roster on a week to week basis which gave me no notice to plan anything and I had a part-time position.

        Bakers Delight2019-04-09
      Found 132 reviews